Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a beginner, buy it!
I am currently living in Switzerland and decided I would like to try to learn to ski. So this past season I had some lessons with instructors from the official Swiss Ski School. I bought this book in the hope that I could use it as a reminder, during the off season, of what I had learned.

Honestly I was amazed. Everything described in the book and shown on the...
Published on 15 Jun 2009 by Kevin Painter

versus
37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings
I have mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand, it has many step by step full colour illustrations and a DVD showing how to ski which brings the subject to life.

On the other hand, the book is too ambitious and attempts too much, starting from absolute beginners (eg what clothes skiers need) to freestyle jumps and skiing on large bumps. Trying to...
Published on 13 April 2007 by Honest Dude


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a beginner, buy it!, 15 Jun 2009
By 
Kevin Painter (Berlin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go Ski (Paperback)
I am currently living in Switzerland and decided I would like to try to learn to ski. So this past season I had some lessons with instructors from the official Swiss Ski School. I bought this book in the hope that I could use it as a reminder, during the off season, of what I had learned.

Honestly I was amazed. Everything described in the book and shown on the DVD, was exactly the same as I had been taught in my lessons. It's a complex activity and not easy to describe or illustrate. I'm not sure any book or DVD can really substitute for a real coach, but as an introduction for a beginner, or as a refresher to a novice, I think this book is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings, 13 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Ski (Paperback)
I have mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand, it has many step by step full colour illustrations and a DVD showing how to ski which brings the subject to life.

On the other hand, the book is too ambitious and attempts too much, starting from absolute beginners (eg what clothes skiers need) to freestyle jumps and skiing on large bumps. Trying to cover so much in a relatively small book means not enough detail to each aspect of the skiing. To illustrate this, the book is about 150 pages long, (not including the index). Yet it is not until page 50 that the book explains how to actually put on the skis. Clearly much space is given to beginner's matters which many intermediate skiers will not need. To properly cover all this material needs a longer book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well presented but just not enough detail, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Ski (Paperback)
I read the book and looked forward to watching the DVD to get the detail, but when I watched the DVD I didn't find it there either. This book and DVD are very well presented and I really like the format, but each topic is covered too superficially. I didn't want a book with pages of text going in to the minutiae of skiing technique but this is far too high level to be useful. The descriptions for key techniques are too brief and what is presented is not always clear. It might be asking too much for a book to be able to teach you to ski but there's no reason why a book can't be written as a good companion for ski lessons. Unfortunately this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Go Ski by Warren Smith, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Ski (Paperback)
I would recommend to any first time skiier who is having lessons, or before having lessons. It has lovely photographic illustrations to make the point. It demonstrates the basic skills in skiing. Very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book with great DVD, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Ski (Paperback)
Good little book, very basic though, so not much good if you want to know how to perfect your carve turns etc. DVD is fantastic. I'm new to skiing and I enjoyed watching how to ski properly before trying things out on the slope myself. Goes from talking about the correct equipment, to fitness, snow plough turns, parallel turns, carving and much much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars go ski, 3 Jun 2011
By 
B. Davis (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go Ski (Paperback)
GREAT BOOK AND VIDEO, LOADS OF TIPS FOR BOTH THE NOVIS SKIER AND THE ADVANCED SKIER WELL WORTH THE MONEY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a lot in one small book, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Ski (Paperback)
this trys to cover a lot from cover to cover - each section and pictures are easy to understand backed up with the DVD - but for me leaps from one extreme to the other - but its aimed at a large audience and there is something for every level
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book and DVD, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Go Ski (Paperback)
This is an excellent book to read prior to a ski trip to gain some knowledge of the techniques required. The accompanying DVD also demonstrates the techniques. Last year it helped me improve my skiing and I have just been reviewing it again for this years trip.

Its mainly aimed at beginners but does have very useful information for intermediate and advanced skiers who should maybe just refresh their memories prior to a trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go Ski, 22 Nov 2009
This review is from: Go Ski (Paperback)
I brought this on recommendation from my ski instructor, the book and DVD are extremely useful to all, advanced or beginner. The book is easy to follow and the dvd shows this in practice. It has definately helped me learn to ski.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pam M, 6 Jan 2010
By 
P. J. Maitland "PM1" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go Ski (Paperback)
This book and DVD are very good for all those who wish to learn to ski and also for those intermediate skiers who need to brush up on the essential drills for improving technique. Great pictures and demonstrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Go Ski
Go Ski by Warren Smith (Paperback - 2 Nov 2006)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews