Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gret Book - Check Edition Before Purchase
This is a wonderful book to have around the house, excellent illustrations (photographs and diagrams) and great to mull over with your kids.

But BE WARNED: This book comes in several editions - hard back, paper back and compact. The cover picture is the same on each edition, price and availability vary considerably. Be sure you are buying the one you really...
Published on 6 Aug. 2008 by M. Cann

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Earth
I had to buy this book for an environmental science course i was doing last year. The pictures in this book are amazing but the text is very basic, making it more of a coffee table book than an educational resource. You could probably read the entire book cover to cover in less than 90 minutes.
Published on 14 Aug. 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gret Book - Check Edition Before Purchase, 6 Aug. 2008
By 
M. Cann (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book to have around the house, excellent illustrations (photographs and diagrams) and great to mull over with your kids.

But BE WARNED: This book comes in several editions - hard back, paper back and compact. The cover picture is the same on each edition, price and availability vary considerably. Be sure you are buying the one you really want (our home DK collection now has the full size Ocean and Animal titles but a rather diminutive looking "compact" Earth). Don't spoil your enjoyment of this highly rated book by accidentally picking up the wrong edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stupendous compendium of human knowledge, 7 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Earth (Hardcover)
What impresses most about this book is not so much the encyclopaedic coverage of all things natural, but the superb presentation which frankly surpasses anything Microsoft can put on a DVD. I thought I had seen most of the world's best natural photography, but there are many superb new shots in this book and the accompanying texts are concise and to the point. A real revelation, particularly if, like me, you grew up with the bone dry text books of the 1970s. If I had to criticise, I would say that it's an imposing book physically, which makes it slightly awkward to sit down and read comfortably for more than half an hour or so. Other than that, well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 15 Feb. 2007
By 
Bob Singleton (West Molesey, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth: Compact Edition (Hardcover)
A typical DK book. Written in an unfussy manner that's easy to read and full of stunning colour photos and illustrations. It's the sort of book that should be on everybody's bookshelf to dip into at regular intervals or when a you need a general reference book on geography, geology and the history of this little bit of rock we call home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply STUNNING !, 16 Dec. 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth (Hardcover)
I have just received my copy of this book and am simply amazed by the content. It covers everything from our place in the Universe to specific examples of a rock type.
This book is worth the price simply for the stunning photographs, full marks to the picture editor!
This book will provide hours of pleasure to anyone remotely interested in our wonderful planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A whole world of information, 13 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Earth (Hardcover)
When I was young I had a book called "50 facts about the earth" and found it fascinating. Earth answers all those childhood questions of the wonders of the world. It guides you through every imaginable effect of nature, from cloud formation to erupting volcanoes.
Being from DK, the imagery and illustrations (it uses a combination of photographs and diagrams) are outstanding, and the accompanying information is both in-depth, informative yet simple and easy to absorb.
This book makes a great reference book to have on the shelf or would be a superb gift for anyone interested in our world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply marvellous, 27 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Earth (Hardcover)
Just fantastic-because of the awesome photographs and clear layout it is accessible to kids and laypeople, yet it has enough depth to keep most adults occupied for a long time.To be honest, the only qualification you need to enjoy this book is a sense of wonder about nature.That's all.For the price it's an absolute steal.I've bought loads of books off Amazon and i would say this is the purchase i'm most happy about.If you read this book you will have enough knowledge to be able to have a conversation about any of the problems affecting our planet right now, and it could also fire up a renewed appreciation of our planet's fragile beauty.Given the problems of peak oil, global warming, deforestation, and pollution, the more people who read this the better.Its the next best thing to actually visiting these places in person, which isn't possible for most people.If you have a child, get them this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Anyone Interested in Geography, 6 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Earth (Hardcover)
A fantastic book, with incredible photographs. It covers everything about the Earth, from its place in space through the oceans, the atmosphere, the land and human geography. All explained in simple terms with diagrams for more complex topics.
A book i'd recommend to anyone interested in geography or who is studying geography at any level GCSE, A-Level, Degree. For the price the book is excellent value for money I would have paid twice the amount for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual feast, 11 April 2005
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earth (Hardcover)
This is a visually stunning book as well as being extremely informative. As always, Dorling Kindersley has produced a book that is well laid out and easy to navigate and, best of all, is fun to read. There is something to appeal to everyone, from the casual reader to the student wishing to know more about this ball of rock we call home. Covering topics from the highest mountains to the deepest oceans and from the driest deserts to the rainforests of the world, this is a book you will never get bored with. Worth every penny and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars earth, 17 Aug. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth (Paperback)
This excellent book gives you all you need to know about the earth in all its many facets. It is an excellent companion to its stablemate Animal.The book is divided into 5 parts with many subdivisions ,these parts are a)planet earth b)land c)ocean d)atmosphere and e)tectonic earth. All parts are well written and the illustrations very good. Abook to be highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great publication in DK's Visual Guides series, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth (Hardcover)
All the superlatives given by other reviewers are spot on. It continues DK's line of excellent popular Visual Guides, like Universe, Human: The Definitive Guide to Our Species and Animal among others.

I've ordered a used copy of the 2003 hardcover edition, and its simply stunning. It's hard to put down. The quality of the glossy paper and the vivid pictures still hasn't faded a bit after 12 years, and its hard to compete with the wealth of information and the way it's presented.

Pay attention to the fact that there a a few editions and also a compact one, with the Hardcover edition being a massive one both in size and weight.

With a 1p price tag for many used copies of the older editions, it may be considered as an insult to say it's worth every penny, so I'll just conclude with a warm recommendation.

The format is such that allows both adults and children to enjoy.

Contains the following sections:
PLANET EARTH
LAND
OCEAN
ATMOSPHERE
TECTONIC EARTH
each divided to smaller chapters.
Also available are TOC, Glossary and Index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Earth
Earth by John Farndon (Hardcover - 2 Oct. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews