Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't puit the book down.
I bought this book for my ten year old grand daughter but thought that I ought to read it myself first. The facts and the fiction were woven together in such a way that I immediately felt involved in the story. It wasn't too gruesome for a child to read and there was an empathy for the determined and courageous little boy and an understanding of the animals...
Published on 1 Dec 2009 by Mrs. J. Cowern

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book - 'The Best of Times'
Michael Morpurgo - a fantastic author ! My daughter is ten years old and we have both enjoyed his books together and his stories are written in a way that is appealing to both young and old, but .......... 'The Best of Times' is really a simple fairytale that really perhaps should have an age recommendation attached. It is a small book, very short story and in my...
Published on 4 Nov 2009 by Rebekah Prothero


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book - 'The Best of Times', 4 Nov 2009
By 
Rebekah Prothero (Cardiff. Wales/UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Times (Hardcover)
Michael Morpurgo - a fantastic author ! My daughter is ten years old and we have both enjoyed his books together and his stories are written in a way that is appealing to both young and old, but .......... 'The Best of Times' is really a simple fairytale that really perhaps should have an age recommendation attached. It is a small book, very short story and in my opinion best suited for age 7 yrs and under. A sweet little book but only for the little ones !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't puit the book down., 1 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Best of Times (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my ten year old grand daughter but thought that I ought to read it myself first. The facts and the fiction were woven together in such a way that I immediately felt involved in the story. It wasn't too gruesome for a child to read and there was an empathy for the determined and courageous little boy and an understanding of the animals.

The story unravelled many current projects to ponder on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound fairy tale!, 24 Nov 2013
By 
P. Worthington (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Times (Hardcover)
This is a startling little book.
It moves you back and forth from feelings of sorrow to joy.
On the surface it's another poignant fairy tale among many but
I think there is deep magic in a book that can so easily and
completely touch your feelings.

The beautiful illustrations capture the essential plot
brilliantly.

It's a book to ponder and will touch the feelings of all ages
if you let it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting., 16 April 2014
By 
Bluecashmere. (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Times (Hardcover)
Here Michael Morpurgo shows that he can write as well for younger children as he can for those entering their teens. This is engaging and original, an ideal tale for parents to read to the very young and a well worthwhile, most rewarding read for those aged around 7+. Emma Chichester Clark provides illustrations that fit perfectly the mood and style of the story. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sweet little book, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Times (Hardcover)
This is a sweet, beautifully illustrated story of an unhappy princess which will make good bedtime reading for a child of 7 or more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new but still nice, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Times (Hardcover)
Can Michael Murpurgo and Emma Chichester Clarke ever produce anything less than charming? No. Although the story is nothing new, it's a nice book. It's a small sized book (or the version I bought was) which is handy for small presents or travelling but I suspect some of the magic of the illustrations is missing in this size. Nice but doesn't have the wow factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written and illustrated, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. Kimberly A. Williams (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Times (Hardcover)
Ordered this for my school. Nicely illustrated and a good Christmas story for young children to read. A good purchase for 9 years plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of times, 7 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Times (Hardcover)
The best of times is a classic childrens novel, very entertaining,
Suitable for children ages 7 and up however younger ones it could be read to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Times (Hardcover)
Good Christmas gift for my 8 year old grandaughter who is a very competent reader. Did not read the whole book myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Times, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Times (Hardcover)
Lovely book, enjoyed by both adults and children. A bit smaller in size than I had realised when I ordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Times
The Best of Times by Michael Morpurgo (Hardcover - 13 Oct 2014)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews