Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2004
This book is an excellent 1 stop manual for all the essential first aid techniques valuable to anyone. Essential for the home or work but don't just leave it on the shelf. encourage all the family to read and become familier with its contents.
Well written with pictures and diagrams.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
Brought this for my son he loves first aid !!! he loves it and its a good price. Came quickly which is always good.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2002
This is a comprehensive manual covering a wide range of subjects. It is well laid out book with easy to find sections. For families with children it is a must as it covers topics such as meningitis.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2008
This book is an absolute must for anyone with an interest in first aid or who is considering ambulance work. It contains a comprehensive guide to immediate first aid. It is considered the bible among those who practice first aid. Of course a basic first aid course with a qualified instructor is a must for everyone, this book will provide you with a good reference guide.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2007
Why this manual?
Because it is created by a collaboration of the UK's premier providers of first aid so you know your getting the best advice possible. Also teamed up with Dorling Kindersley having the reputation of being one of the worlds leading publishers of illustrated books make this manual the most accessible and easiest to use with the highest quality images and text and easy to follow step by step guides what more could you possibly want from a first aid manual.

Over the years I have seen many first aid manuals, however none of them have impressed me as consistently as this, quite simply this is the only manual I trust. Everything you need to know plus a little more make this a must have book that every home and business should not be without.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
I had a copy of an older edition at home in another country, and I used to read it as a kid because I was very interested in first aid. I decided to purchase a copy now that I'm in the UK as a student, and it came in incredibly handy twice. My musician friend scalded her finger quite badly and the pastoral carer was about to put ointment on it and an adhesive bandage, two things that could aggravate a scald. Another friend, who has quite severe allergies, went into anaphylactic shock after ingesting an allergen. This book helped save her life.

You never know when accidents happen, and having knowledge of first aid could stabilise a condition or save a life. Highly recommended to all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
A well explained & illustrated guide to basic first aid. It reinforced the first aid knowledge we already had thus creating confidence to help at an acident etc if asked to help.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
Have read a few similar books, and this one is definitely the best one I've read. Easy to understand and with clear pictures. I think everyone should have a copy at home.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2004
This is the official text for first aiders in the UK. It is quite well laid out, with plenty of graphic (but not gory!) illustrations of interventions and is easy-to-understand. As a Registered First Aid Instructor/Examiner I find the previous edition to have been better. For starters it was clearer on the management of the unconscious spinally injured casualty, whereas a bit of exegesis is required with this text to arrive at pretty much the same conclusion as the 7th edition (but just more subtly put - a purposefully grey area perhaps?). There are other flaws. Some of the graphics don't correlate with best practice, and the same can be said about the text in places. However, this is no fault of the book itself, which is a must-have for First Aiders as it reflects the official line on approaches and interventions. Flawed yet indispensable, with plenty of food for critical thought!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
Handy little book, easy to follow instructions and good illustrations. Good to keep with the first aid kit for reference.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.37

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)