Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite but not bad, 19 Jun. 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness Companions: Fishing (Flexibound)
This is a nice little fishing book. It won't teach you much beyond the basics, but it will give you a good grounding of the fundamentals and will provide a constant pick and flick source of inspiration (due to the simplistic nature and plenty of nice photos). If you're looking for something specialised then look elsewhere, but for an inspirational nibble during the adverts or just to have a good reference on the basics, this is well rounded and easily accessible. If you like DK style and for something more in-depth look for the Encyclopaedia of Fishing by Ian Wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 31 Mar. 2013
By 
K. J. Knight (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness Companions: Fishing (Flexibound)
I brought this book as a returning newbie after fishing many years ago and wanted a book that would give me the basic knowledge on gear and basic ins and outs of the subject. I mainly wanted it for sea fishing but the guide covers all types of fishing and breaks down all the different types of gear you will need from rods to reels and tackle in a fair amount of detail which is very useful and enough to get you going. I imagine there are more concise books covering particular aspects and techniques of the sport in a lot more depth and detail, but for an overall get you started guide this book is well presented and definitely worth getting. I'd also recommend the River cottage sea fishing volume as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, 10 Aug. 2010
By 
D.Buttery (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eyewitness Companions: Fishing (Flexibound)
I found this book very informative and an excellent introduction to fishing. As a beginner to the hobby, I appreciate its simple straightforward approach and it answered the vast majority of my initial questions. The size and stiff jacket of this volume also mean that it is easy to carry in a large pocket or rucsack when you're actually fishing and I've used it at the riverside or on the beach many times for reference to tying fishing knots etc.

This book contains great illustrations and is well written. I was so impressed that I bought a second copy for a friend who began fishing at the same time as myself. I seriously recommend it for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "DK-Eyewitness" Guides: "Fishing by Henry Gilbey.", 21 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness Companions: Fishing (Flexibound)
Excellent Guide/Reference Book suitable for both begginers and those wanting to learn new skills.
Book covers a wide range of topics from ancient techniques through to the latest developments.,
Including ?"Fly-Fishing for Carp/Pike" amongst others. ?Checkout the list of contents covered...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness Companions: Fishing (Flexibound)
Bought this book for my husband as he has just taken up sea fishing - he has a small fishing boat for offshore fishing. Found this book extremely useful with more information than he expected. Would recommend this book for both beginners and experienced fishermen. He loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness Companions: Fishing (Flexibound)
Very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness Companions: Fishing (Flexibound)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eyewitness Companions: Fishing
Eyewitness Companions: Fishing by Henry Gilbey (Flexibound - 1 April 2008)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews