Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! A real science based parenting book!
In a world where one is bombarded by conflicting advice about what is best for my child (sleep routines, behaviour, tantrums, etc.), this book is like a breath of fresh air. Unlike those thousands of opinion based parenting books, which have no scientific evidence to corroborate those opinions, The Science of Parenting is packed with useful advice, backed up with...
Published on 14 July 2006 by Ellie

versus
47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars *** IDENTICAL BOOK***
What Every Parent Needs to Know: The Incredible Effects of Love, Nurture and Play on Your Child's Development (Paperback

These two books are TOTALLY IDENTICAL despite having different titles, straplines and Amazon recommending you buy the two togeter
Published on 16 Jan. 2008 by melody salad


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! A real science based parenting book!, 14 July 2006
In a world where one is bombarded by conflicting advice about what is best for my child (sleep routines, behaviour, tantrums, etc.), this book is like a breath of fresh air. Unlike those thousands of opinion based parenting books, which have no scientific evidence to corroborate those opinions, The Science of Parenting is packed with useful advice, backed up with literally hundreds of scientific studies.

The author conveys what are quite complex scientific concepts in easy to understand language, diagrams and she uses examples of behaviour that I have seen in my own child.

It's so refreshing to see something solid and different from the same old baby books, and it's a fascinating read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to eliminate doubt and become an empowered parent, 25 Jan. 2009
By 
G. Groom (Cowbridge, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What's the difference between a distressed fit of crying and a controlling 'little Nero' tantrum? How does letting a very young baby cry itself to sleep release harmful body chemicals and discourage trust? How do loving, nurturing behaviours coupled with firm boundaries make for a harmonious relationship with your child?

These and many other questions answered.

There are so many old wives' tales around when it comes to raising your baby and child that this book, by a responsible and caring child psychologist, helps you work out sensible solutions. Are doctors and health visitors always right when giving advice on the emotional health of your baby or does an expert in attachment perhaps have better answers? This book helps you decide and become an empowered parent. It puts the child centre stage because the early experiences of a baby set patterns for life. At the same time, it honours the needs of mothers, who need love, support and community. I hope this is the way parenting will progress in future years.
Please read this book if you are pregnant or a new mother... it's very helpful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 101 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good parenting book, but with one significant weakness., 26 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Every Parent Needs to Know: The incredible effects of love, nurture and play on your child's development (Paperback)
Most of this book is excellent and I would recommend it very highly but for one very important chapter: All about discipline.

The author simply has no idea of the difference between punishments and consequences - and it is a crucial difference that parents must understand if they are to discipline with love and kindness.

A consequence is something that repairs damage or makes restitution in some way. A punishment, on the other hand, extracts retribution.

Assume that your child writes on the wall. A consequence of this would be that she has to clean it up. An alternative consequence may be that she has to sit in a chair in silence while watching an obviously irritated Dad clean it up. A punishment would be something like not allowing her to watch a TV program or something else completely unrelated to the "crime."

The crucial difference is that children will accept and learn from consequences but will inevitably resent punishments.

(And it should be noted that "Time Out" is a punishment. You are thinking that your child in "Time Out" is considering the error of her ways. She is, in fact, seething inside at the injustice you have heaped upon her. She may come out of "Time Out" a bit calmer, but I promise you that she is no wiser.)

Apart from this, the book is very good and makes clear explanations of the neuroscience behind children's development and how best to help your children grow up into happy and healthy individuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! This book is genius., 8 Jun. 2006
At last, an intelligent book about parenting and childhood that isn't written by a drivelling idiot or a fascist who hates children. This book is a blueprint for better understanding what is happening within your child's brain and for helping them to grow into a confident adult. Instead of promising 'control' over your child it aids understanding and helps a parent to see how they can support their child in their emotional development. The explanations are simple without being patronising and give a fascinating insight into human biology blowing apart many of the myths put out there by baby trainers and the like. I love this book and it is the first of its kind I do not want to consign to the bin! If you actually like your child and want to think for yourself rather than following someone elses receipe for living then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all parents & parents-to-be!, 5 Sept. 2006
By 
Mrs. K. Wakefield (Suffolk, England - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic! I just wish I had discovered this book before now.

A common sense guide to compassionate parenting. The scientific aspects of the book are clearly and simply explained without being patronising. As a mother of four children ranging from 20 years to 11 months, I felt that it gave me 'permission' to follow my instincts and love and cherish my children for being exactly who they are in the here and now.

Thank you so much Ms. Sunderland!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy for all parents looking for a direction, 18 Jan. 2008
Outstanding !!!. That is all I can say.

Certain suggestions in the book might seem difficult to act upon, but never impossible. A little bit of parental patience will make your child a confident and a responsible young man/woman. While going through the book you will realize how true each and every stated finding is.

It says about handling a small baby as well as toddlers. I would suggest this book to all new parents and to the parents who have some behavioural issues with their children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish this book was available back in 2003!, 8 Jan. 2009
This review is from: What Every Parent Needs to Know: The incredible effects of love, nurture and play on your child's development (Paperback)
I really wish I had read this book prior to having my first child. Unfortunately, the book had not been published when my first child was born.

This book confirms what I instinctively know is 'right'. However, I didn't dare voice my thoughts (or even practice them) when my first child was born because much of Margot Sunderland's advice in the book goes against what is considered as mainstream parenting practice. At least, where I live in.

For example, I have never felt comfortable with the idea of "controlled crying", whereby you leave your 1 month old baby alone in their cot, in their own room, to cry themselves to sleep. However, I was told at the time by someone was a great advocate of controlled crying, "I have never known a baby die from crying themselves to sleep". Nevermind. The book is now published and her advice is still very useful in other ways.

By the way, if you are a fan of a certain author who has written a book about routines and contented babies, you will probably not take to this book. You will probably be rather critical.
However, if you are into "attachment parenting", you will probably enjoy the read and agree with the views and reasoning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every parent should know what is in this book!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Every Parent Needs to Know: The incredible effects of love, nurture and play on your child's development (Paperback)
Ignore the negative reviews, EVERY parent needs to know whats in this book. This book will help ensure you don't have any regrets with your children. Even if you don't find it helpful to you (which you will) then at least you are aware of the facts.
I know It will help me show empathy and try and understand what's going on in my little one's heads so i can be an attentive and loving parent by trying to always put myself in their shoes. I loved it - so refreshing to hear scientific facts about what goes on in our bodies, rather than so called 'parent experts' (who don't even have kids, eg Gina Ford and Tracy Hogg) who set rigid rules and teach to train children like dogs which only benefit the parents, not the children. What we do with our children when they are young, effects them for life.
Just buy this book, if you have a heart, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A helpful guide to seeing your way through all the guff, 23 Aug. 2012
By 
L. Atkinson "boomerangski" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately there are so many so called 'baby experts' out there trying to foist their dodgy ideas on unsuspecting parents, often through the medium of midwives and health visitors, that we often DO need reminding that babies need to be responded to and loved and not left to cry, and it is helpful to understand WHY in order to see our way through all the baby 'training' methods and decide what is right for our child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars *** IDENTICAL BOOK***, 16 Jan. 2008
What Every Parent Needs to Know: The Incredible Effects of Love, Nurture and Play on Your Child's Development (Paperback

These two books are TOTALLY IDENTICAL despite having different titles, straplines and Amazon recommending you buy the two togeter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews