Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! A real science based parenting book!
In a world where one is bombarded by conflicting advice about what is best for my child (sleep routines, behaviour, tantrums, etc.), this book is like a breath of fresh air. Unlike those thousands of opinion based parenting books, which have no scientific evidence to corroborate those opinions, The Science of Parenting is packed with useful advice, backed up with...
Published on 14 July 2006 by Ellie

versus
59 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbalanced scaremongering
I have the previous version of this book called 'The Science of Parenting'. I really wanted to like it...i wanted a book with a different feel to most other parenting books. It is different. Not in a good way....

In my view, a scientific approach should be balanced, open-minded and should take into account all sources. This book definitely does not do this. It...
Published on 26 Jan. 2013 by Grasshopper


‹ Previous | 111 12 1318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What every parent needs to know, 24 Sept. 2009
By 
Antonia Forster (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Every Parent Needs to Know: The incredible effects of love, nurture and play on your child's development (Paperback)
A must for all parents to be! Layout allows for easy reading. Good use of case studies. The authors have done a good job translating the complex neurological chemical processess occuring in the minds of our wee ones into understandable terms to the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Every Parent Needs to Know: The incredible effects of love, nurture and play on your child's development (Paperback)
As a Nursery manager and a parent I have to recommend this book. Finally, the answer as to why our children behave the way they do. Brain development explained in a way we can really understand it. A book written by an academic in a plane English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't recommend enough!, 4 Aug. 2012
By 
I found this book invaluable. I read it before birth and it helped me shape my parenting style. I have now re=read it and think it's just a very sound, helpful, honest book and if you just read on baby/child book I think this should be the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent book for parents and parents to be, 5 Aug. 2011
I hardly recommend this book for parents, parents to be and also for teachers because this book let us to understand how the human brain work specially in the first years of our life .... thanks to Margot Sunderland brilliant research
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too much science lingo, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
Dr D (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality print, nice pictures. That's about it for the two stars. The author is too keen to impress by using a lot of science lingo. If you do not know by heart all the hormones produced by a human body, you'll end up thinking "stuff" every time another chemical is mentioned. In the end you'll learn that some "stuff" makes your kid happy, whereas other "stuff" makes him sad. Great... It all boils down to common sense: if your kid is crying, pick him up. If you didn't know that, than read the book to find out why (provided you've got a PhD in biochemistry).

As a serious research publication the book does not stand a chance either. The ways some arguments are built are so desperately biased it even makes it fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Every Parent Needs to Know: The incredible effects of love, nurture and play on your child's development (Paperback)
As in the title helps to explain a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Feb. 2012
This review is from: What Every Parent Needs to Know: The incredible effects of love, nurture and play on your child's development (Paperback)
The book reveals the facts of children's brain development which are very thrilling. It really helps me to understand my kids more and have more empathy. Fantastic book! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Every Parent Needs to Know: The incredible effects of love, nurture and play on your child's development (Paperback)
very happy with the book and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant insightful and a great help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Every Parent Needs to Know: The incredible effects of love, nurture and play on your child's development (Paperback)
Love this book. Blows all the CIO theories out the water. This book backs up a mothers intuition. Would love it even more if Amazon would pay their UK taxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews