Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 2nd volume in a brilliant new series., 20 July 2010
This review is from: Adventures of Julius Chancer: The Rainbow Orchid Volume 2 (Paperback)
The first part of the Rainbow Orchid saga was one of my favorite finds in 2009. Part 2 continues the fine work.

Although the cliffhanger ending will keep me nervous for the next six months, this is a brilliant middle volume. It adds more layers to the story, progresses the plot, gets us closer to the characters and leaves us wanting more.

Ewing's skill as an artist also continues to amaze. Even from the first page - with his gorgeous rendering of the Natural History Museum - it showed an attention to historical detail & painstaking craftsmanship. I love the pop-art Lichenstein style of the work (so much that I wound up buying a print of the foxy femme fatale Crowe).

This is a heart-warming book, written and drawn with true devotion. I can't speak for kids, but as an adult, I love it. Bring out book 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great trilogy continues, 19 Aug 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Adventures of Julius Chancer: The Rainbow Orchid Volume 2 (Paperback)
This great trilogy continues with volume 2 of The Rainbow Orchid, as Julius Chancer arrives in India to try to find the rainbow orchid. But they have to overcome many obstacles to get the rare flower. Their plane bursts into flames and that's just the first of many problems they run into. If you liked the first book, you'll like this one. The series is full of action and exciting to read.

I'm 10 years old and I didn't find this book too hard to read. The art is also good. I recommend this book to anyone who likes comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars retro and modern, 3 Aug 2010
By 
Fercoq "Sherlockian addict" (France (europe)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Julius Chancer: The Rainbow Orchid Volume 2 (Paperback)
"The Rainbow Orchid" is a very interesting work by Garen Ewing. This good story is illustrated with talent. The artist has given his drawings a flavour of the fifties which, while reminding the reader of Hergé's art, as well as of Bob de Moor, H.P. Jacobs, J.Martin and even W. Vandersteen's, keeps his own personnality. I'm looking forward reading the third volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all Tintin fans, 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: Adventures of Julius Chancer: The Rainbow Orchid Volume 2 (Paperback)
Been following this for a while now and finally decided to get both Vol 1 and Vol 2 and must say I was hooked from page 1.

A must HAVE for ALL Tintin fans as the stories take you down the same nostalgic path and those same lazy afternoons which you might have spent reading and reading all the Tintin volumes.

Cant wait for Vol 3 to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Plot Thickens, 10 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Julius Chancer: The Rainbow Orchid Volume 2 (Paperback)
There is a deep pool of goodwill and well-wishing for these books and I am happy the be part of that. It is simply good to see a writer/artist producing books in this style. This second instalment of the story adds more characters and plot, including a much needed higher motivation than a mere flower growing competition.

It is easy, and to a large extent unavoidable, to make comparisons with Tintin, but for me these only really extend to the style of art. Unlike Tintin, who is an easily identifiable, individual hero, the Rainbow Orchid stories have what would be called an ensemble cast were it a movie.

This book is the second of three and should really only be judged in relation to the whole. We need to wait until late 2011 for that, so for now suffice to say that if you enjoy old fashioned adventure yarns - like the movie serials which inspired the Indiana Jones movies - then I can recommend these books, but make sure you read part 1 first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For me better than Tin Tin, 4 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Julius Chancer: The Rainbow Orchid Volume 2 (Paperback)
This is a beautiful bit of work. I'm only really familiar with Herge's 'Tin Tin' as far as similar European graphic novels (4 row panel layout style), but it compares favourably to my eye. This appears a real work of passion for Garen, beautifully draughted, clean linework with a mainly spot colour approach (something sadly ignored by the myriad of comic artists to appear post-Bisley in the UK).

The palette is subdued giving a lovely quality to the overall 'feel' of the world that compliments the excellent script. I really do prefer it to Herge's stuff (admittedly Herge was churning out tale after tale, but that's why I find this so good, the attention to detail here allows for a much richer experience). In the same way, the print finish Egmont have given this adds to the feeling that a lot of genuine thought has went into this publication (tasteful use of spot varish on the cover and the internal graphic quality of non-story pages all lend themselves to the overall cohesion of the elements.

I think this is a fantastic story (the final volume 3 is due July 2011 or thereabouts). Honestly, if you like comics, or just damn fine artwork I'd pick yourself up this series, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventures of Julius Chancer: The Rainbow Orchid Volume 2
Adventures of Julius Chancer: The Rainbow Orchid Volume 2 by Garen Ewing (Paperback - 5 July 2010)
£5.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews