Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubby is very happy!
I bought this book for my husband who is a comic fan. As soon as he opened it I knew he loved it. I was very impressed with the colours, information and pictures. Its going to take him months to get through it but its one of the best presents i have ever got him and highly recommend it. I spent a long time trying to decide on the best book and this is it!
Published on 5 Nov. 2008 by Shelley

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I thought it was something else
I didn't realize that this is simply an encyclopedia of the DC characters, rather than publications too. I bought this for my husband as he collects Batman comics amongst others, and I hoped this encyclopedia may indicate how many different publications there are, so he knows what's what in his collection, but it is simply about the characters, which is a shame. The...
Published 13 months ago by Mrs. C. B. Montgomery


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubby is very happy!, 5 Nov. 2008
This review is from: The DC Comics Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband who is a comic fan. As soon as he opened it I knew he loved it. I was very impressed with the colours, information and pictures. Its going to take him months to get through it but its one of the best presents i have ever got him and highly recommend it. I spent a long time trying to decide on the best book and this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but not perfect, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
vectisfabber "vectisfabber" (Isle of Wight, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The DC Comics Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This book is a 400 page hardback with dustjacket (wraparound Alex Ross illustration), 12" x 10", and extremely heavy. Produced with DC's full cooperation (it is badged with the previous DC bullet and the text is by some well-known DC names), it is superbly presented. Packed with illustrations, it has more than 1,000 entries. I've been reading it for a month, and I'm only 280 pages through.

Now to the criticisms. It's not fair to criticise it for being immediately outdated by the DC Universe New 52 reboot. It is, perhaps, a little fairer to criticise it for being banjaxed by DC's past continuity inconsistencies - the Legion suffers here in particular (some characters have 4 origins recounted from different Legions reboots, all purporting to be in continuity). But even that I could deal with, although I feel the thing could have benefitted from a little explanation about DC's actions as a publisher with regard to its properties, rather than simply recounting entries from the point of view of current continuity. It is heavy on Infinite Crisis continuity, less so in kind of geometric de-progression as you go backwards. Very little silver age, slightly more golden age if only because of the number of characters whose origins date back that far.

But my real gripe is with the number of typographical errors. These range from format errors in entry headings (not consistently using bold or italics), to a variety of errors which should have been picked up at proofreading (missing words, extra words, sometimes missing lines), queries by the writers left in and not deleted, and a number of errors which would have been picked up had it been proofread by someone familiar with DC comics. It's not fair to say it's loaded with them, but there is at least one every few pages. Perhaps this is inevitable with a book this size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The famous,the infamous and the...who?, 4 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The DC Comics Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This book is massive. Huge. All the famous favorites are here including Batman, Superman, Joker, Catwoman, Penguin along with some less well-known characters and some that, honestly,I'd never heard of. Most characters are given a short descriptive paragraph with some useful information that includes their history,enemies,status etc. The more famous characters get a double page spread, rich with detail including alternate reality's and story lines from the parallel universes of D.C. All the characters are rendered with truly beautiful artwork that shows how animation creation in general has changed over the years.
This is a must for any true comic book fan and taking into account the work that has gone into the impressive tome, quite a bargain. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for a leaving present for a colleague! The book is pretty big so this is no light read but the detail in this book is amazing. I am not really a fan of the DC universe but after reading a few pages it left me reading more so this is an ideal gift for any DC fan!

For £20 it is an incredible bargain and fully deserves the full 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for geeky coffee table owners!, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Really rather nice book this, its probably not quite as comprehensive as it likes to suggest and its a few years behind the current DC new 52 timelines but as a drop in and drop out book to flick through its excellent, the art varies a bit but overall is lovely and very reflective of the characters in its history. Some excellent extended sections to track som of DCs more well known or important characters, plot arcs and gadgets....recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!, 8 May 2013
This review is from: The DC Comics Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
With the dc encyclopaedia I got exactly what the description says, it's a huge book with an article on a lot of if not all dc characters, and it has 2-3 page sections for batman, superman and the more famous characters, I would say its a great buy for any dc fan, and worth picking up if your lost on who any of the characters are, or just want to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality book, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This book has all kinds of top information on the dc characters some of them iv'e never heard of but even so it's still a great book, i'm not usually a fan of reading but this has some interesting info in if you into this kind of stuff, the Marvel Encyclopedia is also a top book, i'd get both if i were you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for comic fans, 1 April 2015
This review is from: The DC Comics Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This book is probably one of the best books i have ever read. I brought it ages ago and I'm not even half way. Jam packed with information, if your a comic book fan then this book is for you. The Marvel encyclopaedia is fantastic too and if you love all comics i recommend getting both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Son is fascinated by super heroes - he already had the Marvel Encyclopaedia which ..., 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Son is fascinated by super heroes - he already had the Marvel Encyclopaedia which he loves so bought him the DC Marvel Encyclopaedia and he loves it - he reads it most nights and virtually knows all the characters and what their powers are. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very nice, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
my son is happy with it so i guess its very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The DC Comics Encyclopedia
The DC Comics Encyclopedia by Scott Beatty (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2008)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews