Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real food made easy!
I bought this for my son and daughter aged 8 and 11. They have several cookbooks but this is by far the best. Each step of each recipe is clearly illustrated, and everything is so well laid out that the children can understand and DO everything themselves. So far we've had lamb kebabs with couscous (delicious), some very moreish cheese and potato pasties, strawberry...
Published on 15 Jan 2006 by alex's mum

versus
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great cookbook for all!
I bought this for my children (8 and 11) for Xmas as they love baking but wanted to cook more "grown-up" food. Since then they've made several recipes from the book, most have been great with no hitches (the pesto toasts are amazing!).

Some areas of the book are, however, slightly confusing and for this reason I am rating the book 3 stars. For instance,...
Published on 21 Feb 2009 by soundproofme


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real food made easy!, 15 Jan 2006
By 
alex's mum (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Children's Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought this for my son and daughter aged 8 and 11. They have several cookbooks but this is by far the best. Each step of each recipe is clearly illustrated, and everything is so well laid out that the children can understand and DO everything themselves. So far we've had lamb kebabs with couscous (delicious), some very moreish cheese and potato pasties, strawberry shortbread and a chocolate cake any chef would be proud of. I'd recommend this to anyone wanting to get a cookery book for a child, and the recipes are so up to date and delicious that it could even grace the bookshelf of any adult just beginning to cook for themselves (and their mates!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for Adult Pre-Entry/ Basic Skills Cookery, 12 Jan 2006
This review is from: Children's Cookbook (Hardcover)
This book is really well laid out for adults who struggle with literacy, as well as children. The pictures are very clear (including itemised pictures of ingredients) and the recipes are well explained. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, tasty recipes, 20 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Children's Cookbook (Hardcover)
This a fantastic introduction to cooking for kids. The instructions are clear and easy to follow with helpful illustrations at every stage.

Every recipe we've tried so far has worked perfectly. We have already made Cheese and potato pasties (addictive), Barbecue chicken (delicious) and the Chocolate cake (truly divine!)

A great way to spend time with the kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cookbook, 7 Dec 2007
This review is from: Children's Cookbook (Hardcover)
A truly excellent cookbook. the step by step pictures at the bottom of each page really help children to understand what to do. perfect for children of any age. this book is especially good as a child who has little reading skill will easily be able to follow the recipe with little guidence due to the pictures. the recipes in the book are fantastic and i would recommend it to anybody looking for a cookbook not only for children but for adults looking for simple recipes with simple instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it quit good, 3 Oct 2009
By 
C. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Children's Cookbook (Hardcover)
i am 11 and love cooking this book was nice and easy good instructions
with things in you would never thought you could cook
i love it
charlotte :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for children wanting to cook with little supervision, 19 Jan 2013
By 
Chris Baker "Chris B" (Witney, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Children's Cookbook (Hardcover)
We got this book for my daughter who is 9 and wants to cook independently. the problem for this age group is to find real cooking they can safely do for themselves and will produce something no one has to pretend too hard to be enjoying. The difficulty is to find recipes that are ambitious enough, but not too hard.
This book is good in every way:
The recipes are things that children (and grown ups) are actually likely to want to eat
The food is mostly fairly healthy to eat, but not to the extent that most kids wouldn't want to eat it
The instructions are good and clear, and easy for a child to read
More hazardous steps ( slicing, heat sources) are labelled, so you can tell your child to get help for those.
It covers a good range of foods and cooking techniques; master these and you'd be we'll on the way to coping with grown-up books
The illustrations are good- important for child cooks who may not be able to visualise what the end result will be.
Preparation times are typically fairly short, practical for an impatient child (or busy accompanying adult).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 28 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Children's Cookbook (Hardcover)
Grace age 7 says - "lots of poeple should buy it because it's got lots of very interesting recipes and I really like the pictures and children can make them really easily and they are delicious".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great cookbook for all!, 21 Feb 2009
This review is from: Children's Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought this for my children (8 and 11) for Xmas as they love baking but wanted to cook more "grown-up" food. Since then they've made several recipes from the book, most have been great with no hitches (the pesto toasts are amazing!).

Some areas of the book are, however, slightly confusing and for this reason I am rating the book 3 stars. For instance, chocolate cookies - my son made these recently and, as per the picture, wanted to make the both varieties shown. However, it's not until you have completed all steps of the recipe that you realise it is only for the double chocolate variety. If you want to make the other variety, it tells you how to do this In a "recipe idea" bubble. My son didn't notice this, and neither did I, until he'd completed the whole recipe! Also, strawberry shortbreads - the recipe in pictures only takes you to the stage of preparing the strawberries and taking the shortbreads out of the oven. It doesn't show in pictures how to get to the finished article. This is shown in a "serving tip" bubble above the recipe itself. What also annoyed me is that the book tells you at the start of the recipe to pre-heat the oven, but in step 3 tells you to chill the dough for 15 minutes - so your oven sat heating for a good 20-25 minutes unnecessarily.

These are only little negative points - I guess it teaches me and my kids to read through every single detail before starting cooking! Overall, this is a great little cookbook and I recommend it to kids and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for children, 17 May 2010
By 
AHE (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Children's Cookbook (Hardcover)
Absolutely delicious cakes and biscuits appear whenever this book is opened!
This is a must for every STUDENT leaving home and cooking for the first time - delicious, easy meals for all occasions (obviously they need the bravado to have a so-called children's book on their shelf - but when their friends see and taste the results, they'll want one too!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another five star review., 14 Oct 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Children's Cookbook (Hardcover)
Yes, this is one of them. Amazing book, great quality, colourful pictures, easy-to-follow instructions resulting in excellent, mouth-watering and healthy food.
Our personal favourite is breakfast omelette and baked potatoes.

"The Children's Cookbook" is gracing a shelf in my library for all to see - although, more often than not, it is open on one of the pages of the delicious recipes. It's being utilised to its full potential.

Wholeheartedly recommended. For kids (older kids) and adults to cook together or separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Children's Cookbook
Children's Cookbook by Katharine Ibbs (Hardcover - 7 Oct 2004)
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews