Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book to Buy First on Gemstones, 1 Nov 2008
This review is from: Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
This book is great and is the only book a lot of people will ever need or want to own on this subject, brimming with great photos as usual from DK, this book also covers Gemstones which was my primary interest, I previously bought Gemstones of the World by W.Schumann (small life sized photos)which is a good pocket guide but if I had bought this book first I would have saved money by needing no others. This really is a very pleasing book, I certainly will not buy another book on this subject without seeing it first as I feel sure it will disappoint after this book. So if you do not need to carry it, because this book is quite heavy and hardback, buy this book first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rocks and Minerals The Definitive Visual Guide, 29 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
Wonderful book:visually stunning,mass of information on each page makes it useful for general information on the rock types and small blocks of text present the more technical detail.
Purchased for a bright 7 year old.He could cope as he was held by the dramatic photographs and very visual nature of each page.The text is too technical for a child but accessible if read with an adult.Great for a general introduction on how rocks are formed, the types and wonderful vivid close ups of minerals and crystals.
A pity there is no colour index to help in identification.If you know your purple crystal is amethyst its easy to find more detail, if you want a book as a guide to identifying rock and mineral easily this is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great photos, 23 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
I use this book in conjunction with others, but it could easily stand alone as the best with regard to the photos. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! (as usual), 23 Oct 2010
This review is from: Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
I collect books from DK because of its excellent design, beautiful pictures and great information volume. This book is no exception. I have been reading it since the first page and do not cease to be amazed every time I turn over a leaf! I am no expert on this subject and I can not point out any flaws, but I guarantee that this book is as entertaining as informative.

Another excellent book from DK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rocks and Minerals, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
An excellent guide covering a wealth of different types of rocks of minerals. The properties of the minerals are well documented with the major regions were the minerals are found; also uses of the ores. There is a small section on the major fossil types which was a surprise. My only criticism is the size of the text which is very small and grey making it difficult to read and I had to use a magnifying glass in most places. Other that that I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocks & Minerals - The Definitive Visual Guide (DK), 14 July 2009
By 
L. Aarons (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
An excellent book for the geological make up of rocks and minerals that I had been looking for, not an instinctual area for me. Well put together, intuitive and has fantastic visuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book packed with lots of basic information for a beginner., 12 Feb 2010
This review is from: Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
This is a great book full of lots of basic information and photographs for an adult beginner or young teenager. If you are interested in crystals, fossils and rocks and just starting to learn about where they come from, how they were created, historical and scientific facts then this book is worth considering. It is not too heavy and you can quite easily dip into it. Each page is full of good photographs/illustrations which break up the text and makes the book fascinating and enjoyable to browse. There is a small table for each rock, fossil, crystal which gives all the technical details about each one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as always with DK, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
Excellent as always with DK Clear and well illustrated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
Good quality book and extensive coverage. Useful for geology studies, A level and above. Good value for money as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT BOOK AND FULL OF GREAT COLOUR PHOTOS, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
BRILLIANT BOOK AND FULL OF GREAT COLOUR PHOTOS, plus lots of info. Now I don't collect Rocks, Minerals and Fossils, but the book is so well illustrated in almost tempted me to do so. I bought it as a present for someone else, thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk)
Rocks & Minerals: The Definitive Visual Guide (Dk) by Ronald Bonewitz (Hardcover - 1 Feb 2008)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews