Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr brave
My two boys 8 & 5yrs old loved this story, as they do all the mr men series. Short & sweet
Published 13 months ago by p johnson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One for completists.
The weakest entry in the classic Mr Men series. The art is low quality and looks different from other books that Roger and Adam drew. The story is uneven and the writing lacks the wit, and punchiness I'm used to. Having said that the denouement is witty and nicely spun.
I suspect it wasn't written by Roger, and is either and early attempt by Adam, or another...
Published 14 months ago by N. Headland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One for completists., 27 Oct 2013
By 
N. Headland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Brave (Mr. Men Classic Library) (Paperback)
The weakest entry in the classic Mr Men series. The art is low quality and looks different from other books that Roger and Adam drew. The story is uneven and the writing lacks the wit, and punchiness I'm used to. Having said that the denouement is witty and nicely spun.
I suspect it wasn't written by Roger, and is either and early attempt by Adam, or another author/artist altogether. Or maybe Roger was having a bad day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mr Under the Thumb, 6 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Mr. Brave (Mr. Men Classic Library) (Paperback)
When I read this book as a child, something about it troubled me, but I couldn't put my finger on what. It wasn't that the main character didn't look like the sort of valiant hero who'd jump in front of a speeding train to untie a loved one from the track. Appearances can be deceptive. In the depths of my mind, the question of why Mr Brave's name was inappropriate nagged at me for decades. Until now. I found my stash of Mr Men books, re-read them and everything became clear. Upon reading Mr. Brave (Mr. Men Classic Library) as an adult, I realised exactly why his name is less than suitable: he's actually Mr Under the Thumb. Sure, he wants to be brave, but doesn't everyone? Mr Brave is so worried about being late for tea at Little Miss Bossy's house that he can't relax enough to enjoy any courageous exploits. This plotline does touch upon a universal human truth: men whose significant others possess fiery tempers often can't relax, as they live in perpetual fear of their next tonguelashing. But surely a true Mr Brave wouldn't be party to such fears? Wouldn't he shrug his shoulders at Little Miss Bossy and tell her where to stick her bratty attitude? Now that would be brave!

As well as being submissive, Mr Brave displays signs of serious mental derangement. En route to Little Miss Bossy's house, he encounters Mr Messy, who has fallen into a river. Mr Brave helps him out. Fair enough. Pretty brave, in fact. His behaviour becomes incomprehensible, however, when he discovers Little Miss Somersault, a beautiful leggy blonde who wants to play with him (her exact words). Now any sensible red-blooded Mr Man, when faced with a proposition like that, wouldn't need to be asked twice. But what does Mr Brave do? You guessed it - he panics and rushes away, leaving the gorgeous Little Miss Somersault high and dry! Legging it towards Little Miss Bossy's house and an undoubted sherricking, Mr Brave stumbles upon Little Miss Trouble, a cute and chubby redhead who has 'a very naughty idea' (her words). What does Mr Brave do? Does he go along with Little Miss Trouble's idea of getting up to naughtiness? No. Instead, the idiot blurts out that he's late for Little Miss Bossy, then sprints away without having indulged in even a little mischief with the curvaceous wee redhead.

So let's recap. The so-called Mr Brave meets a gorgeous blonde gymnast with legs up to her armpits. She asks him to play with her. He runs away. He then meets a cute redhead who has a very naughty idea. He runs away again. Why does he do this? Is he sprinting towards the open arms of a woman more stunning than Little Miss Somersault and Little Miss Trouble combined? A woman with a sparkling smile and knockout personality? No. He's running towards a torn-faced harpy who can't wait to give him an ear-bashing and a kick in the shins. While this is arguably a little bit brave, it's a big bit stupid.

A better name would be Mr Needs-to-Get-a-Clue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Mr Man story, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Brave (Mr. Men Classic Library) (Paperback)
I bought this for my husbands 3 year old granddaughter. She loves all the Mister Men books and this was no exception. She can anticipate the story on each page and it provides a great deal of pleasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr brave, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My two boys 8 & 5yrs old loved this story, as they do all the mr men series. Short & sweet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wow he is brave!, 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We thought Mr Brave was brave and clever. A funny and entertaining book which we liked lots and lots. By Blake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another success, 3 Mar 2012
This review is from: Mr. Brave (Mr. Men Classic Library) (Paperback)
Another hit - havenn't read a bad Mr Men book yet, and know I won't! Fine sizef book for all situations - car, class, bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Brave (Mr. Men Classic Library)
Mr. Brave (Mr. Men Classic Library) by Roger Hargreaves (Paperback - 2 Jun 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews