Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Young Adult fiction series out there
The "Gone" series by Michael Grant (Gone, Hunger, Lies and now Plague) about everyone 15 and over, for reasons unknown, disappear, leaving everybody 14 and under in an impenetrable dome, is one of the best series out there for teens. The love child of "Lord of the Flies" and "X-Men", the Gone series is an intense, violent and sometimes saddening narrative, charting the...
Published on 26 Mar 2011 by A

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Present
Got this book for my step son for his birthday, he was very happy with it and has already read it.
Published 9 months ago by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Young Adult fiction series out there, 26 Mar 2011
This review is from: Plague (Gone) (Hardcover)
The "Gone" series by Michael Grant (Gone, Hunger, Lies and now Plague) about everyone 15 and over, for reasons unknown, disappear, leaving everybody 14 and under in an impenetrable dome, is one of the best series out there for teens. The love child of "Lord of the Flies" and "X-Men", the Gone series is an intense, violent and sometimes saddening narrative, charting the stories of these teens as they deal with the problems obtained from living in the dome: being hungry, searching for water, trying to live some semblance of a life -- and don't forget how the children begin to mutate, gaining all sorts of powers, along with the animals of the FAYZ (Fallout Alley Youth Zone). This is just the bare strands of what forms Michael Grants' "Gone" novels, and with the upcoming Plague, he does not disappoint.

Plague was one of my most anticipated reads for 2011. So when I found it nearly 15 days early in my local WHSmith, I pretty much celebrated on the spot, ran to get it checked out and read in a frenzy. To finish this book in two days is no small feat either: the "Gone" novels are all at least 500 pages on average. Plague is the second biggest of the series, at 525 pages, all full of action, violence, redemption, heart-pounding, choke-you-by-the-throat adventure ride that refuses to let the reader sway. Riveting from start to finsh and thought-provoking along the way it's a great read but not for the faint of heart. This book contains challenging material and in the wrong hands it can devastate a soul. As a teen myself, this book is a masterpiece made of interwoven strands of win. But don't fear, the "Gone" novels have that "cross-over" appeal because they have everything that you could ask for. Action, romance, mystery, a little bit of the crazy Stephen King fans clamour for and ten shades of supernatural going-ons.

Human conflict is what makes this story "tick". Every character has something to contribute, be it hero or villain, and really, Plague, among with the other "Gone" novels really display the best and worst of humanity in these books through actions, choices and descions that are made by these characters. This is to the point where you really do forget that these characters aren't adults. They're children living in a dog-eat-dog world. Trying to survive in the "Gone" universe is very, very hard -- and the fact that these characters are practically children makes this series so chilling and dark.

The low down:

Plague is probably the most violent of the series so far. Questions are answered, new questions are presented, and all hell breaks loose in what could be argued as one of the best teen novel of 2011.

Fans of "Gone", you *will not* be dissapointed. For the uninitiated: the time will soon come.

Seriously. Take a look at other reviews if you don't believe me. Looking at all the praise flooding in for this series and you'll be making your way to a book shop soon.

For when you begin reading: Your welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Kirsty at the Overflowing Library (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Plague (Gone) (Hardcover)
This review is as spoiler free as possible although I can't guarantee it won't mention things that could spoil book 1, 2 or 3. If you haven't read those do so (honestly they are awesome) come back to this later.

This series is described as Stephen King, meets heroes, meets Lord of the Flies. Although I personally haven't ever read any Stephen King I would say it is a fair comparison. Grant doesn't shy away from writing what he needs to in order to make the story as realistically gruesome as it needs to be. Some of the scenes are nasty and truly horrific but actually I don't think they are in any way shape or form overdone as I actually think as world in which 15 year olds are in charge would be a pretty terrifying place. There are some parts where I want to keep reading because the action is so gripping but have to brace myself to get through it because it is quite grim in places.

This instalment itself was just as gripping, fast paced and action packed as the first three books. It takes place directly after the first books. The situation for the children of the Fayz is looking increasingly more dire. Food supplies continue to be scare and worse than than water supplies are becoming critical. In addition to these huge problems children have been getting ill, really ill due to a flu like thing and it's spreading fast!

I won't go into details about the plot because I don't want to spoil the book for anyone. All I will say is this. The action is still a fast paced rollercoaster ride. there are some brilliant twists and turns (and new abilities) that are awesome. There are still scenes which are completely horrible and I had to force myself through - it takes some to gross me out but he did it again. What I thought was different about this book though is that I can now see being put into place things that will be big storylines for the finale in two books time. If done well they have the potential to be freaking awesome!!!

All in all another excellent instalment in the Gone series which you certainly will not be disappointed with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a cliched comment but.... this is the best book ever!, 14 May 2011
This review is from: Plague (Gone) (Hardcover)
I know this already has all 5 star reviews but i thought id still add mine as it emphasises the fact that this is a brilliant book even greater.
The book is the fourth in the gone series, and as each new book came out, that became my new favourite book, and plague has done it again.
There is never a dull moment. There are exiting action scenes, romantic love scenes and tense spine tingling moments all in the mix and the greatest thing is that you feel emotions for every one of the forty or so brilliant characters.
I dont know how the writer does it, but he creates a book that i can read all night without getting bored, but i didnt, because i love it so much and i wanted it to last a long time and never end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 April 2011
This review is from: Plague (Gone) (Hardcover)
The 'Gone' series is absolutely entertaining, once I start I cant stop, I find myself 2:00 in the morning reading the gone series, I'd advise to start from the begining, those book is called 'Gone' then 'Hunger' then 'Lies' and then finally 'plague'.

The other books which are going to come out in the future are 'Fear and 'Light', in 'Light' there is a possibility that they might find a way out of the Fayz, which stands for "Fallout Alley Youth Zone" and finally meet there parents or careers.

I would advise teenagers to read this series.

Hope you find this review interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague (Gone) (Paperback)
It was a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
S. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague (Gone) (Paperback)
bought for my daughter, she's really got into this series of books, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague (Gone) (Paperback)
Bought as present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Personal opinion, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing twist of a plot will leave you gasping for breath as it lets you cling on to the action. The horror side of the story has certain aspects of Steven King but even if you don't like horror it isn't much it's just to add flavour to the final cuisine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 24 Jun 2014
By 
Kay (peterborough,uk) - See all my reviews
Like the other book in this series this book was gripping from start to finish. The entire series a hunger games kind of feeling to it but that is in now way to compare the two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is all ways surprising. You never know what is going to happen next. I recommend the whole series to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plague (Gone)
Plague (Gone) by Michael Grant (Paperback - 2 April 2012)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews