Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Earth
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2008
This is a wonderful book to have around the house, excellent illustrations (photographs and diagrams) and great to mull over with your kids.

But BE WARNED: This book comes in several editions - hard back, paper back and compact. The cover picture is the same on each edition, price and availability vary considerably. Be sure you are buying the one you really want (our home DK collection now has the full size Ocean and Animal titles but a rather diminutive looking "compact" Earth). Don't spoil your enjoyment of this highly rated book by accidentally picking up the wrong edition.
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2003
What impresses most about this book is not so much the encyclopaedic coverage of all things natural, but the superb presentation which frankly surpasses anything Microsoft can put on a DVD. I thought I had seen most of the world's best natural photography, but there are many superb new shots in this book and the accompanying texts are concise and to the point. A real revelation, particularly if, like me, you grew up with the bone dry text books of the 1970s. If I had to criticise, I would say that it's an imposing book physically, which makes it slightly awkward to sit down and read comfortably for more than half an hour or so. Other than that, well worth the price.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2007
A typical DK book. Written in an unfussy manner that's easy to read and full of stunning colour photos and illustrations. It's the sort of book that should be on everybody's bookshelf to dip into at regular intervals or when a you need a general reference book on geography, geology and the history of this little bit of rock we call home.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2003
I have just received my copy of this book and am simply amazed by the content. It covers everything from our place in the Universe to specific examples of a rock type.
This book is worth the price simply for the stunning photographs, full marks to the picture editor!
This book will provide hours of pleasure to anyone remotely interested in our wonderful planet.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2003
When I was young I had a book called "50 facts about the earth" and found it fascinating. Earth answers all those childhood questions of the wonders of the world. It guides you through every imaginable effect of nature, from cloud formation to erupting volcanoes.
Being from DK, the imagery and illustrations (it uses a combination of photographs and diagrams) are outstanding, and the accompanying information is both in-depth, informative yet simple and easy to absorb.
This book makes a great reference book to have on the shelf or would be a superb gift for anyone interested in our world.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2004
Just fantastic-because of the awesome photographs and clear layout it is accessible to kids and laypeople, yet it has enough depth to keep most adults occupied for a long time.To be honest, the only qualification you need to enjoy this book is a sense of wonder about nature.That's all.For the price it's an absolute steal.I've bought loads of books off Amazon and i would say this is the purchase i'm most happy about.If you read this book you will have enough knowledge to be able to have a conversation about any of the problems affecting our planet right now, and it could also fire up a renewed appreciation of our planet's fragile beauty.Given the problems of peak oil, global warming, deforestation, and pollution, the more people who read this the better.Its the next best thing to actually visiting these places in person, which isn't possible for most people.If you have a child, get them this book.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2004
A fantastic book, with incredible photographs. It covers everything about the Earth, from its place in space through the oceans, the atmosphere, the land and human geography. All explained in simple terms with diagrams for more complex topics.
A book i'd recommend to anyone interested in geography or who is studying geography at any level GCSE, A-Level, Degree. For the price the book is excellent value for money I would have paid twice the amount for it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2005
This is a visually stunning book as well as being extremely informative. As always, Dorling Kindersley has produced a book that is well laid out and easy to navigate and, best of all, is fun to read. There is something to appeal to everyone, from the casual reader to the student wishing to know more about this ball of rock we call home. Covering topics from the highest mountains to the deepest oceans and from the driest deserts to the rainforests of the world, this is a book you will never get bored with. Worth every penny and more.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2008
This excellent book gives you all you need to know about the earth in all its many facets. It is an excellent companion to its stablemate Animal.The book is divided into 5 parts with many subdivisions ,these parts are a)planet earth b)land c)ocean d)atmosphere and e)tectonic earth. All parts are well written and the illustrations very good. Abook to be highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
All the superlatives given by other reviewers are spot on. It continues DK's line of excellent popular Visual Guides, like Universe,Human: The Definitive Guide to Our Species and Animal among others.

I've ordered a used copy of the 2003 hardcover edition, and its simply stunning. It's hard to put down. The quality of the glossy paper and the vivid pictures still hasn't faded a bit after 12 years, and its hard to compete with the wealth of information and the way it's presented.

Pay attention to the fact that there a a few editions and also a compact one, with the Hardcover edition being a massive one both in size and weight.

With a 1p price tag for many used copies of the older editions, it may be considered as an insult to say it's worth every penny, so I'll just conclude with a warm recommendation.

The format is such that allows both adults and children to enjoy.

Contains the following sections:
PLANET EARTH
LAND
OCEAN
ATMOSPHERE
TECTONIC EARTH
each divided to smaller chapters.
Also available are TOC, Glossary and Index.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)