Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous concept well done
This is a fantastic way to learn Italian vocabulary. Instead of a tedious list of words, the clear and colourful pictures really bring the words to life and definitely aid the learning process. I am a graduate in Italian language, a fluent speaker for over 20 years, and yet this book has really helped me consolidate vocabulary on anything from the names of all the tools...
Published on 30 Dec 2008 by H Raz

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks great, but not really a dictionary
The layout is just as all of DK's books; looks great and does contain an amazing number of words for its size. I can't fault the layout at all, but as a new Italian learner, I needed a dictionary and thought this looked good for beginners, but it's a phrase/vocab book and not a dictionary.
For improving your vocab by subject area it's great, but for looking up words...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous concept well done, 30 Dec 2008
By 
H Raz (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Italian-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic way to learn Italian vocabulary. Instead of a tedious list of words, the clear and colourful pictures really bring the words to life and definitely aid the learning process. I am a graduate in Italian language, a fluent speaker for over 20 years, and yet this book has really helped me consolidate vocabulary on anything from the names of all the tools in my toolbox (I can never remember these well in Italian) to the names of different professions, different foods, clothing and architectural terminologies - it's filled in all the gaps when I normally say: come si dice? My wife is a beginner in Italian and we have both found it to be very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful and reliable book, 24 Nov 2009
This review is from: Italian-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
We are an Italian family and we bought this visual dictionary last summer, when we had an aupair English girl looking after our children. This book was absolutely great for everyday communication. It's very reliable and precise and up to date. It contains an amazing amount of words, basically everything you could think of! Besides, it's just the right size and can be easily carried everywhere. We used it a lot, the kids loved it and they learned a lot from it. Obviously it's a visual dictionary so you will not find any grammar rules or verb tenses, but it's great for everyday communication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks great, but not really a dictionary, 16 Feb 2011
By 
G (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Italian-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
The layout is just as all of DK's books; looks great and does contain an amazing number of words for its size. I can't fault the layout at all, but as a new Italian learner, I needed a dictionary and thought this looked good for beginners, but it's a phrase/vocab book and not a dictionary.
For improving your vocab by subject area it's great, but for looking up words quickly, it's a bit awkward. It has a comprehensive index at the back, but if it's a dictionary you need this might not be your best place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastico!, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This is a simply great addition to your language learning library! Really, its a reference and vocabulary book presented in an incredibly fresh and accessible format. The quality is great and the images are super clear and bold. To the critics I think they are not using this book correctly or appreciating its uses and limits. I use this book as a way to expand my vocabulary in a pleasurable way, often browsing it in bed at night, on the train or when I skype with Italian friends to practice with. It really is a fun way to learn new words or revise those you know, as well as very obscure words that you will eventually have to learn, therefore useful both to the novice and more advanced student. There is something just innately fun and amusing about seeing an animal/fruit/rock/shape as a picture instead of just a boring word that helps you to remember it. For the price it is great value and will remain an important and relevant addition to my library for many years to come. Its not a dictionary in the typical sense of the word, this is true, but it has a clear picture under which is the name in both English and Italian, the chapters divided not alphabetically as a normal dictionary but rather in themed units which I found very useful, such as appearance, study, health or transport units. At the back is a super handy reference section that highlights some useful and common areas, such as telling the time, numbers, lists of countries and calendar. perfectly designed to my mind. Bravo book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Picture perfect, 6 Jun 2010
By 
H. Gray (Stockport UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Italian-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This dictionary may be short on words compared with the traditional style, but its picture presentation makes it a pleasure to browse through. Items that could cause problems on a trip away, such as car engines or parts of the body, are displayed clearly and diagramatically, making it a useful visual aid to the lingustically challenged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This book is an excellent aid to learning about everyday goings on when in Italy. We have found it simple to use and informative. Would recommend this to anyone who wants to learn more than just the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 1 April 2013
By 
M. Searle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Brilliant. It really does help in linking the language with the objects.
Used in combination with other language packs this dictionary is a real boon!
It's inexpensive, handy sized, clear and well laid out-just wish I'd had books like this when I was at school!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A picture is worth......., 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
I have just started to learn Italian and I find it easy to memorise words by linking them to pictures.in this respect "Visual Italian" is very helpful, but sometimes uses different vocabulary to other sources, examples include; "living room","elbow" and "laptop". It is surprisingly comprehensive on describing body parts in ways which would have been inconceivable 30 years ago.

It is inexpensive and would recommend it together with the Usborne first thousand words as an excellent starting pointfor learning a new language.

Because I am a harsh marker, I gave it four stars, whereas I suspect others might give it a five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very illustrative!, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This little dictionary helped me when I moved to Italy, it uses images to describe objects then of course gives you the Italian word for that same object. Very visual indeed with excellent colour images, an absolute must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exellent for visual learners, but it's not a usual dictionary., 16 Feb 2012
This review is from: Italian-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Although it states dictionary, this is not a usual dictionary. But, i love this book as it makes learning the name for objects interesting as DK books are always very colourful and structured well. I love to spend time just flicking through the pages hopefully picking up some of the Italian words. Great for children or visual learners, like myself, who find learning languages difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Italian-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews