Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money
The quality of the images isn't on a par with the now demised 'Century 21' series, which drew upon the original artwork. Here the images look more like scanned comics that have been smartened up in Photoshop. Nevertheless, the comic strips are still quite enjoyable and you get a lot of nostalgia for your money.
Published 13 months ago by a music fan

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars thunderbirds comic collection
Terrible. Mostly poor reprints of earlier strips. The quality of reprints are inferior this is partly due to reducing the size of original strips. They mix up artist name on strips. Charging £25.00 is a rip off. Egmont should be ashamed.
Published 13 months ago by Lynda L.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbirds Comic Collection (Hardcover)
The quality of the images isn't on a par with the now demised 'Century 21' series, which drew upon the original artwork. Here the images look more like scanned comics that have been smartened up in Photoshop. Nevertheless, the comic strips are still quite enjoyable and you get a lot of nostalgia for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but still wonderful, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Iain McClumpha (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbirds Comic Collection (Hardcover)
I was hoping that this collection would be up to the standards of the TV21 collections we've had in the past, with restored artwork and comics sourced from the actual art boards. Sadly the comics presented here are looking a tad faded and muddy and appear to be the same as the Ravette reprints from the early 1990s. That's not necessarily a bad thing.

Still that aside it's lovely to have this weighty collection of 1960s Thunderbirds and Lady Penelope comics from the pages of "TV Century 21", and they make great reading, transporting me back to more innocent days, when heroes wore blue costumes and silly hats and put their lives on the line that others might survive. Fantastic stuff.
I think the Graeme Bleathman cutaways and launch sequences are also from the Ravette reprints... I'll have to check.

I would have given this 5 stars had the artwork been restored or if they had scanned in the original art boards (where they exist).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THUNDERBIRDS COMIC COLLECTION, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Andrew H. Baird (Stewarton East Ayrshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbirds Comic Collection (Hardcover)
THIS IS THE FIRST VOLUME OF ANOTHER COLLECTION OF COMIC BOOK STORIES ORIGINALLY FROM THE SIXTIES MIXED IN WITH SOME BRILLIANT CUTAWAYS OF THE CRAFTS AND ARTISTIC LAUNCH SEQUENCES

ROLL ON VOLUME 2 OF THE THUNDERBIRDS COMIC COLLECTION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful must have!, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbirds Comic Collection (Hardcover)
Really good quality book, in style of old annuals, felt like a kid at Christmas getting a Thunderbirds annual under the tree! Packed with colour glossy pages and lovely glossy hardcover, superb value and a must for any Anderson collector!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Previously Reprinted, Some Not, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Thunderbirds Comic Collection (Hardcover)
I have only perused this tome in a shop (quality already discussed by another reviewer). Comparing the story titles, I have 8 of them from previous Ravette, Carlton and R & H publications, but 12 that do not appear in any of these books (as long as they haven't changed the titles too much!). On that basis, a Christmas present to myself I think. The bonus with these reprints is, not only do the stories still hold up, the astonishing artwork by Bellamy and Hampson (in this volume) Embleton and the great Mike Noble (in other works) still bowls me over. I feel sorry for the kids of today whose comics seem to consist of photoshots, rather than the staggering artwork of these Maestros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 12 Nov 2013
This review is from: Thunderbirds Comic Collection (Hardcover)
Great book! Would love to see the two last Frank Bellamy Thunderbirds strip which appear in TV21 being published too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars thunderbirds comic collection, 17 Nov 2013
This review is from: Thunderbirds Comic Collection (Hardcover)
Terrible. Mostly poor reprints of earlier strips. The quality of reprints are inferior this is partly due to reducing the size of original strips. They mix up artist name on strips. Charging £25.00 is a rip off. Egmont should be ashamed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like Thunderbirds Comics, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbirds Comic Collection (Hardcover)
Not only Thunderbirds Comics are my favorite strips.There are many British comics, which are of extraordinary
quality. For example Mickey Mouse Weekly, Tiger Tim, The Rainbow, Comic Cuts and so on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbirds Comic Collection (Hardcover)
Love Thunderbirds!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Thunderbirds fans, 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbirds Comic Collection (Hardcover)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thunderbirds Comic Collection
Thunderbirds Comic Collection by Gerry Anderson (Hardcover - 10 Oct 2013)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews