Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great childhood revival
Does what it say's on the tin. All the books are the original individual numbered ones that produce an image on their spines when stacked together. They come in a nice box to keep them in. The box is made of sturdy thin plastic so doesn't add much weight. The box is easy to wet-wipe clean for the mandatory dribbles that come with reading bedtime stories to a little...
Published on 3 Jun 2009 by Mr. M. Morris

versus
1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what you think it will be
There are 47 small paperback books in a rather flimsy case and there is nothing wrong with that. What is disappointing is that my expectations are not satisfied and I suspect the decades since they were written have seen huge advances in children's' learning.

The pictures are not really enough to captivate young minds in the 21st century whereas they were 40...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by 3point14


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great childhood revival, 3 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. M. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does what it say's on the tin. All the books are the original individual numbered ones that produce an image on their spines when stacked together. They come in a nice box to keep them in. The box is made of sturdy thin plastic so doesn't add much weight. The box is easy to wet-wipe clean for the mandatory dribbles that come with reading bedtime stories to a little one.

Minus 1 star for two reasons...
- The catch to keep the box closed is a bit cheap and flimsy, but it hasn't popped open yet.
- When all the books are in the box it's very tricky to get one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 2 Jun 2009
By 
Nik Delcroix (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Package: excellent, no damages, quick delivery from UK to Belgium.
State of product: as described, brand new
Maybe it would have been nice to know which books exactely were in the box, since it doesn't contain ALL Mr. Men books (maybe a picture of the backside of one of the books would be a help for other buyers)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of Mr Men books, 11 July 2011
These sets of books are a delight for our 6 and 4 year old children. They love choosing a book each night to read. They are truly timeless classics. Good way to teach them to count too as they look for the numbers on the spine and take them out and put them back in the right order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Men books, 19 July 2009
By 
Rosie Posie (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
These books were part of my children growing up, I now have a grandson in America and I am sending him one a week so that he grows up with them too. Every child should have one is my recommendation.

Rose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely gift!, 7 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely set of books in a well presented, strong box. A really good gift for 4-5 year olds (and older). Many thanks x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MR HAPPY..., 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: Mr. Men My Complete Collection (Paperback)
MR 'ARRIVED ON TIME', MR 'AS ADVERTISED', MR 'GOOD VALUE', MR 'HAPPY'....THANK YOU IT WILL MAKE AN EXCELLENT CHRISTMAS PRESENT FOR A MR '5 YEAR OLD'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent early reading book, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. K. Heap - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased the Mr Men book set for my Grandson for Christmas 2008. He loves the stories and is now able to read them himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain Bulk-buy Books of Mr Men, 29 April 2013
By 
LegendaryMrDude (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Men My Complete Collection (Paperback)
Lots of people my age will have grown up with the Mr Men.

Lots of people my age will have kids of their own.

Lots of people my age are probably thinking "if it was good enough for me as a child then it's certainly good enough for my kids". Certainly that's my thinking. I had a few of the books. I loved them. I have fond memories of my mum and dad reading them to me. Now that I've got children, I can't wait to do the same. The stories are timeless and, more often, than not carry a good message. The illustrations are simple and accessible. But you probably know all of this.

What about this particular box-set then. It's expensive. Eye-wateringly expensive really. 100quid! For some children's books! BUt there are 47 books in total, covering all of the Mr Men (but not the Little Miss series). Per-book then, the cost works out at about 2.13 per book. And that's not including the nifty box to keep them all in.

The box is a double-walled cardboard affair, about the same size as a shoe-box. Not quite like the one pictured in the photo on the amazon product page which looks more like it's made out of thick plastic. It does a good job of holding the books in place and would sit nicely on a bookshelf, with the lid on or off. With the lid off, the books are in sequence and stacked neatly so that images on the spines combine to spell out "my Mr Men Library" in a kind of scrawled handwriting. A cute touch.

It still seems expensive, so a quick look on Amazon revealed that, if you bought them individually, the books will set you back about 2.50 each. Another case where buying in bulk saves you a bit and, in this case, gets you a presentation box too. There are other box-sets and collectors editions available, including one of "all 50 books" (not sure what the extra 3 are), which looks like it went out of print a while ago, but it's available for less than half the price of this one...

At the end of the day you pays your money and you makes your choice. I'm delighted with this box set and am sure that it will get plenty of use over the coming years. Come on, it's the Mr Men. What's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for early reading, 9 Mar 2010
We've had this box set for two weeks and every single night my kids (3 and 4.5) have wanted these stories. The only battle is how many they are allowed to have and getting them to pick from the vast selection. Absolutely great investment in my kids language and reading ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great choice for 2 yr olds!, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Leonora Chieng (Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this for my niece on her 2nd birthday & she absolutely loves it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Men My Complete Collection
Mr. Men My Complete Collection by Roger Hargreaves (Paperback - 10 Aug 2012)
105.75
Usually dispatched within 9 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews