Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational...
I am a keen amateur photographer of many years standing and the majority of the books that I buy are purely "technical" in the sense of with new to me software, "Classroom in a Book..." or a major upgrade on something I'm familiar with such as Photoshop, I rarely buy "concept books" a Scott Kelby walk through with his dreadful sense of humour is the closest I get to...
Published on 15 April 2009 by J. Haynes

versus
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but for pros
this book stated that it was to better your skills and as as i read the other comments i bought it. unfortunately it is based on computer programms touching up photos and is far to advanced to "better skills" . its like a behind the scenes of a professional - which yes, he is admitedly; but the point is its is far too intec for people who just want to better their photo...
Published on 10 Dec 2010 by SP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More about "why to" than "how to", 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: Digital Photography Masterclass: Advanced Photographic and Image-manipulation Techniques for Creating Perfect Pictures (Hardcover)
I've found this a really useful book that makes you really consider how you improve your photography and different techniques you can use. I'm an amateur and regularly read a photography magazine which is good for technical explanations of how to do things, so I wasn't looking for that from this book. This book makes you thinks about why you might want to use a certain technique and shows examples of photos you can get using different techniques. For example the section on exposure showed a very over exposed picture taken on a beach which brought out the colours in th shadows. This is not something I'd considered doing but made me appreciate that photography doesn't have to just aim to recreate the scene as you see it with your eyes.

I've not got as far as the section on photoshop and image manipulation, but from what I've read so far I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONLY how to do it book YOU will need, 12 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Photography Masterclass: Advanced Photographic and Image-manipulation Techniques for Creating Perfect Pictures (Hardcover)
This book is the NUTZ as an old pix taker, if you want to be bored do not buy this book.
I was amazed as it really got me off the couch and taking pix again, with enthusiasm, some doing!
I used to sell cameras and also books, but nothing I sold is this good, IF YOU DONT BUY IT at least steal it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterclass, 9 Feb 2009
By 
A. Agnew (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Photography Masterclass: Advanced Photographic and Image-manipulation Techniques for Creating Perfect Pictures (Hardcover)
An excellent book with easy to follow assignments and well written articles on every aspect of photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I ever read, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Photography Masterclass: Advanced Photographic and Image-manipulation Techniques for Creating Perfect Pictures (Hardcover)
From all the books, this is one of the most important for me. the techniques are easy to get and with amazing results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real worth, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Photography Masterclass: Advanced Photographic and Image-manipulation Techniques for Creating Perfect Pictures (Hardcover)
I took out a library book on same subject same author it was ten years old, so I bought this edition its really full of current information, I would recommend this book to any aspiring SLR photographer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Photography Masterclass, 31 Aug 2013
By 
G. D. Pelling "glencando" (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Photography Masterclass: Advanced Photographic and Image-manipulation Techniques for Creating Perfect Pictures (Hardcover)
This book has proved to been a very good purchase, the content structure has been expertly put together by a photo master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot to take in - maybe too much!, 19 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first sight this appears to be the ideal photography book, packed with lots of lovely colour photos but the more you read the more you are swamped with information overload. There is a lot in here and probably too much if you try to read it cover to cover. On the other hand there is also too little detail with only a few pages for topics like portraits, landscapes and sports It is more useful as a reference book to dip into for a particular topic. It certainly isn't for beginners as even the pages at the beginning cover shutter speeds and depth of field without explaining clearly how choice of ISO, shutter speed and aperture can affect the end result. However I did like the inclusion of assignment for you to try at the end of each chapter and the sample photographs are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Photography, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Photography Masterclass: Advanced Photographic and Image-manipulation Techniques for Creating Perfect Pictures (Hardcover)
This was bought as a present, and is great value for money, I would reccomend this to others as it is easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased with this book, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Photography Masterclass: Advanced Photographic and Image-manipulation Techniques for Creating Perfect Pictures (Hardcover)
This is another copy of a book I already have - great price and prompt delivery - I am very pleased with this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Photography Book, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Photography Masterclass: Advanced Photographic and Image-manipulation Techniques for Creating Perfect Pictures (Hardcover)
The book arrived and was well wrapped, it was on time, the book itself is well worth the money. would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ce67c00)

This product

Only search this product's reviews