Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, informative, refreshingly straightforward.
Most of the books I've read on the subject of nutrition seem to try and make the subject more complicated than it really is, perhaps to justify their own existence. This book doesn'tdo that, which is why I bought it, read it regularly and find it indespensable.

Chapter One allows you to assess yor lifestyle and any need to make changes, giving practical...
Published on 11 Jun. 2008 by Hettie Lawrence

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Information
Altogether not a bad book, just in some places too basic. If you want more than 20 pages of information on the actual nutritional content of food this is NOT the book for you. I must admit I did buy this looking for a book with information and guidance on healthy diet, food groups, food for medicine, but I also wanted a comprehensive list of foods and their nutritional...
Published on 1 Mar. 2011 by C. Elliott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, informative, refreshingly straightforward., 11 Jun. 2008
By 
Hettie Lawrence (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nutrition for Life (Hardcover)
Most of the books I've read on the subject of nutrition seem to try and make the subject more complicated than it really is, perhaps to justify their own existence. This book doesn'tdo that, which is why I bought it, read it regularly and find it indespensable.

Chapter One allows you to assess yor lifestyle and any need to make changes, giving practical guidance on how to make changes withot living on leaves and water.

Chapters Two and Three explain in straightforward, unpatronising terms, the good and bad qualities of food types, and allows you to understand how to follow a healthy diet based on your own understanding of nutrition.

Chapter Four looks at special dietary needs during specific stages of life, from babies and toddlers, adulthood, pregnancy, and old age. There's even a section for athletes.

Chapeter Five looks at weight control and gives solid, no nonsense advice on weight loss and management, with advice for the overweight as well as underweight.

Chapter Six expores how food can help against certain illnesses, including diabetes, migraine, respiratory disorders and cardiovasular disease.

Chapter Seven clarifies food labelling and helps you to shop smart and buy healthy food.

In all, this book is invaluable. Bu it and you'll never need another book on this subject again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars food bible - comes strongly recommended, 9 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Nutrition for Life (Paperback)
This is a very comprehensive overview of food, eating habits, nutrition facts and a whole lot of other interesting facts!
This is not a diet book, so if you're looking for a set of rules to follow, you probably won't find that here.
The book does explain and describe a whole list of different diets but this is just a chapter and it is good as you can use it as a diet analyzer before you embark on any one of these diets.
However, the focus here is more on the quality of food, quality of life, facts about weight-gain & weight-loss.
In my personal opinion, this is a book every household should have. It's a 'how to' guide to healthy eating in all stages of life. Whether you read it cover to cover, jump through chapters or just open it occasionally for a quick reference, this is definitely a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nutrition for life, 21 July 2011
This review is from: Nutrition for Life (Hardcover)
Nutrition for life is an excellent reference book. The format is logical with information easily located. Written in 'normal' everyday language. I loaned this book from my local library but found it soooo good I just had to have my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great book, 31 Aug. 2008
By 
R. Bremner (Larne,N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nutrition for Life (Paperback)
I bought this of amazon recently and I find it hard to put it down. It's very easy to read, Very informative and very interesting. I'm hoping to learn a lot from it.It would be great if like me you were thinking of studying nutrition and perhaps doing a course.Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative and Easy To Understand., 12 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nutrition for Life (Paperback)
I used this book (Nutrition For Life) in conjunction with a short course I was doing with the Open University called, 'Understanding Human Nutrition'. This book explains in simple understandable terms the importance of a good diet and gives examples by way of nutritional requirements from birth to the elderly age groups.

The book also looks at commen diseases that are attributable to a poor diet and suggests how to reduce the risk of getting one of these diseases. There are even diet suggestions for women to reduce the physical symptoms of the menopause etc.

What I thought was a very good inclusion in the book was the fact that just about every type of food you can think of has been listed together with vitamin, carbs, fat, etc content. I found this very useful.

I have no hesitation in saying that if you are interested in a healthy diet, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nutrition for Health, 25 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nutrition for Life (Hardcover)
Excellent book very easy to find the particular item you need. A most handy reference book which I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Information, 1 Mar. 2011
By 
C. Elliott (Carmarthenshire, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nutrition for Life (Paperback)
Altogether not a bad book, just in some places too basic. If you want more than 20 pages of information on the actual nutritional content of food this is NOT the book for you. I must admit I did buy this looking for a book with information and guidance on healthy diet, food groups, food for medicine, but I also wanted a comprehensive list of foods and their nutritional values.
There is not a comprehensive list of foods and their nutritional values, but there is plently of other information. You could continually use this book at different life stages for reference, there are sections of advice for each life stage and your different requirements; and it contains a good section on food for medicine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far more comprehensive than you'd expect., 18 Jun. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nutrition for Life (Paperback)
I've got several DK books on various subjects and the format has been fairly similar. I would say they are all very user (and child) friendly, and give you a good (friendly and colourful) introduction to the topic covered. Nutrition for Life is a bit different.It says on the cover it is the "definitive guide" and they are not far wrong!

The colourful photos and useful boxes are still there (that distinguish DK), but everything is covered in much more depth than I am used to seeing. It is a more serious book (contains quite of lot of scientific information behind the friendly advice, information on vitamins, how nutrition can help with all manner of illnesses etc.). It also has good advice on all the top diets and

Overall I highly reccomend this book. It isn't something you will necessarily read from start to finish, but something you will keep coming back to, either as an exercise or diet companion or simply to try and live a healthier lifestyle. Due to the Dk style, it is very positive and therefore highly motivational. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 18 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nutrition for Life (Paperback)
This book is informative and not preachy. It describes in small snippets of information why some people need more calories and why others can't always eat certain things. It also provides clear information on which vitamins and minerals come which food source.

It's is well worth the read. I've given the book to someone who has more use for it than me as he runs a cafe which caters to the elderly and those with breathing difficulties at a local health clinic and he's found the information inside useful and uses the information in his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nutrition made easy, 6 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Nutrition for Life (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me with a nutrition module, It is an easy read and gives you the basics, layout is eyecatching and easy to follow, over all a great book to start you on your way in nutrition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nutrition for Life
Nutrition for Life by Darwin Deen (Paperback - 8 Nov. 2007)
Used & New from: £4.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews