Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars More Double Trouble.
This story picks up almost where the first one ends, only now the rumour of a mysterious monster roaming Portland has Jack and Jade on the case like two blood hounds. However with their mysterious Grandma X acting even more mysterious than ever and the cats up to something of their own, Jack and Jade find themselves stumbling from one situation to the next in a bid to...
Published 5 months ago by Miss H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars getting samey
I have a lot of Garth Nix books - good if its your first time to them, but more of the same if you know his style
Published 18 months ago by R. Chapman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars More Double Trouble., 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubletwisters: The Monster (Paperback)
This story picks up almost where the first one ends, only now the rumour of a mysterious monster roaming Portland has Jack and Jade on the case like two blood hounds. However with their mysterious Grandma X acting even more mysterious than ever and the cats up to something of their own, Jack and Jade find themselves stumbling from one situation to the next in a bid to find the truth. A good adventure for young readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubletwisters: The Monster (Paperback)
I just love and even adore Garth Nix, so whatever he writes I am never disappointed . He is a great kids' writer :) All his books are worth reading, great imagination , great fantasy worlds, always entertaining. I enjoy the twins adventures and looking forward to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars getting samey, 26 Feb 2013
By 
R. Chapman "RMC" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubletwisters: The Monster (Paperback)
I have a lot of Garth Nix books - good if its your first time to them, but more of the same if you know his style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the monster (trouble twisters), 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent th sort of thing I would expect from Garth Nix even though it is a children's book it was a. good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow start.... Thrilling ending, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubletwisters: The Monster (Paperback)
Trouble Twisters - The Monster starts where Book 1 left off. If you haven't read the first book, I'd suggest starting there as Book 2 continues the story one week after the first book concludes. Jack and Jaide's story slows down somewhat in Book 2 as we learn more about their characters, their friends and the nature of their Gifts. The first three quarters of the story is a sequence of events that lead to lots of questions and no answers, as Grandma X, Ari and Kleo are keen to hide what's going on from the twins. I almost stopped reading, feeling frustrated by the number of questions and lack of action. But of course this is a Garth Nix/Sean Williams story, all this had to be going somewhere, so I stuck with it and was mightily pleased I did. The last quarter of the story exploded like a firework in my hands as all the story strands come together in a powerful and satisfying ending.... and then just when I was wondering if I would read Book 3, the authors threw out one last dazzling question about the fate of the twins and now they've got me hook, line and sinker. I've given The Monster 4 stars instead of 5, as I nearly lost heart half way through. But I'm peachy keen to read Book 3 now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Monster, 24 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Troubletwisters: The Monster (Paperback)
If you read the first, you need to continue. The second one is just as good. It's fun, well written, pacy, inoffensive, and ideal for pretty much all ages over 10 or so. There are a few to go and hopefully a few more people will take it up and turn it into a popular series. Both Nix and Williams have delved into YA before and these books show how well they are working together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lukewarm, 13 July 2012
By 
A. Kiousopoulos "AKIOU" (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubletwisters: The Monster (Paperback)
The Trouble-twister series is decent but not his best effort. If you like Garth Nix buy it but I would not recommend it to non-Garth Nix fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Troubletwisters: The Monster
Troubletwisters: The Monster by Garth Nix (Paperback - 4 Jun 2012)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews