Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why no puzzles any more?
===I have written about the stories because only one is new anyway===

===The Book===

Number 78 and published in 2013.
This is actually the 2014 Annual.
ISBN-13: 978-1405267656
Copyright Express Newspapers, 'Classic Media'.
Published by Egmont - 'We bring stories to life'.
Printed in Italy.
Edited by Stephanie Milton and...
Published 21 months ago by Lj Rm Roberts

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rupert
It's OK but could have been much better (and probably rated only 2 star). Four stories, three of them repeats from earlier editions and the new fourth one was of moderate quality. Seems that the editors (or whoever) have lost interest in this annual, even though it has a long history and Rupert stories have been around for longer than this. It is a tradition that needs a...
Published 16 months ago by Peter Ambler


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rupert, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Annual 2014: No. 78 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
It's OK but could have been much better (and probably rated only 2 star). Four stories, three of them repeats from earlier editions and the new fourth one was of moderate quality. Seems that the editors (or whoever) have lost interest in this annual, even though it has a long history and Rupert stories have been around for longer than this. It is a tradition that needs a bit of TLC.

If they are going to repeat any tales, maybe stories from the early editions would be better and with possible modifications in the pictures. But collectors (and everyone else) deserve new stories with a bit of thought behind them. And at least 6 tales per annual. Providing the current 4 is just being lazy.

I will continue to purchase but will re-evaluate on a yearly basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For collectors "dissaponting", 14 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Annual 2014: No. 78 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
If you are a collector this years annual like the previous few years will be of little improvement and a disappointment when compared to the annuals of days gone by. On the merit of a Christmas annual from a none collector`s point of view and for someone who has not seen the quality transformation over the years then this might well be a nice book to purchase, I only hope that the Rupert annual will continue but I cannot see the new annuals being collectable editions in years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars old stories, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Annual 2014: No. 78 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
I was disappointed that the majority of the stories were copied from earlier editions of the annual and so was the craft activity.
The Rupert annual doesn't have that many pages so how hard is it to come up with original stories, especially as this isn't one of the cheaper annuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
Susman "Susman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rupert Annual 2014: No. 78 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
I took my nephew to get a number 2014 Annuals, but this edition is not only ultra slim it seems and looks almost fake, no real effort has been put into this edition. Most of the content appears to have been collated from other editions. The narrative, the pictorials and general entertainment value is low compared to the standards that were around previously. However, my nephew wanted this edition and at a cost of tad under £2 which is not much - but that is inconsequential as I remember from my childhood that these were quality books along with the Blue Peter Annual were standard fare in our household and gave hours of fun. It is a real shame to see these editions as they are now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another poor imitation of a Rupert annual, 14 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Rupert Annual 2014: No. 78 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
A joyless imitation of what a Rupert annual used to be...
The illustrations are basic and soulless, you can't even use it for a doorstop.
Bring back John Harrold - all is forgiven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Slim!, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Annual 2014: No. 78 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
As a long standing Rupert fan and avid collector of past and present books, this has to be the thinnest and perhaps
the most disappointing to date.

It almost feels as is the new team really cannot be bothered to put the effort into each new annual that comes along.
I will have to think long and hard before making a purchase next year if there isn't an improvement on substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rupert Annual No 78 - A Thin Tome, 13 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Rupert Annual 2014: No. 78 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
Positives (The Old Professor's Praise)
(1)Good representation of Rupert on the front cover.
(2)Promising endpaper.
(3)Four stories(as appeared in 1965 to 1968, 1970 to 1974, 1976 to 1977 and 1979 to 1980).
(4)The seasons are well represented in the range of stories.
(5)Three attractive double frame pictures in the Stuart Trotter story.
(6)The paper banger activity from an old annual links up well with the new Go-Kart tale.
(7)Clear and interesting contents page.
(8)The new story is engaging and attractively drawn.

Negatives (Sir Jasper Cadde's Criticism)
(1)Most of the front and back cover appears rather sketchy.
(2)No back endpaper.
(3)The image on the title page is just part of the front cover.
(4)No puzzle pages.
(5)The four stories all have a very different style of title page which means the book has an incohesive feel.
(6)Bingo's legs seem to have some form of wasting disease on page 46.
(7)The annual feels extremely thin.
(8)No Follow Rupert page.
(9)The rabbit twins on the front cover are obviously hiding their faces in shame.
(10)Page 4 refers to endpapers but there is only one.
(11)To boost the page total to 72 the front and back boards are counted as four pages.
(12)The television in the new story jars a little as it seems rather too modern.
(13)The colouring of the word 'Rupert' on the cover and for three of the four stories is a "Rupert Red" but the
final story is a mint green; so there is no link between all the stories and the cover. Surely they could either
have all been red (or at least the same colour) or, as in fairly recent years, they could ALL have been a diff-
erent colour from the artist's palette?
(14)Due to the different people being involved for the Go-Kart tale there are some strange discrepancies such as
on page 38 it is written that Rupert meets Edward, Bill and Podgy but the frame shows him meeting Edward, Algy
and Willie!!
(15)In the next frame Rupert is said to be in a tree with Podgy but it is Algy who is shown!
(16)Later on Bill has replaced Edward!
(17)Although Rupert and his chums all get in Jerome's car, only Rupert and Algy can be seen. Which other pals are
meant to be in the car as well could well have been a task on the missing Rupert puzzle page!
(18)When they get out of the car Algy and Willie have been mysteriously replaced by Podgy and Edward!
(19)On page 48 it is stated that the Imps have removed the wheels of Rupert's go-kart but he is shown wheeling it
home which is rather strange as we are told that Mr Bear reattaches the wheels before Rupert goes to bed!
Perhaps there is still magic in the wheels.
(20)Rupert has always had a tradition of doing the "right thing" and it is said that he wins the race 'fair and
'square' but apparently there is still magic in the wheels which surely gives him an unfair advantage as he
eventually takes to the air like the Vicar of Dibley did in the final episode! Surely a steward's enquiry
should be called? Perhaps the TV coverage could be played back in slow motion to determine the fairness of it
all or Formula One should check their rule book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why no puzzles any more?, 4 Aug. 2013
By 
Lj Rm Roberts "welshbabe" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Annual 2014: No. 78 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
===I have written about the stories because only one is new anyway===

===The Book===

Number 78 and published in 2013.
This is actually the 2014 Annual.
ISBN-13: 978-1405267656
Copyright Express Newspapers, 'Classic Media'.
Published by Egmont - 'We bring stories to life'.
Printed in Italy.
Edited by Stephanie Milton and designed by Martin Aggett.
The cover and endpapers by Stuart Trotter.

===The Book in Detail===

The book contains four stories:
* Rupert and the Rugger Match - 25 pages. (Originally in the 1972 Rupert Annual and illustrated by Alfred Bestall)
* Rupert and the Baby Cloud - 6 pages. (Originally in the 1981 Rupert Annual and illustrated by Enid Ash)
* Rupert and the Go Cart Race - 14 pages. (Story originated and illustrated by Stuart Trotter. Text and couplets by Stephanie Milton)
* Rupert and the Missing Snow -17 pages. (Originally in the 1992 Rupert Annual and illustrated by John Harrold).

The book also has:-
* Rupert's Paper Banger Origami Art (Originally in the Rupert Annual in 1986) - this is on the back cover.
* 2 page reader's survey.

===Cost===

Original price was £7.99.
Amazon currently selling it for £7.19.
No price triangle on the page corner any more.

===The Annual Itself===

This is quite a thin annual with a shiny hard cover. This only has four stories and one of these is only 6 pages. The image on the cover has been done by Stuart Trotter which shows Rupert riding in a home-made go cart with more of his friends in carts on the reverse - as usual the image is one large one which wraps around from the front to back cover.
The back of the cover states that the annual is for ages of 5+ and is not suitable for children under three years due to small parts. The image on the cover does seem to be slightly lacking in background detail but at least it does have Mrs Bear by their cottage.
The endpapers - a double spread of one colourful picture which used to always be inside both the back and front covers - now is only in the front of the book. It shows Rupert and his friends on a hillside, with a castle in the clouds and Imps in the trees. - again not a lot of background detail but the one thing I do like in the image is the little stone milestone which states 'NUTWOOD 1 MILE'.
In this book is a competition to win £150 of books -if you fill out the two page survey at the back of the book - or fill it out on line if you do not want to cut the book to pieces - the link is given at the end.

===Rupert and the Rugger Match===

This story involves Rupert's Uncle Bruno, who takes Rupert and his friends to a rugby match and then buys then a rugby ball. The birds think it is an egg and capture Rupert, who ends up in a large nest and is crying. Rupert is later imprisoned by the Bird King - he has to persuade them that the rugby ball is not a stolen egg.
Mrs Bear is quite grumpy in this story and when she finds Rupert playing rugby on the Common she drags him off home.

===Rupert and the Baby Cloud===

This is a short story but quite cute. Rupert and Algy are out with a large box kite. But when they pull the kite back down to earth there is a little cloud stuck inside it - which is dull and grey. Rupert takes the little cloud home - but you can see a large cloud watching. Overnight Rupert keeps the little cloud in his bedroom. During the night a 'cloud scrubber' visits him - he has lost his soap and it is his job to clean the clouds. The next day Rupert finds Edward Elephant blowing lovely bubbles- he has found the soap to clean the clouds. Rupert takes the soap home for his mother to wash the little cloud - which comes out white as snow. Rupert takes the cloud out and throws it up into the air and it floats away. Rupert puts the soap inside his kite and floats it up to a large cloud. Later when he pulls the kite back there is a little message which says 'Thank You'.

===Rupert and the Go-Cart Race===

This story starts with an image of an old fashioned TV. Rupert is at home and his Dad is watching racing on TV - it is quite close to Nutwood so Rupert and his chums go over to watch - it is on the other side of the Commons. They meet one of the drivers called Jerome who gives them a lift home. Rupert then has the idea for a go-cart race - but where will he get the parts from?
Rupert goes to see Mr Chimp but he has given his last box to Podgy. Wandering back Rupert wonders what to do when a crate falls off the back of a lorry. Rupert rescues it from the undergrowth when some of the Imps come out to see what all the noise is about. They take Rupert underground to their workshop where they are repairing a coach - so they give Rupert the old buckled wheels. Once above ground Rupert gets Bingo the clever dog to use his weird machine to straighten up the wheels - and his Dad fixes then on to the cart for him. But as soon as Rupert gets in the go-cart takes off and flies away - over ponds and underwater - its magic. Rupert landed by the Imps home and they say the wheels were magic so remove it for Rupert.
The day of the go-cart race the film crew turn up to have it on TV. Rupert's wheels still play up a bit but he manages to win the race - and then the cart takes off again. Mr Bear watches the race at home on TV.

===Rupert and the Missing Snow===

It is winter and cold, but no snow has come. The little Cowboy comes one night from Santa - he needs Rupert's help.
They go n a little plane up to Santa's castle in the clouds. Santa is very hot and worried - where is the snow? Rupert goes to see the Clerk of the Weather - who says he has already sent snow - so where is it? There is still no snow on Christmas Eve and on Christmas morning Rupert receives a sledge from Santa - and a note asking for his assistance to find the missing snow. They go to the North Pole and see Rupert's Uncle Polar. They stay overnight in his igloo and then go to the North Pole - but the pole has disappeared.
They follow the tracks and discover that it was taken as a trophy by a traveller. - who immediately gives it back when he realises it has caused problems with the snow. Back in the igloo Polar phones Santa, and when Rupert returns home it is snowing in Nutwood.

===What I Thought===

Well when this annual arrived in the post it felt quite thin - and it is quite small - being only 70 pages in total.
The annual only has four stories - and one of these is only six pages. Three of these stories are recycled from earlier annuals and the only new one is the Go-Cart story - which actually has Rupert having a TV at home - which I believe is the first time I have seen that.
The only activity in the annual is a one page Origami art which again is from a previous annual. There are no puzzles at all in this annual - no crosswords, games, cooking, colouring pages or Spot the Difference - aside from only having four stories I think this is a very sad omission - as part of the fun of these Christmas annuals was also doing the many puzzles and games within its pages - I am sure they could have included some puzzles of some sort - even if they were repeats of puzzles from previous years - after all they have 77 previous annuals to trawl through.
I found the stories quite good in themselves - one or two I have not come across - such as the Rugger Match and the Baby Cloud one - but I have read the Missing Snow. The Snow story is nice to have included as I always feel it is important to have a seasonal story as these annuals were usually given as Christmas gifts - so it is good to have one that either mentions snow, Santa, reindeer or snowmen.
The stories in these annuals are always on three levels - you can follow the pictures, which are bright and colourful, you can read the rhyming couplets underneath the pictures or read the two paragraphs of story at the bottom of the page. Each page has a quartet of bright images of Rupert in his village of Nutwood and the adventures he goes on.
With this annual I think the stories are a reasonable selection to include and the newer story, although including TV for the first time, is not overly modern so as to spoil the quaint charm of the village of Nutwood and Rupert's cute cottage home. However I think the lack of puzzles is a big omission and I shall be filling out their on-line survey to tell them so.
I know when my sons were young and had Rupert annuals as well as the stories one of their favourite bits of the books was returning to them to redo the puzzles over and over - especially the Spot the Difference page which used to have two large images on a page and you had to find ten differences.
For the full price of almost £8 I think Egmont could have supplied a good selection of puzzles as well. Annuals are not just about stories and most people expect puzzles and other little items interspersed between the stories. The older drawings and stories also too tend to have more detailed backgrounds and more for children to look at and enjoy.

For those that are Rupert fans please fill in the online survey to let Egmont know your views.

===Star Rating===

4 stars.

===Would I Recommend?===

Yes.

===Websites===

classicrupertbearshop
egmont

===Online Survey===

At the Egmont.co website and go to 'rupertsurvey2014'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish Value For Money., 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Annual 2014: No. 78 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
If you wanted new stories then you won't find them here, the pictures in the annual look awful and the quality of the paper is very poor. My annual, bought as a present, had obviously been kept somewhere "damp" as the pages began to crinkle almost straightaway. I was given my money back by Amazon, I have complained about the quality of the annual to Egmont, I have heard nothing back yet from them?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Annual 2014: No. 78 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
I have a collection of Rupert books that I read to the grandchildren. Thought I'd get a knew one for a change. Didn't realise they were recycling old stories and that they no longer have a 'spot the difference' page which the chidren used to really enjoy. I won't bother again - back to the auctions for the old books for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rupert Annual 2014: No. 78 (Annuals 2014)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews