Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect
Nice layout, great photography and just the right amount of info on each entry. Granted, the text is not as detailed as a Collins Field Guide, but given the number of species covered this would be impossible without turning the book into some unwieldy carbuncle. A great little guide to throw in the backpack on a day out, simple as that.
Published on 7 Jun 2009 by C. Bellingham

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless as a field guide
So agree with Peter. Expensive, pretty book, but useless for identifying anything. Within the themes of plan / animal etc, there is no patterm no system, to help you find things. Items are not arraged by colour, habitat, size, in alphabetical order or anything else I can detect. Useless, impulse purchase because it was a DK book - I should've looked closer.
Published 5 months ago by Patrick Beautement


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain (Paperback)
Excellent value for money. Good service as well. Would recommend to other people. This is a great help with my course I am doing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Handy, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain (Paperback)
Really good and informative, it now lives in the door of the car for when we are out and about, which is really when you need to be able to look things up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rspb wildlife of britain, 16 Jun 2013
This review is from: RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain (Paperback)
i think it was a very nice book and it has a lot of nice creatures in it and is a loverly read a real must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for our holidays., 9 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. A. L. Hercock (Welwyn Garden City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain (Paperback)
Just the right size to take on holiday but with an amazing amount of information and wonderful photos of the huge range of British wildlife we want to identify.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Accurate Description - well illustrated, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain (Paperback)
The pocket book was as described. Useful reference book to slip into a backpack whilst out & about. Could benefit from having a spiral binding to assist quick access & keeping page open whilst walking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain (Paperback)
Clear images although could have done with a margin at the spine where info is lost, An encyclopaedia trying to be a pocket guide. Delivery OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed , handy , pocket size general nature book ., 24 Dec 2012
This review is from: RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain (Paperback)
Very detailed covering every aspect of nature extremely useful for nature lovers , ramblers , dog walkers etc . Slightly on the heavy side for me but for my husband and has so much content in detail . Need a good pair of glasses to read it though !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 23 Jun 2012
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain (Paperback)
While hardly a pocket book or an in depth coverage of wildlife it is a very comprehensive and excellent book covering some areas that are omitted from some similar books.
It is divided into 8 sections plus some supporting information the 8 sections are:-
* Trees
* Wild Flowers and other Plants
* Fungi and Lichen
* Mammals
* Birds
* Reptiles and Amphibians
* Fish
* Invertebrates
Each entry has a number of photographs and an information box giving abbreviated information which together with the photographs is useful for quick identification. The section on Fungi also tells how poisonous or not various Fungi are although having seen how similar poisonous and edible varieties are I would not be brave enough to use this book to collect Fungi for eating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Gorgeous!, 19 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain (Paperback)
DK produce some of the highest quality guides on the shelves. They are well researched, informative & beautifully presented. This one is a particular favourite of mine. It's only disadvantage is it's weight, but then again I would have been disappointed if they had left huge chunks of information out over something so trivial. What good would a comprehensive British wildlife book be if it didn't strive to be as comprehensive as it possibly could be?

There are several pages at the beginning on habitats & identification. The book chapters are then as follows:
Trees
Wild Flowers & Other Plants
Fungi & Lichen
Mammals
Birds
Reptiles & Amphibians
Fish
Invertebrates

The most useful unique identifiers, beside the photos, I find have to be the scale which compares each plant/animal etc against either the size of your thumb, hand or the size of an average person. It's also really interesting to see from the the little insert map how each of the species are distributed throughout Europe.

A spectacular book that looks like a lot of time & love went into making it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wildlife RSPCA, 22 Dec 2010
By 
Terry P. Dewing (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain (Paperback)
This is the second time i have brought one of these books, this time to give to someone as a present, they are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain
RSPB Pocket Nature Wildlife of Britain by Rspb (Paperback - 1 April 2009)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews