Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
An Excellent source of information, and pictures, at every stage of pregnancy. Advice on "what you may experience and why" is clearly laid out. A real must for expectant mums and dads to be.
Published on 29 Nov 2000

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but there are far better books
I wasn't very impressed by this book - if you're looking for a general book then the Pregnancy Bible (written by a team of experts), which I bought at the same time, is much better and more detailed.

In addition, this book annoyed me sometimes, e.g. rather than having the baby's week-by-week development, here it's month-by-month. Plus there's a certain amount...
Published on 22 Aug 2006 by Anna


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but there are far better books, 22 Aug 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conception Pregnancy & Birth (Hardcover)
I wasn't very impressed by this book - if you're looking for a general book then the Pregnancy Bible (written by a team of experts), which I bought at the same time, is much better and more detailed.

In addition, this book annoyed me sometimes, e.g. rather than having the baby's week-by-week development, here it's month-by-month. Plus there's a certain amount of self-advertising (I'm sure she's wonderful, whoever she is, but that's not why I bought the book). And at the beginning a slightly strange suggestion that pregnant women should be eating liver -- everything else I've read says you shouldn't!

Basically, it's OK but why buy it when others are so much better?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK to start with but not detailed enough, 24 Aug 2006
By 
F. Green "avid reader" (stratford upon avon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conception Pregnancy & Birth (Hardcover)
I found this book a little bit lacking details. It mentions none of the common symptoms of pregnancy, like bleeding during pregnancy or the early pains felt during implanation. Consulting this book for the symptoms I suffered was not useful at all.

It doesn't really look at variances in pregnancy at all, like weight loss instead of weight gain.

Not a great purchase really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Give this one a miss, 18 Jun 2006
This review is from: Conception Pregnancy & Birth (Hardcover)
If you are looking for a good pregnancy guide give this one a miss. If you want an example of why check out the chapter on "Food and Eating in Pregnancy". It sets such a high standard of vigilance, time and effort that most women who lead busy modern lives (in fact any woman who doesn't have an in-house chef and nutritionist) are bound to "fail" Dr Miriam's strict rules. It's a theme that continues throughout the book. I would look out for something that takes a more common sense, practical and balanced approach to modern pregnancy. This book only serves to make you feel stressed, guilty and inadequate and for no good reason. Good Luck. A good sensible book on this topic is hard to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars too basic and a bit dated..., 13 Nov 2007
This review is from: Conception Pregnancy & Birth (Hardcover)
I didn't really like this book too much. Like the others have already said, it's a bit basic. Plus, there is some very strange advice in it, which sounds dated and/or scientifically rather dubious - e.g., that playing loud rock music somehow agitates the baby in the womb...and that you should stick to classical, or some such....er? Some of the stuff about diet is also very OTT - like the advice to completely avoid sausages or cured meats because of their high nitrite/nitrate (can't remember which) content ... Sure, if you eat this stuff every day your baby isn't going to thank you but once in a while will not hurt providing you take all necessary steps to avoid listeria/ toxoplasmosis. Maybe I am just super-picky , but this sort of mildly fanatical approach made me question the whole book. There are better ones out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
An Excellent source of information, and pictures, at every stage of pregnancy. Advice on "what you may experience and why" is clearly laid out. A real must for expectant mums and dads to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars less of a medical bias than some, 19 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Conception Pregnancy & Birth (Hardcover)
I liked this book - I also looked at the Lesley Regan one, but found this had better coverage of natural birth options - the Regan one has just one page on homebirth. This book gives more even coverage of options. I agree with other reviewers though that the editors updating it missed some points - there is also conflicting advice on eating peanuts, and I found the nutrition chapters unnecessarily complicated. But I'm still giving it 4 stars because generally I liked the layout and content, and it had a positive and holistic approach. For those who are more inclined to a hospital birth, you would probably find the Regan one more comprehensive and helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advice and guidance from day one of your pregnancy, 12 Aug 2000
Miriam Stoppard takes you from the first thought of planning a family through to the happy event of birth with clear and factual advice for every step. This book will help and assist you every day, answering your questions and keeping you informed of just what is happening to your body. The book starts its guidance from the first thought of starting a family through worries of conception, possible problems, signs to watch out for, health advice, what is happening to your body and how your baby is developing. The advice is clear, concise and puts you at ease during the most stressful time of a womans life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 May 2004
By A Customer
I found this book very useful. I particularyl liked referring to the month by month progress pages which show what you baby looks like and what is happening to you both inside and out. There are lots of case studies which are interesting to read.
I also enjoyed referring to the "what to pack" for hospital section and pain relief section as well as familiarising myself with the different stages of labour.
All in all a great book that I used with both my pregnancies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i needed!!, 10 July 2008
By 
H. Briggs (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conception Pregnancy & Birth (Hardcover)
I can honestly say i found this book invaluable during my pregnancy!
Ignore the other reviews, it has all the details you need and i didn't find another book more helpful without enormous amounts of pointless writing. Plus i loved the pictures of a bump growing bigger during each stage through out the book - it helps you realise you do look normal after all lol. Great buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well laid out but could be more detailed, 20 Feb 2001
By A Customer
Whilst this book is well laid out, friendly and easy to read, it is a little light on detail. For example only cursory mention is made of different methods of childbirth. Basically its a superficially better laid out (inc. pictures) version of the book you get from the NHS. Better to spend your money on attending some NCT classes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conception Pregnancy & Birth
Conception Pregnancy & Birth by Miriam Stoppard (Hardcover - 13 April 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews