Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, 8 Aug 2010
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Read This Book! (Paperback)
This is a glorious book! It invites participation and lots of shouting, as the King goes looking for his story and turns repeatedly on his audience to say, "Don't read this book!". Perhaps best avoided at bedtime, when you are looking for a calming story, but to create a love of books you are definitely on to a winner with this. My kids loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 21 Sep 2009
This review is from: Don't Read This Book! (Paperback)
How many of you can resist a book that tells you "Don't read me"? And then in the first few pages tells you to Go away! A book whose whole story is that there is no story.....

My daughter and I (she's 6, I'm not) sat in the library today giggling as I read it out loud and by the third page I had additional audience, also giggling.

A must for any child's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely brilliant and creative picture book, bursting with energy and theatre from start to finish., 25 Mar 2009
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Don't Read This Book! (Paperback)
This book isn't ready to be read - as the title makes clear. Which of course means any small child will be desperate for you to open it and start reading.... and you'll both be delighted.
Inside we find the King who's calling his story writer who has written a story but the pages have gone astray, and so together they set off to track them down.
The whole book is bursting at the seams with theatrical energy and verve. The illustrations are vibrant and dynamic, cleverly mixing great characters into buoyant pictures that maintain an appropriate "work-in-progress" feel.
The words are a fun and interesting mix of story-line, conversation between the King and the storyteller, inserts from the occasional amusing cameo character, and sentences aimed directly at the reader. One of these is a bold double page where, with a darkening of colour and a change in the feel of the story, the angry King is tells the reader to go away in no uncertain terms. Then, once the lost pages are found and reassembled, the story needs one more thing, and again there's a striking double-page change of colour and pace as a sprightly pea joins the character cast.... But is there now room to tell the old tale of The Princess and the Pea in the last two pages? Yes, just, and Wow! Fantastic through and through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Read This Book! (Paperback)
My son read this book at school and begged me to by it, he and my other son love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son really laughs out loud with this book!, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Read This Book! (Paperback)
My son really laughs out loud with this book! It's great! One for the parents to enjoy reading and good value aswell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do buy this book!, 25 July 2011
By 
Mr. C. Jones "Jonesy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Read This Book! (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book and a joy to read for any child.

Even if you're feeling a little tired or lacking motivation to `perform' when reading your child's bedtime story, the carefully planned story (or lack of!) does all the work for you.

Each time I'm reading the stories, I secretly hope my 4 year old daughter chooses this one.

Great fun to read to a younger child, and I'm sure very funny as a read for older children, who will appreciate the humour, and the many references to other stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, 9 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Read This Book! (Paperback)
This book is lovely. I first heard of it when I was reading a textbook about sharing books with children to develop their literacy.

The illustrations are the strength of this book. There is some lovely humour and lots to inspire the understanding of the sequence of stories as well as character and setting.

It would serve well as a topic opener or sum-up tool for a theme of traditional tales. However in itself it is a delightful read and highly recommended.

I'm not a fan of multiple fonts in a book (Charlie & Lola etc) however in this book it is purposeful to show the voice of the king, the writer, the wolf etc.
A lovely read to an individual or a class!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Read This Book!
Don't Read This Book! by Debbie Allwright (Paperback - 2 Feb 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews