Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect read for any Minecraft fan
For anyone struggling to comprehend the appeal of Minecraft, think of it as virtual LEGO, where you can build anything your heart desires in a virtual setting--and don't forget, just like LEGO, MInecraft has a universal appeal and is enjoyed by children and adults alike. But what's so good about Minecraft is once you've built your creation you can explore it...
Published 14 months ago by L. Sears

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful as far as it goes
Contains plenty of useful tips and instructions for the beginner, but sacrifices far too much space to anecdotes about people's gaming experiences. The reader needs to know how to use the things the book teaches him to make, which generally it does not do. It tells you how to find food and the importance of eating but does not say how eating is achieved in the game...
Published 12 months ago by P. Geddes


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect read for any Minecraft fan, 26 April 2014
By 
L. Sears "Redlorry" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook (Hardcover)
For anyone struggling to comprehend the appeal of Minecraft, think of it as virtual LEGO, where you can build anything your heart desires in a virtual setting--and don't forget, just like LEGO, MInecraft has a universal appeal and is enjoyed by children and adults alike. But what's so good about Minecraft is once you've built your creation you can explore it.

Both my children (girl 10 and boy 7) love Minecraft. And like the sponges children are, they want as much information about Minecraft as possible to help them master it. They do learn a lot from watching videos on YouTube, but as these are mainly produced by adults you have to careful with what you allow them to watch as the adult use of language in some of them isn't something you want children exposed to.

That's why this book is so great. It allows players to explore the Minecraft world away from the screen, and they're engaging with a book (always a plus to my way of thinking) that they're interested in reading because it's about something they enjoy.

Although Minecraft is not difficult to master and you don't need the book to play it, there is still a wealth of information in it that you might not otherwise know about. The book includes an introduction to the creators, a history of it's development and explanations about the different modes (Creator or Survival). There's also explanations about how to play and individual accounts from players about their experiences when playing the game.

And because there is so much information in the book you can go back to it again and again, like a reference manual, to help you negotiate any challenges that crop up as you play.

This is not only a useful book for any Minecraft fan, but it's also an attractively designed, great quality hardback; and one of a set produced by Egmont. We also have the Minecraft Redstone Handbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful as far as it goes, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
P. Geddes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook (Hardcover)
Contains plenty of useful tips and instructions for the beginner, but sacrifices far too much space to anecdotes about people's gaming experiences. The reader needs to know how to use the things the book teaches him to make, which generally it does not do. It tells you how to find food and the importance of eating but does not say how eating is achieved in the game. Similarly it instructs on how to make a bed but does not say how you actually go about using it to sleep in the game. If these and other similar issues had been addressed instead of filling the book with anecdotes of dubious usefulness it would have been a much more useful book. So a bit of a curate's egg then - definitely good in parts but lacking in others. Still a useful purchase though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars present, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook (Hardcover)
a must for any minecraft fan my son is crazy for minecraft and even though he is a expert he still enjoyed the book
he loved the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook (Hardcover)
These are my 10 year olds words " its really good and like when you get stuck in the game, you can just read it and then you get out of the problem. Its quite fun as well because it tells you how to make a rollercoaster."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written by 7 year old Raahim, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook (Hardcover)
The book was easy for me to read and follow. It told me to build my home inside a mountain and it said to make a entrance for my mine. It told me how to make torches and it told me how to make a bed to skip the night so it will be morning so zombies and skeletons will burn in the sun. Also it tells me about exploring my world. It tells me that I have to craft signs to find my way home when I am exploring my world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for minecraft, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook (Hardcover)
I bought this for my 6 year olds birthday. It says 9+ on the back of the book but we will read it together. He is a massive minecraft fan and loves to show me his creations. I have no idea what minecraft is all about, but this book is simple to read and is so easy to understand. I am sure we will both have lots of fun in the future. It has been approved by other family members ranging from 6-10 years who are also big fans. It is a good size and hardback so should last a long time. Very pleased with this purchase and recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son was delighted, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook (Hardcover)
It is a must for all Mine craft lovers and so much cheaper than one i had bought a week earlier from school book fair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Official Beginner's Handbook, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas present for my grandson and he has just started to read it and he also received a Minecraft annual which he has been reading at the moment, but he says that the Beginner's Handbook is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves this book, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook (Hardcover)
My 7 year old son loves this book and takes it everywhere he goes! We have pre-ordered the next one too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Minecraft beginners handbook, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook (Hardcover)
Absolutely everything I thought it would be and more a must recommend for all who are hooked on minecraft. Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook
Minecraft: The Official Beginner's Handbook by Stephanie Milton (Hardcover - 10 Oct. 2013)
Used & New from: £1.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews