Customer Reviews


351 Reviews
5 star:
 (294)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good building ideas book for Minecraft fans
I bought this for my son who is a huge minecraft fan.
I have played the game a bit myself, but I'm far from an expert on it.

He's very pleased with the book it's given him some wonderful ideals for buidlings to create in his world.
The book is printed on nice quality paper, and with clear pictures, good print quality throughout (as you would expect...
Published 12 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic but good gift for those just getting into Minecraft
Bought as a gift for a 10 year old. Nice looking hardback full colour book.

Although lots of very nice pictures of what you could build in Minecraft (from castles to roller coasters) this only gave instructions for the most basic of builds and seemed to be a collection of pictures instead. Instructions very general too so reader would already need a good basic...
Published 11 months ago by DanniW


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good building ideas book for Minecraft fans, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook (Hardcover)
I bought this for my son who is a huge minecraft fan.
I have played the game a bit myself, but I'm far from an expert on it.

He's very pleased with the book it's given him some wonderful ideals for buidlings to create in his world.
The book is printed on nice quality paper, and with clear pictures, good print quality throughout (as you would expect from an official book)

Looking through the book you have a variety of designs from a wooden house, to an impressive tower bridge build, a rollercoaster, ships, nordic hall, palace gardens, mage city walls...a good mix I think.

It's worth a mention that some designs do have some step by step instructions (galleon ship, fortified wall, rollercoaster) Others such as the Steampunk City are really to inspire your own imagination. You do get tips and hints to help you with the building, but if you are looking for a brick by brick buidling guide this might not be for you. Even as a novice player I found it quite interesting and useful. My son is very pleased with the book as it's given him some new ideas to work with. Some of the top Minecraft players contributed to the book, as an adult it's quite amazing to see the imagination put into the designs, as well as the time and effort to build them.

There are a lot of videos out there for building guides, but I think it's nice to have a printed book to look at.
A solid buy for budding Minecraft players
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend for any minecraft player, 30 Dec. 2014
By 
N. Reid "YUMMY MUMMY" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook (Hardcover)
These minecraft books are a must for anyone getting to grips with the game. We have a set in our house (boys aged 6&8) which are used as a reference point to teach them how to do specific things in the game. The books are so good I've purchased several sets as gifts over the past few months. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good and helpful book overall, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook (Hardcover)
The book is printed on nice quality paper, and with clear pictures, good print quality throughout (as you would expect from an official book)

Looking through the book you have a variety of designs from a wooden house, to an impressive tower bridge build, a rollercoaster, ships, nordic hall, palace gardens, mage city walls...a good mix I think.

It's worth a mention that some designs do have some step by step instructions (galleon ship, fortified wall, rollercoaster) Others such as the Steampunk City are really to inspire your own imagination.

You do get tips and hints to help you with the building, but if you are looking for a brick by brick buidling guide this might not be for you. Even as a novice player I found it quite interesting and useful.

Some of the top Minecraft players contributed to the book, as an adult it's quite amazing to see the imagination put into the designs, as well as the time and effort to build them.

A solid buy for budding Minecraft players
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic but good gift for those just getting into Minecraft, 5 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for a 10 year old. Nice looking hardback full colour book.

Although lots of very nice pictures of what you could build in Minecraft (from castles to roller coasters) this only gave instructions for the most basic of builds and seemed to be a collection of pictures instead. Instructions very general too so reader would already need a good basic grasp of Minecraft in the first place. Most players would get more from watching YouTube videos or Googleing others' builds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars handy little book, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook (Hardcover)
Handy little book full of ideas to enhance the Minecrarf experience. My 11year old son loves it. He now has the complete set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minecraft Book., 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook (Hardcover)
I given five stars because well made. My grandchildren like the book they thought its contents was excellent.Nothing too dislike - they would recommend to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for children/adults new to MINECRAFT, 8 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. Jordan Whitehurst "JorDWii" (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook (Hardcover)
For anyone thinking of buying or in the process of buying MINECRAFT, this book will give you a step-by-step guide of how to construct basic structures and show you small ways of how to improve.

Some challenges have also been set for you to have a go so when you think your ready, give them a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for young minecrafters, 10 Jun. 2014
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook (Hardcover)
I bought this for my 9yr old son, who is an avid minecraft gamer. He is also someone who will do anything to get out of reading a book, so this is the perfect combination of reading and fun to get him to read.
Any book that get him to read willingly and with a passion is worth every penny.

This book is one of four so far Minecraft: The Official Combat Handbook,Minecraft: The Official Redstone Handbook,and Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook.

They are hardback with glossy pictures and the text is easy to follow, well easy if you know what Minecraft is all about.
There are step by step instructions to objects such as a rollercoaster, a galleon ship and other images that inspire to build.
I have bought all of the books and will be pre-ordering any future ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good book but to many 'Community Creations'., 20 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook (Hardcover)
This is a good book that shows you how to build useful structures that would add a lot to your Minecraft world. It is informative and useful but some of the 'Community Creations' seem very hard and time consuming to build. The Construction handbook is not as good as the beginners handbook and it would have been nice if there were a few more interesting facts about Minecraft itself.

FyreUK have come up with good ideas for the book and it has good quality pages and a nice hardback finish.

I just wish I bought it on Amazon instead of WHSmith as £7.99 is very expensive for the size of the book it is. Overall this is a good book but it didn't
keep me entertained for very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great minecraft book, 2 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook (Hardcover)
Love this little book has some great ideas in for any budding minecraft gamer,with clear pictures and step by step guide for making some of the things . It also has pictures in to give u some idea of what could be built . Although I probably wouldn't have paid the £7.99 that the book is priced up as
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook
Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook by Egmont UK Ltd (Hardcover - 27 Mar. 2014)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews