Customer Reviews


321 Reviews
5 star:
 (219)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone - Lyrical Reviews
If you need to go on a crash diet then my advice is to read this book. When I first downloaded Gone onto my Kindle I thought it was going to take me ages to get through it as it's pretty hefty - digitally speaking - but within only a few days I was distraught to find I'd hit the last page. Apart from work I suspended all other activities and a bowl of cereal became a...
Published on 3 July 2011 by purpledoor64

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A teenage version of the x-men
`Gone' is simply a teenage version of the x-men, with a watered down bit of `Lord of the Flies' thrown in there too. It reads like a television series but Michael Grant has tried to make it more substantial with the vast numbers of characters included. I don't think he has quite pulled it off.

The plot is pretty straightforward and, though I hate to admit it,...
Published 12 months ago by Sarah Brown


‹ Previous | 126 27 2833 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys an exciting read, 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone (Kindle Edition)
Well written with gripping content. Difficult to put down and unexpected ending.
Would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys an exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm still not convinced as to what my opinion of this book is., 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone (Paperback)
I was contemplating as to whether I should rate this book 4 or 3 stars, but after a while I decided upon giving it 3 simply because it didn't meet the high expectations I had for it after having read raving reviews and seen so many copies of it gracing bookstores.

Well, I'll start out by saying that this wasn't a BAD book by any respect; I was actually legitimately gripped throughout the last 100 pages or so, but considering that there were roughly 400 pages before that, this isn't actually that much of a compliment as all books do generally get more exciting than they were initially as the climax approaches.

The storyline was a pretty good idea initially, but it did feel a little bit like the author had a range of different ideas and wanted to cram every single one into the...parallel universe of sorts that the kids end up in. I mean, talking coyotes, no adults, a barrier around the town, superpowers, mutated animals, gravel body parts and huge whip arms are all very exciting elements to a storyline when they're used in moderation, but when every single one was involved in the plotline in some way I did start to wonder just how this was all relevant. Having said that, this was only the first in a series, and I imagine that things are explained in later books. I would hope so, anyway.

Then there were the characters...and to be honest, I didn't really like most of them all that much. I thought Sam was a bit of a stereotypical hero and although I wouldn't have said he was a dislikeable character, I certainly wasn't all that worried about what happened to him, or most of the other named characters. Having said that, I did find some of the characters interesting: namely Mary, Little Pete, Diana, Lana and Edilio. The others? I didn't really empathise with them all that much.

So, I guess this book was good: a gripping (albeit slightly confusing and overelaborated) plot, a few fairly likeable characters, and written in the third person, which made a nice change as most teen fiction novels seem to be written in first person narrative nowadays. I certainly wouldn't say it was as great as I'd expected, though. Maybe it just wasn't quite for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gone review, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone (Kindle Edition)
This is definitely a book to keep reading, I just wish there was more of a round off ending where we found stuff if it in more detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 18 Nov 2014
This review is from: Gone (Kindle Edition)
I've read the first three books and they were AMAZING! The second time I read it, I noticed so many things I hadn't realized before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for adults or teens, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this. Some great ideas and characters executed well. A real page turner! Can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone (Kindle Edition)
Thank you for an Exceeding good can not put down read, just like mr kippalings cakes, can't wait to read the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Alright but not a classic, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone (Kindle Edition)
Not the best of books but an easy read.

Don't expect a classic. One for teenagers probably more than adults
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grandson (14) thought this was great, 12 Feb 2010
By 
Dr. Gjt Scott (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gone (Paperback)
So good, he suggested I order the sequel (Hunger), which has just arrived and awaiting his attention this week-end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gone, 28 Jan 2010
By 
John Sales "Shadowen69" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gone (Hardcover)
A good story for all ages, left me sitting on the edge some times and im looking forward to reading part 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 28 Aug 2009
This review is from: Gone (Hardcover)
An amazing book that can easily be up their with the harry potters and twilight sagas, fantastic, dont take my word for it read it yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 126 27 2833 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gone
Gone by Michael Grant (Paperback - 1 Oct 2010)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews