Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Just a couple of niggles, otherwise very good
Pros:
1) Can't fault the delivery or the assistance from the 0800 number for arranging a re-delivery.
2) The hardback book and its containing box sleeve are a lovely quality.
3) My three year old loves Babar and the illustrations. These are stories that clearly retain their appeal from generation to generation.

Cons:
1) Text is in a...
Published 19 months ago by David

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dull, flat reproduction
My little boy is a great fan of the first Babar book, so we thought we'd get him this collection for his birthday. I know he will be thrilled with the stories, but I am a bit disappointed with the quality of the printing. Compared to the original book we already owned, the artwork in this one looks flat and photo-copied and the typography is also not as charming as the...
Published on 9 Nov. 2009 by J. Finigan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dull, flat reproduction, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
J. Finigan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories (Hardcover)
My little boy is a great fan of the first Babar book, so we thought we'd get him this collection for his birthday. I know he will be thrilled with the stories, but I am a bit disappointed with the quality of the printing. Compared to the original book we already owned, the artwork in this one looks flat and photo-copied and the typography is also not as charming as the handwritten-style of the original. It is quite a pricey item, and I expected better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just a couple of niggles, otherwise very good, 15 Nov. 2013
By 
David (Stafford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories (Hardcover)
Pros:
1) Can't fault the delivery or the assistance from the 0800 number for arranging a re-delivery.
2) The hardback book and its containing box sleeve are a lovely quality.
3) My three year old loves Babar and the illustrations. These are stories that clearly retain their appeal from generation to generation.

Cons:
1) Text is in a squiggly font that does not aid reading, especially for a child learning to distinguish where one letter ends and the next one begins.
2) They managed to put the stories in the wrong order, e.g. the second story in the chronology is the third story in the book. This does make a difference because the third story (chronologically) makes reference to events in the second story.

Given the price, I feel that those two cons must prevent a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful thought provoking story, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories (Hardcover)
Perfect for encouraging young minds to think philosophically! A deep story, well illustrated and timeless.
Shared with my own children and the children in my class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Babar, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories (Hardcover)
Great to have a compendium of five good Babar stories in one, with their magical illustrations as well as the text. A good spread of story themes, too, which will keep both children and parent readers happy! The tough, hard-wearing case in which to keep the book makes it a long-lasting present which will be much loved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is not to like., 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories (Hardcover)
These classic stories are lovely, if a little dated in content. The book is beautifully and appropriately bound, and is a pleasure to read aloud. If you are looking for a nice bedtime story book this is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Babar, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories (Hardcover)
Just Brilliant - thank you - just the present I was looking for. I think to make us purchasers have to use more than x words is a mistake when Brilliant, thank you is just what I wanted to say was not allowed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Stories, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories (Hardcover)
Perfect for story time ..

Hardback Binding .. but a little bit fragile .. need to try and keep sticky hands to themselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful edition of the stories - top quality and a joy to read with little children. Charming drawing and lovely stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic for Children, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories (Hardcover)
This is a great book for children which we have bought for our grand children and have been thoroughly enjoyed by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories (Hardcover)
Great thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories
The Babar Collection: Five Classic Stories by Jean De Brunhoff (Hardcover - 1 Sept. 2008)
Used & New from: £7.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews