Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD POCKET(ISH) SIZE BOOK - LOTS OF INFO
Lots of handy information, I usually do lots of research on holiday destinations, but this year the family decided we weren't doing much except the villa and pool. I couldn't quite do NO RESEARCH! So I compromised with one little book with all information needed for our holiday.
It wouldn't have been good enough for the detailed research that I normally do, but as a...
Published on 27 May 2010 by Heather

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good for independent travellers
The strength of this guidebook is in its pictures - there are colour photographs throughout - and its guides to the most famous monuments which walk you through the main features in the order in which you're likely to find them. The weakness is in the maps and practical information.

The 'top ten' format is maintained rigidly throughout, even in the general...
Published on 31 Jan 2008 by BookWorm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good for independent travellers, 31 Jan 2008
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The strength of this guidebook is in its pictures - there are colour photographs throughout - and its guides to the most famous monuments which walk you through the main features in the order in which you're likely to find them. The weakness is in the maps and practical information.

The 'top ten' format is maintained rigidly throughout, even in the general information sections, which doesn't always seem appropriate. I was also unclear as to whether the top ten was in ranked order (i.e. with one being the best, ten the least good of the selection), or in no particular order. As the book often isn't comparing like with like (e.g. budget and luxury hotels in the same list), it is hard to tell.

The sightseeing sections are useful provided they cover what you need, however a lot gets missed out. Perhaps such a large region, so diverse in attractions, isn't suitable for a single guide of this size. The presentation is good and it's easy and undemanding to read, and the 'bitesize' chunks of information will be ideal for many travellers who want to know a little but not an enyclopaedia's worth. It's also small and light, suitable for carrying round in a small bag.

I would recommend this more to people on package tours or where they will have a significant level of guidance, rather than independent travellers. The maps are hard to follow and only cover the very centres of a few selected cities (Cordoba, for example, isn't included as a map even though it features heavily in the rest of the book). For travellers using public transport there is nowhere near enough information to enable travel and I got seriously lost in two cities because I was relying on this book. For example, the train stations aren't in the area covered on the maps, and there are no instructions or information about, for example, what bus to get or which direction to take.

The language section is reasonably comprehensive but the print is tiny! Those with poor eyesight might want to take a separate phrasebook.

On the whole, I liked this book some of the time, but wouldn't rely on it as a lone, independent, budget traveller. It would be a great accompaniment to a package or guided trip though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too vast an area to be covered adequately in a small guide, 18 Sep 2007
By 
E. Lucas (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I live in Gibraltar and frequent my Andalusian neighbouring villages and cities often. This Top Ten guide is simply not large enough to cover such a vast expanse of land. Andalusia may be rural and underpopulated but it's still a huge part of Spain with tons to do and see.
Top Ten guides are brilliant (possibly the BEST guides) for cities such as Rome, Dublin, etc, not for regions though.
Still, all in all, a compact guide albeit lacking in substance. Probably best to invest in a full DK Guide to Andalusia instead. More weight to carry by cammed with better quality and quantity of information. Avoid Andalusia in July and August!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Value for Money, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Anthony R. Webber "Anfine" (Northamptonshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Andalucia & Costa Del Sol (Paperback)
Let me say first that I am a great fan of the DK Eyewitness Guides and own several excellent editions for many parts of the world where they have proved invaluable for helping me locate myself in strange and different places.

But not this one... the area covered is too vast, it ignores many places of immense interest and does not go into any great detail about the places that it does cover.

The book is shallow and superficial and I wish I had saved my money and bought a few Sangria's whilst visiting the region, at least I would have derived some pleasure, which this travel guide failed miserably to give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD POCKET(ISH) SIZE BOOK - LOTS OF INFO, 27 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of handy information, I usually do lots of research on holiday destinations, but this year the family decided we weren't doing much except the villa and pool. I couldn't quite do NO RESEARCH! So I compromised with one little book with all information needed for our holiday.
It wouldn't have been good enough for the detailed research that I normally do, but as a guide to the area and ideas on where to go it is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Eyewitness Travel Top 10 Andalucia and Costa del Sol, 22 July 2008
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Andalucia & Costa Del Sol (Paperback)
Poorly researched. Includes one restaurant recommendation which suggests a 'local speciality' which the restaurant in question had never served (or even heard of). Contacted DK for a comment on this and, in keeping, with the author's view of the reader they didn't bother to answer. Defintiely not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for dippers, 18 Aug 2011
By 
C. Jordan (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This series is perfect for those tourists who like to dip into an area and don't need too much detail. If you like lots of detail then these are not for you. Ideal for those who want a pointer about what not to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This comprehensive travel guide is great with lots of great ideas for days out in Andalucia and the surrounding areas with maps and even bookmarks included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Andalucia travel guide, 24 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
always useful and well illustarted, this is anbother of DK's excellent pocket guides which form an excellent introduction to an area, packed with good tips and ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very informative a real need when going to the countries, , , , , , , , , , , ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Andalucia & Costa Del Sol
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Andalucia & Costa Del Sol by Jeffrey Kennedy (Paperback - 1 Feb 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews