Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work with nature
A Slice of Organic Life

Edited by Sheherazade Goldsmith

You don't have to live in the countryside, spend a lot of money, vote Green or be a vegetarian to be just a little bit more aware of our fragile environment, and to do your bit to lead a lifestyle that is thoughtful and working with nature rather than against it - this is the message imparted in...
Published on 27 Jun 2008 by Julie Cook

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Only a place to start
The book has lots of ideas for being greener but doesn't really give you the tools to do it. For instance it suggests that you could keep hens - but you can't explain all the nuances of hen keeping in two pages. Goats and bees also get two pages. Good as a jumping off point but nothing more.I also found it rather consumerist. There was an implication at times that one...
Published on 26 Nov 2009 by S. L. C. Littlejohn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work with nature, 27 Jun 2008
By 
Julie Cook (Dunedin, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Slice of Organic Life: Get closer to the soil without going the whole hog (Hardcover)
A Slice of Organic Life

Edited by Sheherazade Goldsmith

You don't have to live in the countryside, spend a lot of money, vote Green or be a vegetarian to be just a little bit more aware of our fragile environment, and to do your bit to lead a lifestyle that is thoughtful and working with nature rather than against it - this is the message imparted in 352 pages of ideas and suggestions.

The title describes the book perfectly - "slices" of organic life. You can take from the book what suits you - as many slices as you can handle, and there is always the opportunity to return and take another slice when you can manage it. It is beautifully illustrated with photography by Peter Anderson with subjects to suit someone living in an apartment through to those on a small lifestyle property or small holding.

I thought I would list a few of my favourite slices but I can't single any out - instead I ponder on which idea I will set in motion to change a daily habit that I know will ultimate simplify and enrich my life and that of my family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to the subject, 8 Feb 2008
By 
A. Richards "Green bean" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Slice of Organic Life: Get closer to the soil without going the whole hog (Hardcover)
This beautifully illustrated volume brings together a whole host of tips and ideas to help to change your lifestyle without becoming overwhelming. You can dip into it at leisure and easily find projects to try out as the book is helpfully divided into sections for people who have no garden, a very small garden area, or a large garden or access to an allotment.

Excellent book - I definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fab book!, 11 Oct 2007
By 
annaoj (Vienne, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Slice of Organic Life: Get closer to the soil without going the whole hog (Hardcover)
I only got this today and I've browsed through it cover to cover... it's very inspiring and really makes you think about the environment. It's full of little projects whether you have a big garden to no garden at all! My first projects are to get a wormery and a water butt, followed by creating a small veg garden.

It even shows you how to keep chickens, goats, pigs and cows!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book - projects a plenty!, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Slice of Organic Life: Get closer to the soil without going the whole hog (Hardcover)
I love this book although I don't think my partner does - we now have worms, chickens, chemical free toiletries (expensive!), organic veg boxes and I clean everything with vinegar haha! Can totally relate to the author that as a mother you become conscious of your environment, the food you eat and the products you use. Some of these projects are easier than others but definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Only a place to start, 26 Nov 2009
By 
S. L. C. Littlejohn "Catrin" (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Slice of Organic Life: Get closer to the soil without going the whole hog (Hardcover)
The book has lots of ideas for being greener but doesn't really give you the tools to do it. For instance it suggests that you could keep hens - but you can't explain all the nuances of hen keeping in two pages. Goats and bees also get two pages. Good as a jumping off point but nothing more.I also found it rather consumerist. There was an implication at times that one might buy one's way into greeness, when in fact most of the time it's the opposite that we all need to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Slice of Organic Life: Get closer to the soil without going the whole hog (Hardcover)
just what ive been looking for, very informative it tells you everything you need to know about going organic, HAPPY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Life, 15 Jun 2010
This review is from: A Slice of Organic Life: Get closer to the soil without going the whole hog (Hardcover)
Great book, loads of inspiring ideas and good pictures. Makes all sorts of things completely possible for pretty much anyone. Printed on lovely paper.
Thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good place to start your organic life, 27 July 2009
By 
emma bowyer (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Slice of Organic Life: Get closer to the soil without going the whole hog (Hardcover)
this is good source of information, i wish there was more on eco cleaning/beatuy products as that is the information i am looking for. i love the way the book is sectioned up. over all a helpful book that i keep picking up to have a look through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really inspiring, 19 Jun 2007
By 
K. V. Trotter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Slice of Organic Life: Get closer to the soil without going the whole hog (Hardcover)
This book is full of really cool ways to become a little greener. It is clear with loads of pictures and has left me totally inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Slice of Organic Life: Get closer to the soil without going the whole hog
A Slice of Organic Life: Get closer to the soil without going the whole hog by Sheherazade Goldsmith (Hardcover - 7 Jun 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews