Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start your own breeze-block collection
This massive tome runs the risk of overwhelming even the most gardening-friendly reader because it's just so bleeping BIG. There is no chance whatsoever of anyone wandering the countryside carrying this in their knapsack unless they are on some kind of SAS training regimen. On the other hand, it does what it does brilliantly. My rather more green-fingered partner and I...
Published on 4 Jan 2004 by Dr Frazer Anderson

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Photos are excellent.
This book is great if you are looking for a 'picture' of a particular shrub, flower or tree. But in terms of actually giving planting advice, its not a book to invest in. I was under the impression that this book would at least show, for example , the bulbs of Dahlias and how they should be progratrated, the correct usage of fertilizers for certain plants, when to prune...
Published on 27 Mar 2006


Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start your own breeze-block collection, 4 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Royal Horticultural Society New Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers (Hardcover)
This massive tome runs the risk of overwhelming even the most gardening-friendly reader because it's just so bleeping BIG. There is no chance whatsoever of anyone wandering the countryside carrying this in their knapsack unless they are on some kind of SAS training regimen. On the other hand, it does what it does brilliantly. My rather more green-fingered partner and I spent a happy few hours trying to come up with a plant-related query which it couldn't answer - and failed. The content is stunning enough but the indexing is superb; you can find your way to what you want surprisingly easily. It's difficult to see how this book could have been improved upon; until we finally reach the days of hand-held, fully integrated, works-anywhere computer technology it is equally unlikely to be superseded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Photos are excellent., 27 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Royal Horticultural Society New Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers (Hardcover)
This book is great if you are looking for a 'picture' of a particular shrub, flower or tree. But in terms of actually giving planting advice, its not a book to invest in. I was under the impression that this book would at least show, for example , the bulbs of Dahlias and how they should be progratrated, the correct usage of fertilizers for certain plants, when to prune trees, plants..etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 17 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Royal Horticultural Society New Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers (Hardcover)
Well worth the wait, the book is full of delightful pictures and down to earth knowledgable tips and instructions on every plant you could think of. We have only had the book a short while, but it is becoming an invaluable sorce of information to us everyday! Excellent for beginners in gardening! Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every gardeners reference, 4 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Royal Horticultural Society New Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers (Hardcover)
What ever your looking for in your garden, this will explain, give tips and guidance. Well laid out, and easy to see what the plants are for, whether for clay, sand .. or whatever your location. An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 7 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Royal Horticultural Society New Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers (Hardcover)
Loads of coloured pictures and a "must have" for anyone consdiering planting schemes - I find this book extremely helpful, not to mention inspirational
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every gardeners reference, 4 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Royal Horticultural Society New Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers (Hardcover)
What ever your looking for in your garden, this will explain, give tips and guidance. Well laid out, and easy to see what the plants are for, whether for clay, sand .. or whatever your location. An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Gardeners reference book., 27 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. JEAN WISS-ROGERS (Nottingham/UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royal Horticultural Society New Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers (Hardcover)
This is an amazing and inspiring book for any gardener.You can spend hours just looking at the various
sections on trees, shrubs, flowers, bulbs etc; etc; with all the information you need to position the plant
look after it well. I have used the original for years to good effect,but my copy had become damaged
and somewhat 'dog-eared' I had the opportunity to purchase this new edition at a very competitive price
This is a top quality book. . full of information in straightforward format and beautifully illustrated throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Novice with Green Fingers., 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royal Horticultural Society New Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers (Hardcover)
My fingers are getting greener thanks to this fabulous book. I was afraid it would be too "technical" and specialist for me as I'm a true beginner in gardening, having just retired - but this gives me exactly what I need to learn and develop - and the overwhelming volume of information it gives will last me a lifetime...

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The RHS Encyclopedia of Plants & Flowers, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Gavin Barlow (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Royal Horticultural Society New Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers (Hardcover)
I've been meaning to get hold of a copy of this book for years .
Now I have & I am not disappointed . A wonderful reference book . An essential for any Gardener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Royal Horticultural Society New Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers
The Royal Horticultural Society New Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers by Christopher Brickell (Hardcover - 6 Mar 2003)
Used & New from: 9.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews