Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


431 of 434 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsettling Echoes of Josef K
If '1984' or 'The Trial' had been a children's book, Mr Messy would be it. No literary character has ever been so fully and categorically obliterated by the forces of social control. Hargreaves may well pay homage to Kafka and Orwell in this work, but he also goes beyond them.

We meet Mr Messy - a man whose entire day-to-day existence is the undiluted...
Published on 28 Feb 2010 by Hamilton Richardson

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Identity theft made children's book
How disappointing - why should mr messy not be messy? I was hoping all along for him to win through in the end, but he never did.
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

431 of 434 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsettling Echoes of Josef K, 28 Feb 2010
If '1984' or 'The Trial' had been a children's book, Mr Messy would be it. No literary character has ever been so fully and categorically obliterated by the forces of social control. Hargreaves may well pay homage to Kafka and Orwell in this work, but he also goes beyond them.

We meet Mr Messy - a man whose entire day-to-day existence is the undiluted expression of his individuality. His very untidiness is a metaphor for his blissful and unselfconscious disregard for the Social Order. Yes, there are times when he himself is a victim of this individuality - as when he trips over a brush he has left on his garden path - but he goes through life with a smile on his face.

That is, until a chance meeting with Mr Neat and Mr Tidy - the archetypal men in suits. They set about a merciless programme of social engineering and indoctrination that we are left in no doubt is in flagrant violation of his free will. 'But I like being messy' he protests as they anonymize both his home and his person with their relentless cleaning activity, a symbolism thinly veiled.

This process is so thorough that by the end of it he is unrecognizable - a homogenized pink blob, no longer truly himself (that vibrant Pollock-like scribble of before). He smiles the smile of a brainwashed automaton, blandly accepting what he has been given no agency to question or refuse. It is in this very smile that the sheer horror of what we have seen to occur is at its most acute.

Somewhere behind this blank expression though is a latent anger - a trace of self-knowledge as to what he once was - in the barbed observation he makes to Neat and Tidy that they have even deprived him of his name.

The book ends with a dry reminder from Hargreaves that just as with the secret police in some totalitarian regime, our own small expressions of uniqueness and volition may also result in a visit from these sinister suited agents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic!, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Mel (West Midlands, uk) - See all my reviews
A great stocking filler for a very messy man to remind him that I wouldn't have it any other way as most immaculate houses I know are very dull!! As with most of the Mr. Men books it's a kid's story with a grown-up moral. I love the Mr. Men library & bought Mr. Tickle as well. How can you grow out of these books?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
pleased with book and service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really great, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first ever one I read 38 years ago and got it for Christmas for my daughter. She liked it very much and asked when Mr Neat and Mr Tidy are coming to our house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My kids loved this book never seems to date. Great stocking filler for all ages, now they want the whole set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture book, 30 Nov 2012
I borrowed this to check out the share function on prime and am delighted I chose this one to borrow. Brought back fond memories and made me smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read to Your Child to Improve Bonding and Intellect!, 20 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mr. Messy (Hardcover)
Researchers constantly find that reading to children is valuable in a variety of ways, not least of which are instilling a love of reading and improved reading skills. With better parent-child bonding from reading, your child will also be more emotionally secure and able to relate better to others. Intellectual performance will expand as well. Spending time together watching television fails as a substitute.
To help other parents apply this advice, as a parent of four I consulted an expert, our youngest child, and asked her to share with me her favorite books that were read to her as a young child. Mr. Messy was one of her picks.
Mr. Messy really is aptly named. He lived in a messy looking house with peeling paint, broken windows, a garden gate falling off its hinges, uncut grass, random items all over the house along with an unmade bed, and a broom that he tripped on in the garden. In fact, he was so messy, he bothered my daughter. As a result, she did something that she usually did not do . . . she got her crayons out and began making things look better.
Then Mr. Messy went for a walk and found the neatest cottage he had ever seen. Outside were Mr. Clean and Mr. Neat who were tidying things up. They asked Mr. Messy if they could help him. Mr. Messy agreed, and they quickly cleaned up the outside. Then they cleaned up the inside. Then, they realized that Mr. Messy needed work, too, and they cleaned him up also. After that, Mr. Messy said that 'I'm going to have to change my name!' All three became best of friends.
For years, whenever our daughter's room would start to get messy, we would ask her if she wanted a visit from Mr. Neat and Mr. Clean. She would laugh and start picking things up.
This is a good book for helping your child learn good tidiness habits, because the consequences of the alternative become obvious in a particularly humorous way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gaenor Osian and angharad, 14 Nov 2014
Love it. My children aged 6 and 3 loved this as much as I did when I read this at their age.. Hasn't aged!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Jun 2009
Mr Men are one of the few franchises that started out with the intention to educate and entertain and not sell cheap and tacky merchandise like so many do on children's TV these days. (if there are toys, these came out MANY years after the original series was made, and the other way round)

This classic library with the old series characters is pure joy, no politically correct doctrine, no overt preaching (think He-Man & the masters of the universe cartoon of the 80's) - the Mr Men will have your little ones glued to the screen as my children are.

Brilliantly simple - Simply Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely bed time book, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Messy (Mr. Men Classic Library) (Paperback)
Classic, charming story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Messy (Mr. Men Classic Library)
Mr. Messy (Mr. Men Classic Library) by Roger Hargreaves (Paperback - 8 May 2014)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews