Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2014
Really thought this book delivers on every front. Clear instructions and good illustrations do not leave you in any doubt as to what to do. This may be basic but sometimes even the most accomplished cook needs to go back to recipes that form the basis of more complex dishes. This book deserves its place in the kitchen.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Moving into my own house in a few weeks and have recently got an interest in cooking.

Looked all around for an ideal cookbook that could teach me tips, as well as easy meals.

This book is really informative, and gives you nutritional values too. There is also step by step pictures that guide you through your recipes, which is very useful.

The meals are all things that I would consider making. At the back of the book there are also some useful skills, such as how to cut a celery or slice an onion correctly.

Perfect book, and I can't wait to cook!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
this book taught me lots about things such as how to prepare things such as vegetables and the very basics such as use of utensils, herbs, sauces etc.. In addition to this it provided me with basic skills eg different ways of storing and cooking eggs before giving some recipes. So many other books assume you all this. This was just what I need as my husband has always cooked and i wanted to learn.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2008
from Mary Berry.

n.b. Previously published as 'The New Cook'.

From the back cover:

'Need to learn how to cook for yourself?
Want to start producing home-made food for your family?
Long to create a delicious meal for your friends?
Follow Mary Berry's guidelines in `How to Cook' and begin a new life in the kitchen.
A simple cookery course and recipe book all in one.
Step-by-step photography with clear instructions.
Over 100 foolproof recipes.......'

Small hardcover format with 256 high quality shiny pages split over 5 chapters:

1. Master Recipes
2. Recipe Collection
3. Techniques
4. Ingredients
5. Equipment

sandwiched between an introduction, cook's notes and an index.

From the introduction:

'I have so enjoyed writing this book and the process of going right back to the beginning and rethinking cooking techniques and how to simplify them. I have written this with a clear eye for today's new cooks who want fresher, lighter food.
I have a soft spot for people who are just beginning to cook, and I want them to have fun with cooking and enjoy the results. For the novice, even opening a recipe book can be incredibly daunting, so my aim with this book is to make cooking as easy and uncomplicated as possible.

The twelve Master Recipes are designed to get you off to a good start. These will be your master keys, opening up a collection of basic, but essential cooking skills........'

Each of the 'Master Recipes' is well laid out with the list of ingredients on the left, the title, the number of servings, an opening note and a clear, numbered method, followed by a full-page colour photograph of the finished dish then the `step-by-step' procedure, including variations, if applicable, and pictures over at least a further two pages.
These recipes include how to make:

* Classic French Omelette
* Tagliatelle Bolognese
* Chilli con Carne
* Roast Chicken
* Double-Crust Apple Pie
* Victoria Sponge

The recipe chapter opens with relevant notes, then the recipes which follow the same written format as the Master Recipes, described above.
This section is sub-divided into:

* Egg Dishes
* Soups
* Pasta
* Grains & Pulses
* Pan-fries
* Stir-fries
* Char-grills
* Grills
* Roasts
* Accompaniments
* Salads
* Fruit Desserts
* Cakes and Cookies
* Bread

This section is only lightly interspersed with photography....which may be a little disappointing for those who like to see what they are aiming for on the plate!

A taste of the other recipes within:

* Quiche Lorraine
* Crepes Suzette
* Cheese Soufflés
* Minestrone
* Clam Chowder
* Meat or Vegetarian Lasagne
* Tabbouleh
* Garlic Prawns
* Cajun-Style Chicken
* Hoisin Pork
* Steak with Onion Marmalade
* Real Beefburgers
* Tandoori Chicken
* Vegetable Curry
* Beef Wellington
* Yorkshire Pudding
* Coleslaw
* Caesar Salad
* Meringues with Raspberry Coulis
* Lemon & Lime Cheesecake
* Chocolate Brownies
* Lemon Slices
* Anchovy Pizza

The main recipes all have a 'nutritional information' table.

The 'Techniques Section' includes preparation and cooking of various ingredients such as:

* Eggs
* Rice
* Fish, Poultry and Meat (including 'Cuts of')
* Vegetables
* Fruit
* Pastry
* Sauces
* Crumbs & Croutons
* Leaves and Herbs

as well as basic recipes e.g.

Polenta, Mashed Potatoes, Custard, Mayonnaise and Bouquet Garni

This section is very well laid out and has plenty of photographs, including 'step by step', where applicable, e.g.:

'Carving a Large Bird'

Peppered throughout with helpful tips, such as the making and keeping/freezing of chicken stock or beating and making meringues.

The last two chapters are recommended ingredients and equipment.

Good value for an all round reference for the beginner, but could also prove useful to those more experienced, needing a helping hand in greyer areas, e.g. 'Skinning Fish Fillets' or 'Making a Pastry Case'.
0Comment|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
Bought this as a gift for someone who has never booked. The book has lots of step by step photos and instructions. Covers the basics such as spag bol and chilli. Very happy with book
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
NO NONSENSE "HOW TO" GUIDES AND PICTURES, ALL GOOD COMMON SENSE TECHNIQUES FROM A TO Z OF COOKING AND BAKING , A MUST FOR ANYONE WHO IS NEEDING A GOOD BOOK TO SHOW THEM HOW TO ATTEMPT DIFFERENT FOODS , FROM SIMPISTIC PREPERATIONS OF VEG ETC TO MORE ADVANCED ..BUT SIMPLE COOKING AND BAKING OF FOOD....GREAT BOOK TO HAVE IN YOUR LIBRARY...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
This book is so useful. Explains in very clear language, with great instructions on each part of the process just how to cook successfully. I am sure that it will give a great grounding in the basics so the user can progress to the more difficult recipes without much hassle.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
So pleased I got this for my daughter. I got a lot of unexpected tips from this book. In fact I may even keep it for myself. But great for those who are relatively new to cooking.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Mary Berry is very professional and what I like most about her is the useful advice and tips she gives. Usually when you cook or bake, you have to learn by your mistakes, but Mary tells you things that avoid these mistakes from happening. This book is ideal for a beginner as she tells you what you need to get started, though I could have done with the next leg up for the person I'd bought this for.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
I bought this book for my 22 years old son who has a habit of ringing me and asking how to tell when potatoes are ready to be mashed and how to make scrambled egg. Easier to follow then Delia's with clear photos. I like the bits which explained cuts of meat which I feel will be a big help to him.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)