Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars90
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2010
this new book has been such a great help with teenagers who find other maths books too daunting and meaty. The explanations are easy to grasp and logical, not too much jumping around and each example builds on the previous one. I even benefitted myself from learning some little tricks to speed up my sums in the office! Good images and diagrams and a very reasonable price. Most kids would not mind this as a present from Granny for birthday or Christmas!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
The book is very easy to use, simple language , lots of useful information, very helpfull , good for helping your kids with math.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2010
Having bought nearly all of these types of books on the market(!) this is by far the most useful and easy to follow. A godsend if you are struggling to help your children with their homework and finding like me that you are a bit out of date with the way they teach maths in school these days.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
As a Maths teacher I thought this book looked great with beautifully clear graphics. However, having read through the first section which covers Number I've already picked up some errors:
Page 16: Adding large numbers gives an example of "carrying". Schools place enormous emphasis on correctly identifying place value and in the example quoted the 1 to be carried is actually a 10.
Page 17: Subtracting large numbers, the term "borrow" is used. This went out of favour literally years ago as to borrow is to imply that something is paid back, which is not the case and was therefore considered confusing. The method shown in the example is sound, only the use of the word "borrow" is not.
Finally on page 39 Short division with decimals, an example is shown of 6 being divided by 8. The description underneath states that here, short division was used to find the decimal answer for the sum 8 divided by 6.

Whilst this last point is perhaps a typographical error, the first two are really quite important and would almost certainly be considered by schools to be bad practice. As stated in the book's Foreword, new methods of arithmetic have been introduced since many parents were themselves taught and this book aims to guide parents through some of these methods. Clearly, in the above examples it is simply re-enforcing old and outdated values which would conflict with current thinking. I do hope this is not indicative of the rest of the book, which is colourful, eye-catching and appears clearly to set out many concepts which both children and adults would find extremely useful.
11 comment|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
Good reference book for parents, however, I do not feel that the explanations and working examples go far enough. To be a five star, this book needs to provide full worked examples so parents can easily follow the logic behind each discipline and are left in no doubt as to how the author came to the final answer.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Excellent value for money exactly what my daugher needed prior to exams. Highly recommend as my children found it very useful for prepreation for exams
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Very clear and good book with great illustrations. Wish we had books like this when I was young, maths would have been easier to learn.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
A good basic book more useful for teaching under 10 year old as the visual aids help the children grasp the concept more easily. For adults it's a good refresher or reference book. It would be helpful if there were excercises that the child could do to help self learning as well. Otherwise good book.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
I use a lot of Carol Vordermans english and maths books. This one states visual so I thought it would be ideal for my visual son. The book is very hard book to follow. Too much crammed on one page. Really not as easy to follow as the usual CV books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
This isnt a bad guide however i found the pages were way too visually busy and over complicated to much so it has put me off the rest of the book and iam going to see an alternative....
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)