Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
438
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Bought this for my daughter for Christmas. She's quite familiar with Minecraft, and thanks to my computer engineering background, so am I, having built servers for her and her friends to play on whilst having a little fun with it myself.

I expected this to be a guide showing progressively more complex redstone 'machines' in a logical sequence, but the machines for which there are instructions are perhaps a little too simplistic. Whilst they do increase in complexity, a lot of Minecraft players will already be quite familiar with the techniques depicted. A lot of the book is just showcasing complex redstone machines that have been built but without offering much by way of an explanation as to how it works, how it was built or the combinations of machines required to make it yourself.

I'm not a particularly knowledgeable Minecrafter, and even I found the guide a little less than informative.

If you're new to Minecraft and just want to understand how to use redstone and build simple machines, this book is for you. If you're looking to expand on your existing redstone knowledge and build more refined and sophisticated machines, I'm sorry - you're out of luck...
1111 comments| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
The perfect present for any Minecraft addict. Full of tips to help with the game.
Much more child friendly than many of the You tube clips that are not for the feint hearted or tender young impressionable ears!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Really good explanations about redstone, i would recommend this to any other parent/teen who likes to add a bit of electricity to their child's/yours gaming
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Son loved this said there was lots of ideas he hadn't tried. Good descriptions and pictures showing what is needed
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Honestly it took me a few reads to understand some things. But thats not the fault of the author. Its that glowstone can be complicated. But once you have taken the time to read the tutorials and perform the challenges you start to GET what redstone really can be. Even if its not something you would use too often its nice to know you can do it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this for my 10 year old grandson. It has given him fresh stimulus via wonderfully clear instructions and great inspiration for the imagination. As a result he has produced some amazing designs for both vehicles and buildings. The book is most professionally produced, and sturdily built, no minor asset as the book gets a great deal of physical use.

Thoroughly recommended for its entertainment value and for its considerable educational influence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Bought for an 8yr old who cannot put it down. He now has all 4 in the set and they are veritable Minecraft bibles.
Personally I don't get Minecraft but he does and really enjoys hours reading about how he can improve his chances at the game and understanding each new thing the game presents.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
This was a great help for me. This book tells you where to go in order to find Redstone. Without it I might never have found any. Nice, colourful illustrations like all the other books in the same series. They are all very good guides at helping you to get the best out of the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
We bought this book as a Christmas present for our youngest son, a big fan of Minecraft, he has learned a few new things from this book and has been putting them to good use. Highly recommended, (by him).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Great book for Minecraft fans like my 6 year old nephew who absolutely adores this series of guide books. Great price, half the price of the ones sold in the shops. Nice glossy feel to the pages and vivid colours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse