Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 90 Years of an Ursine Icon
This is a gloriously illustrated and well written account of a character that has enchanted, enthralled and excited four generations of Daily Express readers and recipients and purchasers of the many annuals, adventure series and other books that have featured Rupert - the Red-jerseyed,Ursine,Popular,Enchanting,Recognisable,Timeless bear.
It is written by Ian...
Published on 25 Nov 2010 by Book Beaver

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a time to order something!
If you want to put a nice smile on someone's face, buy this book. It worked a treat for me and the book is great.
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by Nicky McCluskey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 90 Years of an Ursine Icon, 25 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Rupert Companion (Hardcover)
This is a gloriously illustrated and well written account of a character that has enchanted, enthralled and excited four generations of Daily Express readers and recipients and purchasers of the many annuals, adventure series and other books that have featured Rupert - the Red-jerseyed,Ursine,Popular,Enchanting,Recognisable,Timeless bear.
It is written by Ian Robinson who was Rupert Editor for thirteen years and it recounts how a cartoon strip character who first appeared at the foot of the Daily Express women's page on 8 November 1920 went on to become a national icon who is known throughout the world and has outlived by many decades the other newspaper anthropomorphic characters who were around between the World Wars. Rupert has transcended the image of being a strip cartoon through many varied items of merchandise and the 75 outstanding annuals that have featured his adventures.
Collectors (two rare annuals went for over 22000 each three years ago),readers of children's literature, lovers of art (the endpapers in particular by Alfred Bestall are astonishing achievements) and anyone interested in newspapers and associated features will enjoy tremendously this fascinating book.
The Followers of Rupert who are mentioned in the book are recommended for those who wish to continue their interest and knowledge of Rupert once they have finished reading this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any Rupert fan, 30 Mar 2012
By 
Bill Badger (Cannock, Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rupert Companion (Hardcover)
An excellent book which gives a good insight into the vast number of Rupert stories that have kept children entertained for years. This is not a 'one-read' book, but something to return to time and time again (as we do with the Rupert annuals!). Luckily, most of the book refers to pre-2008 annuals, and if you are in a position to know the difference between pre and post 2008 annuals, you will understand what I mean.
An excellent bookshelf buddy to 'Rupert - A Bears Life'.

Buy it now while still available. This book will be sought after in years to come and is a must for collectors and fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rupert Bear companion book, 31 Dec 2010
By 
Paul E. Schilling (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Companion (Hardcover)
A wonderful book of the most famous bear in the world. A must for any Rupert fan. An insightful,informative and carefully collated book with lovely pictures (some I've not seen before). Starting with Rupert's creator, Mary Tourtel from 1920 and following his development over the years by illustators Alfred E Bestall (1935-1965)and then John Harrold.The book also has some delightful pictures of various Rupert toys and memorabilia and a section on some of the characters,friends etc over Ruperts 90 amazing years.
Some of the additional touches is the embossed front cover which adds to this very well produced hard back book. You've just got to buy it to appreciate it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rupert Companion - Ian Robinson, 18 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Rupert Companion (Hardcover)
I completely endorse all the complimentary comments made by other reviewers. This book is a treasure in its own right; beautifully presented in a format which allows for a good balance between text and illustrations, of which there are many - and on every page. A very worthwhile addition to any devotee's collection.
Worthy of particular note, I feel, is the short section on the annuals. Every one is listed with its cover up to publication of the book in 2010. I have found this to be an invaluable reference, especially when confusion often abounds over the year date for a particular annual. Here is the difinitive answer. (although the information is accessible online).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A BEAUTIFUL BOOK!, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Companion (Hardcover)
This beautifully produced book arrived this morning, and I am so thrilled with it. Obviously, I have not yet read or looked at it, beyond flicking through its colourful pages, but as soon as I have I will edit this review. As a qualified astrologer (serious astrology, not sun sign column) and a writer, etc. I have just had an astrological profile of Alfred Bestall published July/August, so this book is very special to me, having researched Alfred since New Year's Day. I used to receive a Rupert annual every Christmas as a little girl living in London in the 40's and 50's, from Father Christmas via my parents! He was an important addition to my childhood, and I am one of the countless adults who still love Rupert and the whole Nutwood scene. This would be a very acceptable present for any Rupert loving person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rupert Companion, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Companion (Hardcover)
This companion is very good and lived up to expectations. It is well presented and illustrated. A must for Rupert fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rupert Companion (Rupert Bear), 19 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. G. L. Rutherford (YORK NORTH YORKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rupert Companion (Hardcover)
Excellent book with lots of interesting information about the difference illustrators good art work, indexes and lists worth getting for anyone interested in Rupert history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rupert Companion, 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Companion (Hardcover)
What a pleasure it has been to read the Companion bringing back some very happy childhood memories. I cannot think what ages I must have been at the time but I grew up in Birmingham and it must have been during the war that I eagerly looked forward to my Rupert Annual each Christmas. In the grown-up world they were dark times but as a child the adventures of Rupert with Bill Badger, Algy Pug and others were always exciting, fun and everything turned out right and safely in the end. Reading about Mary Toutel and Alfred Bestall now adds further historical interest as I am sure that as a child I would not have been paying attention to who created Rupert. The Companion book is beautifully presented and will be much treasured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Suitable Companion, 16 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Companion (Hardcover)
Already the owner of many annuals and several "about" or "history" books, I was reticent about buying this new Rupert Companion. I should not have feared. This is a very heart warming compendium of facts and images covering the boy bear in print, on TV and in the many forms of merchandise made over the years. It is all done with great care and clear affection for its subject.

The pages are square, giving the illustrations, many printed large, space and impact not previously seen. The paper is off-white and very slightly rough, but this is no disadvantage to the reproduction of text or drawings, instead it lends the book the feel of a very pristine, but very old edition, adding - appropriately I feel - to the nostalgic tone.

All in all, after only a few minutes of gentle page flicking I knew this was a book I will treasure and revisit in the years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic book about Rupert Bear to bring back many memories, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Lj Rm Roberts "welshbabe" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rupert Companion (Hardcover)
The Product
Large 11 x 11 inch square book which comes shrink wrapped in cellophane.
The Rupert Companion by Ian Robinson (editor of Rupert stories for over 13 years).
'Tells the fascinating story of how this little bear became a national treasure'.
Shiney front and back embosed covers - green material spine.
Front cover has images of Rupert and Alfred Bestall.
Attractive dark end papers showing old printing boxes with letters and various Rupert images in the different sections - badges, images from books and chocolate wrappers etc.
Book produced using good quality paper.
Printed in Singapore.

Contents
Rupert and Mary Tourtel.
Rupert and Alfred Bestall.
Ruert after Bestall.
Rupert Publishing.
Rupert Toys and TV.
Rupert and Chums.
Rupert Annuals.

My Opinion
This book is wonderfully presented in cellophane and with strong thick covers, great quality paper and superb colour images troughout. For this alone it is worth buying - even before you read any of the text.

For those who do not know, Rupert first began life as a strip cartoon in the Express Newspaper in 1920. After being in many books he eventually had his own Annual which began in 1936 and which continues to this day.

Rupert and Mary Tourtel
1920-1935
Mary Tourtel was the creator of Rupert Bear and produced him for the first 15 years.
The first episode was 'Little Lost Bear' which came out in the Express Newspaper on 8 November 1920. It was a single frame cartoon and was on the Women's Page. Rupert then looked a little more 'bear like'.
Other papers also had cartoons - the Daily Mail had 'Teddy Tail' and the Mirror 'Tiger Tim' and 'Pip, Squeak and Wilfred'.
Unlike some other cartoons Rupert was always finely drawn and never had speech bubbles. Rupert's world revolved around fairy tales and magic mixed in with daily life. At this time Rupert had a blue jumper and cream check trousers and scarf.
In 1932 the Express began the 'Rupert League' - essentially a fan club that issued special badges and cards - this was so popular it was costing the newspaper a fortune (3,000 a week) to keep running and it closed shortly after Tourtel retired in 1935.

Rupert and Alfred Bestall
1935-65 (but still did some illustrating)
Alfred Bestall was Rupert illustrator for over 30 years and he began with the 1936 annual. It was then that Rupert changed colour from a blue to a red jumper and from cream check trousers and scarf to yellow check ones.
Even during the paper shortages of the war the annual was still produced, subsidised by the government to keep up public morale. In 1940 te annual was full colour.
Over one million annuals were sold in 1948 and by 1950 it rose to 1.7 million.
The origami feature was introduced in 1946 and the item made would usually be included in one of the stories in some way.
Bestall continued to do the end papers and covers until 1973.
Bestall finally worked on a story in the newspaper in 1965.
In 1985 Alfred Bestall was awarded the MBE but sadly was too ill to visit the Palace to collect it.

Rupert after Bestall
John Harrold joined the team in the 1970s but it was not untill 1985 that he became Rupert's sole artist.
From September 2002 the Express have only been using recycled stories in the newspapers, ending 82 years of adventures.
Rupert is the longest running newspaper strip in the world.

Rupert Publishing
Rupert Annuals - as opposed to just books about him, first began in 1936. This was when he gained his red jumper and yellow and black checked trousers and scarf - before this he had had a blue jumper and cream check trouers and scarf.
The annuals were so popular they were even allowed to continue throughout World War 2.
After the war competition began to get fierce and so other elements were introduced into the anuals. Bestall introduced origami and in 1960 Magic Painting became a regular feature.
It was in 1973 that there was the controversy over the colour of the bear's face on the cover of the annual - Bestall had done the drawings for the cover but the publishers changed the face from brown to white without consulting him. It is the few brown face editions wih are worth thousands - not the numerous white faced copies that later went on sale. Only twelve or so of the brown faced editions were produced and one sold for 23,000 in 2007.

Rupert Toys and TV
I am not a fan of the current New Adventures of Rupert on TV but I did enjoy the series made by Canadian company Nelvana which reproduced the stories and characters from the Annuals very well.
I also collect the Doulton figures which are made of Rupert and his chums - only if they are bought for me though as they are quite expensive.
There is a museum in Canterbury partly dedicated to Rupert which opened in 2003 as Mary Tourtel (Rupert's creator) lived in Canterbury.

Rupert and Chums
This as a picture of each character that has been included in Rupert Annual stories over the years and a little description of each one. 64 characters are included in all - most I remember but a few are ones that have only been in the odd story and not in an annual I have seen.

Rupert Annuals
This is a great chapter which has a small image of every Rupert Annual cover from 1936. A super way to jog you memory of which annuals you had as a child - I remember many from tehe1960s onwards - all superbly reproduced here in full colour.

To Sum Up
I think this book is marvellous - both from the point of view of the quality of the paper, the fantastic colour images and also the titbits of information -some of which I did not know.
Excellently published by Egmont this is of a much higher standard than the Rupert Annuals they produce - and if I had not known I would not have thought it was published by the same people.
The full price is quite expenisve but now it is reduced on Amazon this would be a great addition to any Rupert fan's collection.

Rupert Followers
This is a fan club for Rupert which has regular newsletters and articles on Rupert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rupert Companion
The Rupert Companion by Ian Robinson (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2010)
25.00
Usually dispatched within 10 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews