Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, colourful, all-round introduction to astrology!
For anyone starting out, this is an excellent general introduction to the whole of astrology. All things considered it is also probably the best. Over 15 years ago, a very similar volume by the Parkers was one of the books from which I learnt the basics of astrology. Their style is accessible, imaginative, and not too heavy. Their latest offering in late 2003 is first...
Published on 13 April 2004 by Tim Burness

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intense and for the advanced
I thought this book would just be a fun book on your sign and stuff but this is a HUGE thick book intended for someone who wants to begin their knowledge of astrology. It's HUGE and it's COMPLICATED. Don't buy this if you are just wanting a nice, fun little book about all the signs. This book will teach you how to calculate charts and all kinds of symbolism and...
Published on 5 Sep 2012 by Kayla


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, colourful, all-round introduction to astrology!, 13 April 2004
By 
Tim Burness (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Parkers' Astrology: New Edition (Paperback)
For anyone starting out, this is an excellent general introduction to the whole of astrology. All things considered it is also probably the best. Over 15 years ago, a very similar volume by the Parkers was one of the books from which I learnt the basics of astrology. Their style is accessible, imaginative, and not too heavy. Their latest offering in late 2003 is first class.
Whether you are interested in basic Sun sign characteristics, basic chart interpretation, prediction techniques, relationship or re-location astrology, its all here. The book is divided into five sections, which includes detailed tables for drawing up charts. Beginners should not be put off by the long section on the complexities of chart calculation, even though this is useful information. It is of course very easy to get a copy of your natal chart done by computer, and start from there.
The often beautiful illustrations and pictures add considerably to the quality information in Parkers Astrology. It certainly makes the process of learning astrology easier on the eye! I recommend this book for the beginner, perhaps together with one of the more "serious" introductions, such as The Classic Guide To Astrology by Ron Davison or "Chart Interpretation Handbook" by Stephen Arroyo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful introduction to astrology, 28 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Parkers' Astrology: New Edition (Paperback)
An old saying goes: Aim for the moon, at least if you miss you'll land inthe stars. The world has a fascination with astrology and if you'reinterested in venturing beyond the daily horoscope column in yourfavourite magazine/newspaper to find out more this interesting field"Parkers' Astology" is definitely worth the read.
As a beginner in the area of astrology this book was recommended to me asa good staring point. And I can see why. The beautiful illustrations bringthe ideas in the text to life and often clear up anything that is not atfirst obvious. The text is well written and concise, and in a style thatis accessable to both the beginner and anyone who has some experience withastrology. The authors touch on a number of topics in astrology and thereis a useful bibliography so that you can further your own studies. I wasvery pleased to note that the authors also encourage the reader toquestion the information presented to them and to go and find out more -not just to accept things at face value.
The section on chart calculations I found a bit daunting and rushed inparts and often had to take a break or come back to something that Ididn't understand. It is by no means impossible though and many computerprogrammes are able to generate charts for you. The idea is that youunderstand the principles.
I continue to enjoy using this book and it is an excellent doorway intothe field of astrology. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A handbook for life, 14 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Parkers' Astrology: New Edition (Paperback)
If you have an interest in learning the mechanics of astrology this book is for you. Whether you want to train to become a professional or just the tools to draw and interpret birthcharts for family and friends, you will find Parkers' Astrology indispensible.
It is written simply enough for the complete beginner to easily get to grips with the complexities of astrology. Yet it also contains such detailed information that the experienced practitioner will refer to it regularly.
For in depth interpretation, you will want other books but this is the clearest explanation of the techniques that you can find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, colourful, all-round introduction to astrology, 24 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Parkers' Astrology (Paperback)
For anyone starting out, this is an excellent general introduction to the whole of astrology. Some 15 years ago, a very similar volume by the Parkers was one of the books from which I learnt the basics of astrology. Their style is accessible, imaginative, and not too heavy.
Whether you are interested in basic Sun sign characteristics, basic chart interpretation, prediction techniques, or which sign rules mulberries and bilberries (Sagittarius apparently!), its all here. The book is divided into four sections, which includes detailed tables for drawing up charts. Beginners should not be put off by the long section on the complexities of chart calculation, even though this is useful information. It is of course very easy to get a copy of your natal chart done by computer, and start from there.
The often beautiful illustrations and pictures add considerably to the quality information in Parkers Astrology. It certainly makes the process of learning astrology easier on the eye! I recommend this book for the beginner, perhaps together with one of the more "serious" introductions, such as The Classic Guide To Astrology by Ron Davison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the most comprehensive book ever for beginers, 27 Nov 2000
This review is from: Parkers' Astrology (Paperback)
This is the most comprehensive book ever for beginers. I have read this book a thousand times and still keep going back to it again and again. The user has to make sense of the chart using intuition for the chart they have produced. but the explinations of all planets in House and Aspect are extreamly well written Thumbs up for this Book,Worth every pennie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great introduction and source book, 21 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parkers' Astrology (Hardcover)
Although to some extent an introductory text on astrology the scope of this book is wide covering many of the techniques used by modern practioners of it, from harmonics and astrorelocation to midpoints. Of course it doesn't include everything,though what is particularly good is that it has a fair sized ephemeris reaching back to 1920 and forwards well into the 2000's(so you can see where the planets are on a particular day).I think their section on aspects and transits between the planets is better done elsewhere and as with other astrology books all astrologers have their own views on the subject and this one is no different in that respect - for me, for instance, they overplay the importance of harmonic charts and downplay other things like the influence of asteroids, retrograde planets and eclipses. All in all though vey useful and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parkers Astro, 27 Sep 2011
An excellent book it's worth having just for the artwork apart from all the info very pleased with the item arrived in good condition thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astrology, 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: Parkers' Astrology (Hardcover)
This is the first Astrology book I have ever read, the quality of information, pictures and the way that the book is written is superb
As a beginner in studying Astrology I have found so far that this book offers the right amount of information.
Parkers' Astrology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for the budding astrologer., 2 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parkers' Astrology (Hardcover)
I'm writing a book about an astrologer. I know nothing about the principals of the subject at all so I asked an astrologer what would be the best book to get. I need to know every aspect of the subject. She put me onto this book. I looked through it and find it's used by practicing astrologers because it holds information they need to practice their art over years. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wishing to learn the subject properly; it's facinating. Maybe I'll get hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars learn how to do astrology, 11 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Parkers' Astrology (Paperback)
this is a really good book for people who want to take astrology a little bit further and learn how to make birth chart, and about the signs. it incluses a ephipheris and every thing you need to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parkers' Astrology: New Edition
Parkers' Astrology: New Edition by Derek Parker (Paperback - 6 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews