Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book from beginners to intermediates
This is the first book I bought on Bonsai, and I refer to this book everytime I have the need. Good, clear definitions and helpful diagrams provide the basis towards understanding the Art of Bonsai.
Includes Botanical, Common Names, the different cultivation methods (ie sun,watering,pruning etc).. Well done, Harry Tomlinson..
Published on 10 July 1999

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very light on technical information
This book is great if you're looking for a list of many types of tree you can use for a bonsai. If you are looking for detailed information about the process of creating a bonsai and caring for one, you should look elsewhere. I was frustrated by the vagueness of the instructions in this book. What time of year is best to prune and why? Where can and can't you cut a...
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by Vauxhall Hoosier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just an encyclopaedia, 18 Jun 2009
Having started my interest in Bonsai a few months ago I have been trying to aquire as much information as possible for this fascinating and relaxing hobby. After reading a few books and searching the internet I find myself wishing I came across this book earlier. It is simply a stunning read and highly informative without the possible boredom that can come from a reference book. Whether you choose to read the book from begining to end or dip into it as required you will find everything you need to know about bonsai here. A well structured and thought out guide with wonderful images which will drive your ambition and interest in Bonsai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Bonsai (Paperback)
Full of helpful hints for beginners. I would recommend this book, small enough to take along when shopping for Bonsai
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a begginer, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Bonsai (Paperback)
My only issue with this book was the level of simplicity, personally I was looking for a more detailed publication.
Apart form that no issues the product was delivered in goof condition on time of no problem with the supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfaction, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Bonsai (Paperback)
The book is a handy little reference that answers many of my questions about bonsai.
It doesn't answer all my questions, answers questions I don't have, and by nature is brief so would not be my bonsai bible
but it is certainly a good book to have if you're playing with bonsai as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bonsia tips, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Bonsai (Paperback)
my bonsia was looking really sad and so i purchased the book and a few tips later its looking very happy thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great place to start., 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Bonsai (Paperback)
This little book covers a whole bunch of topics, in some good detail in places. For a complete novice like myself, it provides a shallow foundation of knowledge in the art of Bonsai --a brilliant starting place for further research for the real enthusiast, or just enough knowledge to "give it a go" for the casual explorer.

It's full of pictures of amazing trees, and very easy to skim / flick through. Step by step how-to's are accompanied by photos at most steps, and very easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short but Sweet, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Bonsai (Paperback)
Not as detailed as I would have liked and covers Bonsai only at a very generic level. I would have like more details about which types of plant go with which soil types and when to re-pot them etc. Still, it does over some good tips, not sure if there is a 101 'essential' ones though. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Bonsai (Paperback)
Bought for my Grandson and he finds the tips very helpful...He is a novice with this so would recomment this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book to buy if theres anything you need to know on how to prune, fix, a bonsai tree. lots of informations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bonsai care, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Essential Tips: Bonsai (Paperback)
full of info has plenty of info for a small book very easy to read and under stand i would recommend this book to anyone thinking of taking up bonsai before you start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

101 Essential Tips: Bonsai
101 Essential Tips: Bonsai by Harry Tomlinson (Paperback - 4 Dec 2003)
4.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews