Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5*..but if you have never heard of Robert Parker Jr ... 1*
This man has been described as the worlds most powerful critic, and it's true. Nobody, in any field, has as much infulence over his/her chosen field. People the world over, quite literally, make wines to please Parker.
Don't expect to find most of the wines in this book in your local supermarket, there are better books (Gluck, Oz Clarke) for that. But if you need to...
Published on 22 Jan 2003

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what it seems
I would suggest that anyone considering buying this book on the strength of Robert Parker's previous fine publications should take a good look at it first. It is not what it seems. There is a brief introduction to each wine estate and then simply list after list of wine scores. There are no tasting notes. Quite why whomever has assembled the book has chosen to omit them...
Published on 17 Feb 2009 by Philip C. Agland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5*..but if you have never heard of Robert Parker Jr ... 1*, 22 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wine Buyer's Guide (Hardcover)
This man has been described as the worlds most powerful critic, and it's true. Nobody, in any field, has as much infulence over his/her chosen field. People the world over, quite literally, make wines to please Parker.
Don't expect to find most of the wines in this book in your local supermarket, there are better books (Gluck, Oz Clarke) for that. But if you need to know about the worlds best wines, then there is abolutely no substitute for Parker. And by best wines, this means mainly France, also US, Italy, Australia. Don't expect too much more detail from other countries, Parker doesn't rate New Zealand much for example, apart from maybe Cloudy Bay.
So if you are looking for information on reasonably priced wines that are available in the high street, avoid this book. Most of the tastings are of vintages long since unavilable outside of an auction house.
But if you are serious about wine, then this is essential. And if you have any sort of investment at all in wine, you will no doubt have this anyway. A good review of one of your "en primeur" wines will send it's value soaring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what it seems, 17 Feb 2009
By 
Philip C. Agland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wine Buyer's Guide (Hardcover)
I would suggest that anyone considering buying this book on the strength of Robert Parker's previous fine publications should take a good look at it first. It is not what it seems. There is a brief introduction to each wine estate and then simply list after list of wine scores. There are no tasting notes. Quite why whomever has assembled the book has chosen to omit them is puzzling. Tasting notes are there in Parker's Wine Advocate and in previous editions of this book. It can not be a question of space - this edition is significantly shorter. The reader is thus left with nothing to read but lists of numbers. I am afraid that in this instance the purchaser was left feeling short changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopaedic antries, but limited coverage, 1 Jan 2003
This review is from: The Wine Buyer's Guide (Hardcover)
A fine addition to any wine lover's book-shelf, this weighty tome in 2 volumes covers French wines in great detail and other European wines in adequate detail. If you're looking to get a flavour of the new world you need to look elsewhere though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best quick reference guide out.Combine with wine spectator, 13 July 1998
By A Customer
this book not only gives you a point rating out of 100 on specific wines but also rates produces on a general scale giving you an advantage on choosing up comming vintages not yet rated.this book is very complete and very usefull in any collectors library.Only flaw i found(becides my spelling)is that prior editions rate wineries different than the current book.This is an excelent book for all wine lovers.A must purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading, 1 May 1998
By A Customer
Love him or hate him, you have to read him to know. He is one of the most influencial critics and what he says leads to frenzies of buying. Anyone who is a wine enthusiast will want to read enough of Parkers reviews to understand his palate and at least be aware of his presence in the market place. This book has been an outstanding source of information for me, especially as I delved into wine regions that I had little understanding of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Indispensable Guide by the Incomparable Parker, 2 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Wine Buyer's Guide (Hardcover)
There is absolutely no point in carping and moaning about it. Robert Parker is “The Man”, the “nec plus ultra” , when it comes to wine tasting, criticism and review. He is revered, feared, loathed, admired and beloved, in equal measure, by wine growers, “negociants”, importers and brokers (particularly in Bordeaux, home of the greatest and most noble wines), since it is he, who through his fearless and uninfluenceable criticisms, and more importantly, his 0-100 point scoring of wines, who effectively sets the prices that can be charged, and it is he who is the ultimate benchmark arbiter, world-wide, of which wines are good, which are bad, which are terrific, and which are abysmal. No matter who you are, and whatever may be your reputation, he will call it as he tastes it, and if that causes squeals of anguish amongst complacent or ineffective wine growers, so be it. For every big ego that he has bruised, he has elevated to recognition a brilliant, hard working, but previously overlooked wine grower from a less well known region or “appellation”. This has served as an inspiration to legions of young wine growers and oenologists, as never before. We, the consumer, bear all of the benefit. As President Chirac said, on the occasion of Parker being awarded France’s highest civilian honour, the “Chevalier de la Legion d’honneur” , “Robert Parker is the most followed and influential critic of French wines in the entire world”. Through his 0-100 point scoring system, which was at first much decried but which is now frequently mimicked by others, the wine lover, of whatever degree of experience or sophistication, is able to set out into the wine market place equipped with an invariably accurate, highly detailed, unusually informative and well judged companion and guide.
A word of warning: do not be seduced or beguiled by preconception or otherwise into the belief that an “RP” (ie. Robert Parker) score of 88 points or thereabouts reflects anything but a superb bottle of wine. You will not find many 88 pointers on the shelves of your local or out of town supermarket, let alone in your local off licence. As Parker himself describes it, wines scoring 80 to 89 points are “..very good. Many of the wines that fall into this range are often great value as well. I have many of these wines in my personal cellar.” Make no mistake. The wines that are reviewed in this book are, all of them, pretty damn fine. Only the very richest amongst readers will be able to undertake the pursuit of the various and mythical 100 pointers, whose prices will be out of reach to less fortunate mortals such as this reviewer.
The opening section of the book, in which Parker explains his methods and gives tips and advice as to the proper storage of wines, the use of additives, and making sense of the notion of “terroir”, as well as many other topics, is itself worth the price of the book. That is before one even comes to the wine reviews, which are set out region by region, and then in easy to find alphabetical order, with the recent vintages of each of the wines (four to five vintages from 2000 and prior are typically reviewed and scored, together with a “past glories” reference to any earlier outstanding vintages). The style of all of the writing, including the wine reviews is highly accessible and understandable, albeit within the slightly bizarre language of wine criticism.
Parker is generous in what he says about other quality wine critics, with whom he does not always agree, but whose integrity and passion he admires and respects. He says of Jancis Robinson, for example, that “no one should ignore what Britain’s leading lady of wine has to say” (coincidentally, Parker and Robinson are currently diametrically opposed in their opinions as to the quality of the 2003 Chateau Pavie, which Parker adores but which Robinson considers overblown).
A final thought, and the one that perhaps best sums up the usefulness and value of this book. I bought my copy of the book one year ago. It is big and heavy and seemed expensive to me at the time. It contains not a single picture on any of its 1600 plus pages. It is most definitely not a book for the coffee table. I have a good few other wine guides, many much cheaper, and some with a great many pretty pictures, and I use them all. However, the book to which I always make first reference and to which I always return, for one final check before sending off my cheque for another case of wine, is Parker’s. If you are a lover of good quality wine, or would like to be, you will have to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A valuable addition to my bookcase, and a book that I use often, 29 Nov 2006
By 
Bernard Smith (Somewhere, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wine Buyer's Guide (Hardcover)
I have both this and the 3rd edition, and I would strongly recommend you to have a recent copy in your collection, but not to rush out and buy the new edition every time it appears. The 3rd edition had >1,000 pages and this one >1,600 pages, I suppose the next edition will have >2,000 pages - which ever way you look at it, it's fantastic value for money in terms of /kg. I know that much is said for and against Parker, but the point-rating system and the well-written text makes it an interesting and useful book. I have read some reviews that praise Parker for opening up new wine producing areas, new markets, and new tasting options. Other reviews condemn him for pushing for one type of taste and for inflating prices. I look at what the book gives me. Firstly, I like the descriptions about the countries, producers and wine. Secondly, I like rating systems, his and others, because they can help me decide what to go for next. Thirdly, I use his book to check interesting options that I find in supermarkets (I live in Europe and our supermarkets sometimes have an amazing range of wines on offer) and wine shops. Some people say it is too oriented to the US market, but it nevertheless has provided me with a few good finds, and it often comforts me in buying some lesser known producer or region/grape combination. I will admit that I use Bettane & Desseauve for my French wines, but I tend to use Parker for its coverage of wines from the new world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile, 26 May 1999
By A Customer
The criticisms of earlier reviewers are all true (this book is quickly out of date each time it appears). Still, all wine lovers should own and read at least one "Parker's Wine Buyer's Guide". There's lots to learn here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for all wine buffs, 25 Feb 2011
By 
dennis (Norwich, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wine Buyer's Guide (Hardcover)
Parker, love him or otherwise, is the recognised 'Guru' of wine scoring and assessment of a particular wine/vintage. As a collector and drinker of wine I read books written by a number of great writers. Parker is not really a writer, more a reviewer. These two books are for reference purposes, encyclopaedic in style and highly authoritative. I use the books to track wines and get a feel for how they may evolve and what they might be worth. Some I drink some I keep for sale as investments. I think the books are out on their own, the definitive word on wines and how they're rated. The French section; an entire volume, is incredibly comprehensive and detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Parker Winer Buyer's guide, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Karen Evans (South East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wine Buyer's Guide (Hardcover)
Very detailed book and is one for the more avid wine connossiur. I bought it as a gift for my partner and he was delighted with the content. it is more focused on French wines but it is def a good buy if you are interested in good wines and want to learn more, not recommended for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wine Buyer's Guide
The Wine Buyer's Guide by Robert Parker (Hardcover - 3 Nov 2008)
48.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews