Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, appetising and attractive
This allergy free cookbook is a must for anyone with family or friends wiht allergies. The recipes are delicious and all are marked with handy symbols indicating the relevant allergy it suits (nut free, dairy free, gluten free, egg free) and many recipes have varients ie the dairy and non-dairy version.
It includes helpful advice on entertaining people with...
Published on 26 Mar 2008 by J. Geller

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I'd been led to believe
This is a beautifully presented cookbook. It has plenty of information about allergies and various ingredients at the start, and the recipes at first glance look wonderful. However, the way the recipes are written is the same as a lot of these books - with the use of (sometimes unhelpful) substitutions for various allergies. For example:

The chocolate layer...
Published on 8 Feb 2010 by Betty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, appetising and attractive, 26 Mar 2008
By 
J. Geller "Judy Geller" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allergy-Free Cookbook (Hardcover)
This allergy free cookbook is a must for anyone with family or friends wiht allergies. The recipes are delicious and all are marked with handy symbols indicating the relevant allergy it suits (nut free, dairy free, gluten free, egg free) and many recipes have varients ie the dairy and non-dairy version.
It includes helpful advice on entertaining people with allergies and for school age mums it has great advice on arranging birthday parties or how to work with schools and other mums so your child can be safely included in social activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Allergy-Free Cookbook, 7 Jan 2008
By 
C. Wake-walker "kate ww" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allergy-Free Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is an excellent find. I have several friends with children who have allergies and the recipies I have tried were all super and really worked. Beautifully presented and photographed and clear instructions. Very good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Allergy Free Cookbook, 14 Oct 2008
By 
H. Fielder (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allergy-Free Cookbook (Hardcover)
The Allergy-free Cookbook
I throroughly recommend this book to anyone who has family or friends with a food allergy. As the mother of a child with severe egg and nut allergies, I have delighted in finding a book with delicious recipes that can be cooked for the whole family to enjoy. People are truly amazed when they hear the cakes are egg free. The chocolate cake is a must and my daughter now regularly asks to make the fairy cakes. Dorling Kindersley have published it in a highly presentable fashion. Thank you Alice Sherwood for making cooking fun and safe again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine cookery book, 24 Jan 2008
By 
Lucy Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allergy-Free Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is first and foremost a very good cookery book. The recipes are new, beautifully presented, well photographed and really work. It is a good mixture of sensible basic recipes, often with a subtle twist, and new and interesting ideas. It is then also a very good book for providing for the many people one knows who have allergies, intolerances and even dislikes. The substitutions really work, and the results are really delicious. The poor allergic guest need no longer be given something dull on the side - here are real food ideas that everyone can eat, and intolerance 'prescriptions' that can be easily applied to your every day cooking.

This is a very useful book to have on your shelves.

The rhubarb sorbet is fabulous, and loved by my rhubarb despising child!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I'd been led to believe, 8 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allergy-Free Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully presented cookbook. It has plenty of information about allergies and various ingredients at the start, and the recipes at first glance look wonderful. However, the way the recipes are written is the same as a lot of these books - with the use of (sometimes unhelpful) substitutions for various allergies. For example:

The chocolate layer cake. The bog standard recipe is written as dairy, egg and nut free. The cake looks delicious. However this version of the recipe requires the use of wheat flour to work. There is a seperate gluten-free version of the same cake, however this cake requires SIX eggs to work! So if you have wheat/gluten and egg allergies, the recipe is unsuitable.

Unfortunately the rest of the book is very similar. And having experimented with combining elements of the dairy free recipes with the gluten free recipes, I've found they just don't work. It's a shame, because the book is written with multiple food allergy sufferers in mind, but the reality is that this book really hasn't been of any help to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic guide to surviving allergies with no hocus pocus and chocolate cake too!, 11 Aug 2008
By 
F. Anderson "fionafiona" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allergy-Free Cookbook (Hardcover)
Wow! I'm 33 and have been severely allergic to milk nuts fish and seafood for the whole of my life, and to eggs for 28 years. This is the book I should have written if only I had this lady's talent. Gorgeous pictures, lovely recipes, and a vast introductory section with refreshing, up to date practical advice on how to live with allergies. Absolutely no crystal hugging "aura field" nonsense. Absolutely no hint of "diets" and "find your intolerances" rubbish. Indispensible for those with real food problems and a bit of eye opener for those who need to know, including teachers nurses and professionals who deal with children everyday. Buy it for your local school, yourself, and everyone you know who is remotely affected by food allergy. Then bake the allergic people a chocolate cake and watch them cry with joy because they've never been able to eat one before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lazy alternatives for dairy allergies, 18 Aug 2010
This review is from: Allergy-Free Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought this some time ago when trying to devise a menu for my dairy and egg allergic child. What a waste of money. The dairy free alternatives given generally suggest the soya alternative, eg soya milk or soya cheese. Well, soya milk is OK to cook with, but not great, and goes particularly grainy when frozen. But the dishes that involve cheese (and there are a lot of them) simply suggest a soya cheese replacement. Anyone who has tried soya cheese will know that this is no alternative at all - most are pretty foul, and even those that are vaguely palatable don't cook in the same way as normal cheese.

I was hoping for some interesting new recipes - if its just a case of using normal recipes and substituting a (disgusting) soya alternative, well, dur, why do I need this book? Don't bother...

If you want baking alternatives for dairy/egg allergies, check out the many good vegan cookbooks available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissappointing for coeliacs!, 11 Jan 2010
This review is from: Allergy-Free Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought this book in the hope that it would be useful for my coeliac son who now has to give up eggs and dairy too - not an uncommon set of allergies! Unfortunately, the gluten free versions are too often - 'substitute gluten free flour - it won't be as good' which is not very useful, and the egg free versions often add in dairy, which is completely useless. It's otherwise an attractive and well-laid out cookery book - it just doesn't suit my son's diet.
For any coeliacs who haven't seen it, I would warmly recommend Healthy Gluten-free Eating: In Association with Coeliac UK (Healthy Eating)- sadly less useful now we have to get rid of eggs and dairy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very useful book, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Jane Fox (Bedfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allergy-Free Cookbook (Hardcover)
New to the world of food intolerances, and facing a long list of foods that were now off the menu for my young daughter, I ordered this book. It has been very useful as the recipes can be tailored to suit your specific needs. I found it is easy to follow and there are a wide variety of recipes with many colourful photos of the dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad muffins, 20 Nov 2010
By 
James L (Northants, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Allergy-Free Cookbook (Hardcover)
Disappointing. I have a fair few GF cookbooks so know that Gluten-free cooking can be a lot better than this. The muffin recipe is a case in point. End result was dry, tasteless muffins that were the worst I have ever made. I even remembered to add the butter which is something that the author seems to forget about halfway through the recipe.

In GF cooking the key is to try and capture the taste and moistness of wheat-based alternatives... something the recipes here fail to do.

That and the lack of proof-reading of the recipes is why I suggest you avoid this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Allergy-Free Cookbook
Allergy-Free Cookbook by Alice Sherwood (Hardcover - 5 July 2007)
Used & New from: £6.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews