Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Triumph!, 14 July 2008
By 
Veronica (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 15-Minute Everyday Pilates: Get Real Results Anytime, Anywhere Four 15-minute workouts, also on DVD (15 Minute Fitness) (Flexibound)
Everything about this book is great. For a start, the presentation is really good - from the smooth cover to the well-designed page layouts and clear photographs demonstrating the exercises. The pages that 'fold out' to show each of the four workouts are also very helpful. Perhaps most importantly, the exercises are all explained in detail and each stage is described in a simple yet effective way. Overall, it just feels like a lot of effort went into every aspect of the book to make it user friendly.

The DVD is the perfect complement to the book. I didn't realise that you could move from one exercise to another so quickly and without the DVD I would have been going at a much slower speed. I was also amazed by the variety of exercises crammed into each of the 4 workouts! The time goes by really quickly because you are never just standing about waiting for the next exercise to start, you are always either doing an exercise or transitioning into the next. I really have to praise the author, Alycea Ungaro, for the wonderful way that she voices over the DVD. Her instructions are simple and her tone of voice is very pleasant and calm. She makes the whole thing a real pleasure to do and makes me feel very motivated.

As a complete Pilates beginnner, I found the workouts quite tough. I was able to follow the moves most of the time, but sometimes I couldn't do all the repetitions or get myself into exactly the right position. But nevermind, this will obviously come with practice! By the end of each of the 15 mins I often have sweat breaking out on my forehead and my muscles feel like they have had a good workout. I like the way you can do just one 15 minute section or combine them. I like to do the 'Day by Day' section followed by one of the other 3 sections (I alternate them each time) for a good 30 minute routine.

Overall, I highly recommend this product. It has a very slick and professional feel and is very efficient in terms of fitting a lot of exercise into a short period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pilates Everyday - but not for beginners., 22 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15-Minute Everyday Pilates: Get Real Results Anytime, Anywhere Four 15-minute workouts, also on DVD (15 Minute Fitness) (Flexibound)
This was my first exercise DVD. It was so good, and is providing me with ideal core strengthening moves, that I'm in the process of buying more ready to build on my progress.

The book is very very good. Check it out in real book shop. The DVD adds the icing on the cake. I think this package is extremely good for non-beginners and people without back problems, who are able to judge their own limitations, eg they know how far they can bend their knees while standing. Perhaps they are bored with the slow pace of their class and want to develop sequences for themselves.

The missing star is because I've done some Pilates lessons and a good teacher will spend ages explaining the anatomy, physiology, breathing, exact positions and even the mental imagery you need in long slow sessions before you learn a routine. The danger of a book and DVD is you skip the book and go straight to the DVD. If you do that you won't get the full benefit of these brilliantly conceived exercises and you might even hurt your back.

So it's not as good as a classes, well obviously, but they should have said it's not for beginners, and they shouldn't have put the 100s exercise 2nd in the basic daily routine - it's definitely not for people who haven't yet worked on their back strength - and finally they really should have at least mentioned that some sort of cool down is necessary. I can't even find that mentioned even in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing buy it, 28 Mar. 2012
This review is from: 15-Minute Everyday Pilates: Get Real Results Anytime, Anywhere Four 15-minute workouts, also on DVD (15 Minute Fitness) (Flexibound)
My mum bought this for me years ago and it had sat around until a few weeks ago and I'm hooked, I suffer from an anxiety disorder and depression and am a self confessed lazy ass, however, the way the DVD is set up into 15min sections is perfect for me I end up doing about 45mins a day everyday! The results not just physically but mentally and emotionally are beyond reality.

I really cannot stress enough how this book has benefitted my life, it's simple, concise and has no patronising instructors screaming at you.

Buy it!!! Xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portable toning, 17 Mar. 2010
By 
Reader, Southampton UK (Southampton, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15-Minute Everyday Pilates: Get Real Results Anytime, Anywhere Four 15-minute workouts, also on DVD (15 Minute Fitness) (Flexibound)
Excellent book, dvd useful as I was new to Pilates; like the ease of charts to follow at the end of each section as I sometimes work from 2 sections, a little quicker if limited time. Her website has some downloadable charts (A4 ) - even more portable than book for hols etc! Worth working on one section with dvd for a week before moving on to next to really do it properly. Excellent instructors. Ideal on portable dvd device too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to do pilates at home, 13 Mar. 2015
By 
S. Brandwood (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15-Minute Everyday Pilates: Get Real Results Anytime, Anywhere Four 15-minute workouts, also on DVD (15 Minute Fitness) (Flexibound)
This is a fantastic resource for doing Pilates at home. The DVD comes with four 15 minute routines that work on different parts of the body and all can be very exhausting for both beginners and intermediates. You can mix and match the routines to your body and your schedule very easily.

I don't use the book very much because the DVD explains most things that you need while you are exercising, but it is there as a resource.

I recommend that you do Pilates a few times with a real teacher before settling on just using this book/DVD, so that you have a better idea of the basics. Without a teacher to watch you, you will need to be vigilante in checking your posture is correct and be constantly thinking how you can improve yourself.

You will need two 1kg weights for two of the routines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15-Minute Everyday Pilates: Get Real Results Anytime, Anywhere Four 15-minute workouts, also on DVD (15 Minute Fitness) (Flexibound)
I have never done any Pilates before, so wanted to start at home before even attempting a class. So I have only done the exercises a few times because of a heavy schedule lately. Firstlt this book has good photographs showing positions and an easy to follow explanation of how to do the exercises. At the end of each programe there double fold out pages with photographic reminders of the start and first position for all the exercises in that section. There is also a DVD going through the exercises which you can follow as a programe or use a guide to start with as I have done. The exercises are for beginners or experienced, but as a beginner Pilates is reasonably hard and the next day I felt a little sore, but nothing more than that. This is a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 15-Minute Everyday Pilates, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15-Minute Everyday Pilates: Get Real Results Anytime, Anywhere Four 15-minute workouts, also on DVD (15 Minute Fitness) (Flexibound)
Brilliant book and dvd!! Exceeded my expections. Fits in with a busy day perfectly and you can mix and match the four different 15 minute workouts for good results. Would defintely recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant buy and works if you apply xxx, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15-Minute Everyday Pilates: Get Real Results Anytime, Anywhere Four 15-minute workouts, also on DVD (15 Minute Fitness) (Flexibound)
absolutely brilliant step by step guide to pilates...well worth the money...even if you only fit in the core exercises each day....will help anyone who is serious about dealing with core muscle problems to help aid back health ( I had a minor back op so core muscle strengthening was a must)..only 15 mins... and also recommend all the other exercises for the whole body...really worth the money and dedication to see results...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book with DVD is a great combo!, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15-Minute Everyday Pilates: Get Real Results Anytime, Anywhere Four 15-minute workouts, also on DVD (15 Minute Fitness) (Flexibound)
I have some other books in this series and what I like - in respect to them all - is the fact that you have a DVD to accompany the book itself. Split into sections, the book goes along with the DVD which helps you pick up on some of information that you may not with just the book itself. An excellent section with hand-weights which I did not at all expect to see. Well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied customer., 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15-Minute Everyday Pilates: Get Real Results Anytime, Anywhere Four 15-minute workouts, also on DVD (15 Minute Fitness) (Flexibound)
The book was advertised as unused and it was. Came complete with DVD. I bought through Amazon Marketplace and it was so much cheaper than the Amazon book, even with postage costs. The seller (vkm0106), Ginny, was very good and I recommend her. The book content is excellent, all I was hoping for as a novice. It is easy to follow and the pictures of every move are a great help. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews