Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 19 Oct 2006
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pick Me Up - Stuff You Need To Know... (Hardcover)
Gone are the days of boring, cumbersome, and, ultimately, not all that helpful encyclopedias. The new king of interesting resource information is here, and it's called PICK ME UP. Everything you've ever wanted to know about just about anything (and maybe even some stuff you didn't even know you wanted to know!) is included in the 300+ pages of this book.

Although there are eight actual categories included in PICK ME UP--Science, Technolgy, and Space; Society, Places, and Beliefs; History; The Natural World; People Who Made the World; Arts, Entertainment, and Media; You and Your Body; Planet Earth--this book is actually hard to categorize. There are numerous ways to find the information you need, from browsing one of the aforementioned categories, to cross-referencing individual pages, to using the index, or simply picking a page at random to begin your quest for knowledge.

For instance, did you know that Albert Einstein's brain was actually different in width and shape than those of us who claim to be not-so-smart geniuses? It's true! Or how about the fact that the Vikings were expert ice-skaters? Or even that a "jamon" is an entire leg of ham--the best of which comes from a pig who has been fed nothing but acorns. Seriously, I'm not making any of this up! It's all there, right in the pages of PICK ME UP.

Amazingly enough, my nearly ten-year-old son, who usually has to be tied to a chair and threatened with having his video games taken away to even look at a book, found plenty to hold his interest within the pages of PICK ME UP. Sure, he seemed to have a knack for finding the weirdest and grossest facts inside the book, but to me this was still considered an
accomplishment. Take my word for it--PICK ME UP is the reference king, and you'd do well to add a copy to your home library. Who knows? You just might learn something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'PIck Me Up' - exciting new reading experience, 27 Oct 2006
This review is from: Pick Me Up - Stuff You Need To Know... (Hardcover)
An encyclopedia but not as we know it - 'Pick Me Up' practically jumps off the shelf at you. Ultra-cool design, exciting visuals and a ton of fascinating facts are guaranteed to keep any child - or adult, for that matter - engrossed for hours (it certainly filled a few gaping holes in my own general knowledge - and I'm 35!) Everything about this encyclopedia breaks new ground - the way the content is arranged and related thematically is pure genius, and makes for an entirely different reading experience every time you pick the book up (the two children I read it with likened it to 'going on a quest'...)

A resounding thumbs-up - has the makings of a modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful collection of random knowledge, 4 Nov 2006
By 
David Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pick Me Up - Stuff You Need To Know... (Hardcover)
The perfect present for every teenager with an enquiring mind - and the grown-ups around them. You can open this book at any page and find a visually engaging, fun, knowlegeable and stimulating spread of facts, illustrations, observations and thoughts. Literally unputdownable, you might have to buy two copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars captivating, 4 Feb 2009
By 
A. Gill (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
bought this after reading reviews though with a little anxiety as to how well a 10yo would like it. Need not have worried - she finds it fascinating and easy to dip in and out of. Only problem is that it is a heavy paperback which makes reading it whilst lying in bed a bit tricky but otherwise highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive, Interesting and brilliant, 3 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Pick Me Up - Stuff You Need To Know... (Hardcover)
I can dip into this book at any time, and no matter how many times i look thorugh it, there is always something that i havent read yet!

It is so colourful and the layouts are simply fantastic. It really draws you in!

I have learnt so much from it including that vending machines in japan dispense single pages of newspapers, the smalles thing in the world is the quark and the average life expwctancy in swaziland is 33.

Theres something for everyone, with sections on: society places and beliefs, the natural world, history, your body and many more!

Go on, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winner of the English Association's Key Stage 2 Non-Fiction Award 2007, 17 April 2007
By 
H. Lucas (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pick Me Up - Stuff You Need To Know... (Hardcover)
I'm information for the iPod generation - this is certainly true of this eye-catching and innovative encyclopaedia through which the reader navigates as if at a computer screen. The philosophical underpinning seems to be that everything connects, so readers are directed to linking topics in different parts of the book. There are copious interesting and unsettling questions - such as 'Can you imagine a world without printed words?' And then there is the kind of miscellaneous information that young readers love to come across when browsing - how many people use the internet? what are the most dangerous kinds of litter to humans and animals?

This book is visually exciting - much learning is communicated through the vast variety of illustrations: drawings, maps, diagrams, cartoons, photographs and charts. The dramatic 3-D effect front cover ensures that this is abook that will be picked up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes finding out about something completely random, totally interesting..., 14 May 2009
By 
B. Green (Birmingham, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The beauty of flicking to any page in this book is wonderful. There is something informative, often quirky and comically interesting throughout. All at the same time presented in a way it keeps you glued... in quick, short snippets and big bright and colourful graphs, images, facts and piecharts. A must. Children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pick Me Up - Stuff You Need To Know... (Hardcover)
Really interesting, both to adults as well as children. Well illustrated and a good read. Shame it isn't in print anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jump inside you will get lost in this encyclopedia, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pick Me Up - Stuff You Need To Know... (Hardcover)
I'm an encyclopedia, and it sure is. you can read just about anything with links to other pages. hardcover book, worth the price. Kept everyone quiet reading through and even found out things we didnt know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant!, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pick Me Up - Stuff You Need To Know... (Hardcover)
My children love this book, interesting, informative and an easy read :-) would recommend it for anyone with young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pick Me Up - Stuff You Need To Know...
Pick Me Up - Stuff You Need To Know... by Jeremy Leslie (Hardcover - 5 Oct 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews