Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good
Arrived promptly & well packaged; price reasonable & publication quality likewise. Have a bit of an issue with all the current rash of 'self-sufficiency' gardener type of books in that usually end up flitting between 3 or 4 to get an overall view of options/ techniques/ methods. (Also a lot seem to be half cook-book/ half gardening advice) This appears to be fairly...
Published on 26 May 2011 by Langley Lass

versus
40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mostly drawn from another work
I can't fault the information given in this book (other than some parts being out of date); nor quarrel with the presentation, which is lovely. However 118 pages of this book have been drawn (identically) from Seymour's "The New complete book of self-sufficiency". Another 30 pages briefly cover topics discussed in more detail in the other book. Hence over half this...
Published on 12 Aug 2010 by M. Richard Parker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mostly drawn from another work, 12 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Self-Sufficient Gardener: The complete illustrated guide to planning, growing, storing and preserving your own garden produce (Hardcover)
I can't fault the information given in this book (other than some parts being out of date); nor quarrel with the presentation, which is lovely. However 118 pages of this book have been drawn (identically) from Seymour's "The New complete book of self-sufficiency". Another 30 pages briefly cover topics discussed in more detail in the other book. Hence over half this book is contained within the other work. If I had realised this at the time of purchase I would not have bought it - I would recommend you buy "The new complete book of self-sufficiency" and something else to complement its dicussion of gardening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 26 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Self-Sufficient Gardener: The complete illustrated guide to planning, growing, storing and preserving your own garden produce (Hardcover)
Arrived promptly & well packaged; price reasonable & publication quality likewise. Have a bit of an issue with all the current rash of 'self-sufficiency' gardener type of books in that usually end up flitting between 3 or 4 to get an overall view of options/ techniques/ methods. (Also a lot seem to be half cook-book/ half gardening advice) This appears to be fairly comprehensive and written in a fairly accessible way. Certainly enough illustrations etc.... there were a few things missing that would have liked in there - so rating reflects actual book itself rather than transaction, which was fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 27 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: The New Self-Sufficient Gardener: The complete illustrated guide to planning, growing, storing and preserving your own garden produce (Hardcover)
A great book full of knowledge. Similiar to his complete book of self-sufficiency but goes into veg growing etc in plenty of detail. This is a complete guide for someone starting and already started with gardening. Something you will have to hand from season to season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Living the dream or Dreaming the life, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Mandy "Good Listener" (Blackheath, London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Self-Sufficient Gardener: The complete illustrated guide to planning, growing, storing and preserving your own garden produce (Hardcover)
Repeats of the Good Life on TV encouraged me to wish and dream of self sufficiency. Obviously I cannot go all the way, but with shop prices being so high on essentials, I feel that I could do more than just grow mustard and cress on kitchen roll. A very limited amount of outside space at my disposal, but this book helped demystify the concept of grow your own. Potatos and mushrooms are a defintite yes for 2009 (along with the herbs I am used to growing) and I shall have salad stuff by summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One book you have to own, 6 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: The New Self-Sufficient Gardener: The complete illustrated guide to planning, growing, storing and preserving your own garden produce (Hardcover)
If you even have a slight leaning towards 'self sufficient' lifestyle, this book is invaluable.
Well laid out and illustrated as you would expect from DK, but stuffed with useful information from the one and only John Seymour.
Buy this book, The Complete Guide to Self Sufficiency and The Fat of Land and will have all you need to know about this way of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars this is a great book worth five stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Self-Sufficient Gardener: The complete illustrated guide to planning, growing, storing and preserving your own garden produce (Hardcover)
this is a great book worth five stars... however i had an old copy (falling apart) and selling this as a "new" book is a bit misleading the only real change is asterixes in the book and one page at the back associated with these essentailly telling you creosote is now banned and you can't make your own pesticides or somesuch things. i was hoping it had actually been updated throughout with up to date knowledge. so you might as well get a second hand early copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the amateur gardener., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Self-Sufficient Gardener: The complete illustrated guide to planning, growing, storing and preserving your own garden produce (Hardcover)
A great book for the amateur gardener. I bought this for my gardening mad nephew who is only 10, and he was delighted with it. He can dip in and out, picking out the relevant sections according to his interest of the moment. He is fascinated by vegetable growing at the moment and this book is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gardeners bible, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Self-Sufficient Gardener: The complete illustrated guide to planning, growing, storing and preserving your own garden produce (Hardcover)
This is the best book for growing your own vegetables, it explains everything in easy to understand language.
I have managed to get good quality crops from my plot. The vegetables grown taste better than the veg you buy in supermarkets. If you buy this book, you will not be disappointed.
Good value, great delivery, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very informative and useful, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Self-Sufficient Gardener: The complete illustrated guide to planning, growing, storing and preserving your own garden produce (Hardcover)
gave a second opinion on possibilities available - a good follow up to 'self sufficiency' the original and still relevant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another helpful tool from John Seymour, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Self-Sufficient Gardener: The complete illustrated guide to planning, growing, storing and preserving your own garden produce (Hardcover)
John Seymour has managed to include those facts most pertinent to the subject concerned without shying away from the nitty gritty of each topic being covered. For example, how old should a chicken be when you kill it for meat?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews