Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Man Would be Proud
Writing the latest version of Michael Jackson's Malt Whisky Companion is akin to taking over the squad football shirt from a legendary footballer; you cannot possibly win in the eyes of his followers. Any yet winning isn't really the point; you know you will never replace the great man, you are aware of his permanent place in the hearts of millions, you continue to...
Published on 31 Mar 2010 by Dr. Pdm Barrow

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Its just not the same
You can tell Michael Jackson was not involved in this.It has over 100 pages more than the 4th edition and is a little larger so its too heavy. Its now printed in China and the graphics just did not have the quality. I do not think Michael would have been happpy with it as I was not. Its just not the same feel.I have ordered a copy of the 5th edition as that was him I...
Published 10 months ago by Johnny Norfolk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Man Would be Proud, 31 Mar 2010
By 
Dr. Pdm Barrow (Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition (Hardcover)
Writing the latest version of Michael Jackson's Malt Whisky Companion is akin to taking over the squad football shirt from a legendary footballer; you cannot possibly win in the eyes of his followers. Any yet winning isn't really the point; you know you will never replace the great man, you are aware of his permanent place in the hearts of millions, you continue to honour his memory and you move on. This is exactly what Dominic Roskrow, Gavin Smith and William Meyers have done. And how.

Roskrow et al have done a fabulous job. They have made it clear that this is still very much Jackson's book, two and a half years after his death. They have written each new review in the same spare but highly evocative language of the great man, whilst leaving much of his original material intact. Jackson's introductions and his section on his beloved Macallan are left largely as they are, although the book is updated for newer bottlings (e.g. the Fine Oak range). Out go the reviews for malts long since unavailable, and in come bang up-to-date bottlings, including selected Vatted Malts, Japanese, American and European single malts. Of course, some will quibble about the whiskies included and not included and of the marks accorded, used as we are to Jim Murray's rather top heavy scoring. How, though, in such a subjective and value-laden topic is this to be avoided? As good as his books are, Jim Murray all too often lapses into relative judgements which mean nothing to the reader. The latest edition of the Malt Whisky companion avoids this by sticking to crisp and clear absolute descriptions of each whisky.

The real question is whether anyone not aware of Jackson's death (and surely there can't be many) REALLY notice that this wasn't written by him? The answer, I suggest, is no. This is a must have for any whisky buff. Well done boys, the great man would be proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful to view and to handle, 4 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition (Hardcover)
The book in itself is a joy to hold and to flick through, even for those not interested in the content. Having said that, this is the definitive guide to malt whiskies and should be on the bookshelves of those who enjoy a quality tipple and want to find out more about the products. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Malt whisky must have information., 27 Dec 2013
By 
Vivek K. Sarawgi (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition (Hardcover)
A useful companion when you are out in the duty free shop trying to pick up couple of bottlers of Malt. It shows the less well known brands well and the description of the malts is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have you just found that you like good whisky? get this book., 27 May 2014
By 
Ga Molyneux "the meff" (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition (Hardcover)
Just got in to Whisky and wanted to know a bit more and this book does just that. Colour photographs and nicely illustrated and i found it very comprehensive.
From the grain to the distillery to the bottle to the tasting covers "everything".
Quality book.
Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable for a whisky lover, 13 April 2014
By 
J. A. WALKER (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition (Hardcover)
This is a practical book which one can consult or just enjoy browsing. I use it regularly whenever I feel I need a different whisky for my drinks cabinet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST WHISKY GUIDE BOOK, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition (Hardcover)
By far the best guide to whisky tasting. Very well presented and easy to read. Full of facts and recommend it to all whisky lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 11 Jan 2014
This review is from: Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition (Hardcover)
Bought as a Xmas present for a relative, did not put it down all Xmas. I'm taking that as a win and the book was that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars compact yet full of information, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition (Hardcover)
It is a handy guide to use when considering purchasing a different whisky. The scoring system takes a bit of getting used to but then gives a means of comparison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent ref book, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition (Hardcover)
this is a very informative reference and accurate in its descriptions. I found it a helpful guide when visiting Islay and Speyside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition (Hardcover)
Bought as a Christmas present for my son in law, who the year before I had introduced to the delights of Malt Whiskey. He was delighted with the book and in a short time has become somewhat more knowledgeable than me, a malt drinker of some 40 years standing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition
Malt Whisky Companion 6th Edition by Michael Jackson (Hardcover - 1 April 2010)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews