Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fair-ly Good Cookbook
I should declare at the outset that I have a recipe in this cookbook, but assure you that this has not influenced my opinion of the book (honest!).
The Fairtrade Foundation, who have published this item through Dorling Kindersley, ran a national competition to find simple but tasty recipes using as many fairtrade ingredients as possible; I was one of the lucky...
Published on 10 Mar 2008 by Ms. Katie J. Down

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
certainly better than the latest book however!
Published 29 days ago by jt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fair-ly Good Cookbook, 10 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook (Hardcover)
I should declare at the outset that I have a recipe in this cookbook, but assure you that this has not influenced my opinion of the book (honest!).
The Fairtrade Foundation, who have published this item through Dorling Kindersley, ran a national competition to find simple but tasty recipes using as many fairtrade ingredients as possible; I was one of the lucky winners selected for inclusion. This means that the recipes found here are accesible and not too 'chefy'. There are, however, contributions from the inevitable Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and Antony Worrall Thompson, as well as some from faitrade producers themselves and other supporters such as George Alagiah and Sir Steve Redgrave.

This is, as far as I'm aware, the first cookbook on the market soley to focus on fairtrade food. One hopes we are all, by now, aware of the importance of supporting farmers and workers who are paid fairly for their products - this cookbook provides plenty of inspiration of how to do so through day-to-day cooking. And whilst bananas, coffee and chocolate are the ingredients to have had the most publicity as fairtrade items, the book uses a huge variety of the products now available, from dried mango to mace (the book also includes a full list of this ever-increasing range).

I have rated the book as four stars primarily because there is a heavy bias towards sweet over savoury recipes (about 3:1) and there IS a chocolate and banana bias. But overall I recommend it to you as a beautifully produced, well-illustrated book full of 'do-able' recipes that will allow you to create delicious dishes with a clear conscience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely scrummy!, 21 Jun 2008
This review is from: The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook (Hardcover)
This book is excellent. I am fairly average at cooking and have enjoyed making a number of the recipes which are simplier than they first appear.
Because the recipes are mainly from "normal" people throughout the country (rather than chefs and cooking experts) they are not complicated and do not rely on odd ingredients that are difficult to come by.
The basis for the book is that we should be using (as far as possible) ingredients from the fairtrade scheme which is an excellent scheme providing growers/farmers light at the end of the tunnel. I'm not the best person to explain the fairtrade system obviously but basically the farmers are ensured a fair price for their produce ensuring that they (an their community) are not living in poverty. The book is a collection of recipes which include one or more fair trade product.
As the previous reviewer mentioned, the recipes lean heavily on bananas... that's not necesarily a bad thing and when you have tasted the Banana Choco Mocha cake you'll be so glad you bought the book!
The book has not only opened my eyes to new recipes but also the amount of fair trade products out there that you perhaps don't notice in the supermarket but will certainly start looking for!
I bought this book as a birthday present to myself and now I'm being forced to buy another since my sister (who's an excellent cook) "borrowed" mine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy Fairtrade!!!!, 7 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook (Hardcover)
Lovely recipies, nice pics!

All recipies tried so far have been lush!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook (Hardcover)
Now out of print , so glad to get it here. I love a cookbook that as you flick through you start to build up a list of recipes you want to try Cant wait to get started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cookbook is great.
It contains lots of different and unique recipes.
Love the recipe for Chocolate Beetroot fancies.
Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fairtrade recipes, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook (Hardcover)
Very informative about what fair trade is all about. The recipes are brilliant, try the 'takes the biscuit' its easy to make and is delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook (Hardcover)
I would recommend this for anyone!The recipes are simple and lovely. The service was great also, arrived in very good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Fairtrade everyday cookbook, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook (Hardcover)
Amazon service is very good.! My book arrived, as advertised "in good condition" nicely packaged and within the given postage time. The book itself has wonderful recipes with accessible ingredients. Altogether a very satisfying purchase in every respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - not sure about some of the recipes, 25 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook (Hardcover)
I really like the concept of this book and some of the recipes are really very good.

My one criticism is that I don't think it is the most well thought out and tested recipe book as I don't find it to be in any order that I can work out and one or two of the recipes just don't work (this could of course be due to my own cooking/following instruction skills).

Notwithstanding the above comment I really do like this book and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great practical and realistic recipes, 18 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook (Hardcover)
This book contains several fairly easy recipes, all of which utilise fair trade ingredients. Satisfying to the conscience and the tummy! Some nice recipes which I'd never normally think to make. Lots of desserts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook
The Fairtrade Everyday Cookbook by Sophie Grigson (Hardcover - 1 Feb 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews