Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Cat Royal adventure ever, 13 Oct 2010
I was lucky to come across the Cat Royal Series when all the five books were already out, thus I was able to read them all in quick succession. The Black Heart of Jamaica did not disappoint and indeed exceeded expectations which were quite high by the fifth book. Julia Golding's prose is a delight - you can immediately tell an English graduate and, with relief, a writer who can actually write. Every reader is familiar with those toe-curling moments when we come across a passage or a phrase so awkwardly formed that we groan inwardly, "Someone edit this, please!", but Golding does not put a foot wrong.
The plot does not let up for a nanosecond and yet manages to maintain the historic novel's character and to stay within bounds of believability. The historic facts are so cleverly interwoven into the plot and characters that even the most history-hating boy readers will remain unaware of being taught a history lesson. The character development continues with unexpected turns and added depth, especially that of Cat's arch-enemy Billy Shepherd who is by no means as one-dimensional uber-villain as could have been expected...And Cat herself is as delightful as ever. Again we are able to trust the writer to stay true to the earlier laid foundations of this character and yet Cat is growing up and maturing whilst still managing to surprise us with her fiery, selfless and self-deprecating nature. In this adventure she finally finds her talent as an actress, unfortunately not for long as trouble finds her yet again and Cat is abducted, imprisoned, taken gravely ill, close to death... But it's Cat Royal we are talking about - she is not going to be defeated! This is a fabulous book worthy of best-loved children's classics - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best so Far!!!, 27 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Black Heart of Jamaica (Cat Royal) (Hardcover)
This has to be the best Cat Royal book so far. Set in the Caribbean, Cat travels on a pirate ship,makes her acting debut and encounters an old enemy!
The book is fast-paced and exciting-my only complaint is that it had to end!
For people who have not read the previous books,it might get a bit confusing as many of the charactors from the previous books show up so I would suggest starting with The Diamond of Drury Lane.
Overall Black Heart of Jamaica was excellent, worth reading and rereading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, the best bok in the searies, 10 Jan 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Black Heart of Jamaica (Cat Royal) (Hardcover)
in this book of cat royal joins a travelling theatre in the carribean, gets abducted by pirates and gets sucked into a slave revolt.

there is only one word to describe this book: FANTASTIC! Iaam abig Cat royal fan and love the idea of her turning pirate, so there is to words to describe this book: FANTASTIC and EXCELLENT!!! I cant wait for Cats Cradle to come out!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Heart of Jamaica Review, 8 Jan 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Black Heart of Jamaica (Cat Royal) (Hardcover)
Having read all four other Cat Royal books, I have been waiting with bated breath for 'Black Heart of Jamaica' to arrive. When it did, I demolished it in three-and-a-half hours of almost non-stop reading. it was, literally, unputdownable.

Julia Golding has provided that elusive, piratical, desert island, historical fiction that we all have a vague idea exists, but can never quite find. A pirate tale, in a way, it may be, but it is also a historical novel with sound basis in fact (though it is by no means lacking in fun because of this!) and a somewhat educational tale of slavery in the West Indies during Georgian times. But don't let that dissuade you if you aren't the most scholarly of people - feisty heroine Cat Royal has swashbuckling adventure (though, despite what the blurb seems to suggest, piratical adventures only form about 50 of the books 383+ pages), making many witty remarks along the way, and meeting with just the right amount of emotional trouble, too. We hear more from Billy Shepherd (in a rather surprising way), and the books ending is (!!!!!!!SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!) sad but sweet (!!!!!!!SPOILER OVER!!!!!!!).

All in all, a gem of a book, quite possibly Julia Golding's best yet (as far as the Cat Royal books go), but it may be advisable to read the first four before you read this one, if you are new to Cat's adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CAT ROYAL, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is very interesting. It's quite different. I loved this book it was so awesome. Dunno why I'm reviewing though yolo I guess. #LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book! :), 25 Mar 2014
Brilliant book, one of the best in the series! A great story full of adventure and excitement! Slaves and servants! Cat continues to stir up trouble wherever she goes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent book, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this book I can really relate to Cat in her personality.
I would recommend this book to ages 9-14 I would definitely read it again. Cat joins Miss Peabodys ensemble and they go to Jamaica. She meets up with Billy Sheppard again and he gives her a slave. Cat doesn't want the slave Jenny even though she is very useful with sewing. Cat convinces Billy to give her the papers for Jenny and she sets her free.
A great book and I hope you enjoy it!

#BlackHeartofJamaica(Cat Royal)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best Cat Royal books so far! Exciting, amazing and full of adventure! Can't wait for Cat's Cradle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CAT ROYAL, 7 Mar 2013
By 
M. Gregory "ruby" (wales uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Heart of Jamaica (Cat Royal) (Hardcover)
MORE OF THE SAME FROM CAT ROYAL, GOOD LITTLE READ THOUGH. ON TO THE NEXT ONE IN THE SERIES NOW. WELL WRAPPED AND QUICK DELIVERY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling pirate adventure starring "Cat Royal" - set in 1792., 24 Sep 2009
By 
S. Barnes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Heart of Jamaica (Cat Royal) (Hardcover)
This is the 5th Cat Royal adventure so far. You don't really need to have read the others to enjoy this as you are given enough background to appreciate Cat's adventurous spirit and her experiences so far. I picked this up on impulse and haven't read any of the others, but I'll keep a lookout for them from now on.

Brilliantly written, there's great pace to Cat's Jamaica story. Cat's had a theatre background (Drury Lane, London) and in Black Heart of Jamaica she joins a travelling theatre in Philadelphia headed for the Caribbean islands. Cat's realised that to make her way in the world she needs a respectable career and acting is what appeals to her most. Jamaica and the other islands are under threat of slave rebellion however, (something Cat supports wholeheartedly) and the Caribbean turns out to be the perfect place for the adventurous Cat to be headed.... Never a dull moment when Cat's about...

A rip-roaring unputdownable read, this book also teaches about the history of slavery in America and the wrongs of race discrimination.

The earlier Cat Royal Books are:

The Diamond of Drury Lane - Cat in London
Cat Among the Pigeons - Cat goes to school
Den of Thieves - Cat in Paris (revolutionary France)
Cat O'Nine Tails - Cat at sea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Heart of Jamaica (Cat Royal)
Black Heart of Jamaica (Cat Royal) by Julia Golding (Hardcover - 4 Feb 2008)
£8.21
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews