Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting review by Jessica and Egce
This book is about Gracie Jenkins and Daniel Pender who were inseparable friends. They lived on the Scilly Isles off the Cornish coast. There is a small island off Rusy Bay called Samson which is said to be haunted.
We really enjoyed this book because of the way it made you want to read on.It also had a very happy ending.
We recommend this book to all ages...
Published on 24 May 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars why the whales came
This book was chosen for granddaughter's reading development, her generation are not yet familiar with WW2 and it had to be explained. She didn't really like it but grandma did! So we divided the stars!
Amazon service--usual 5 *****
Thank you
Published on 20 Aug 2011 by Mrs. M. S. Scattergood


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting review by Jessica and Egce, 24 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Why the Whales Came (Paperback)
This book is about Gracie Jenkins and Daniel Pender who were inseparable friends. They lived on the Scilly Isles off the Cornish coast. There is a small island off Rusy Bay called Samson which is said to be haunted.
We really enjoyed this book because of the way it made you want to read on.It also had a very happy ending.
We recommend this book to all ages exspecally
between 6-12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book to encourage reading, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Mum Betty (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Why the Whales Came (Paperback)
I bought this to read to my son, whose reading level wasn't (I thought) advanced enough for it. We'd seen this done as a play, so I felt he could connect easily with the story. I started reading, but he was so entranced and so eager to know what came next that he'd pick it up when I put it down and read it for himself. At first he had to work hard at it, but by the last chapter he was reading it quite fluently. It did exactly what I'd hoped: interest him in reading something more challenging than the Horrid Henry books, thereby improving his reading skills.

In fact we both enjoyed it so much, despite knowing the basic story beforehand, that we are setting out to get more Morpurgo books. If the others are as engaging as this one we shall have a fine old time reading to each other. Given that getting boys to read can be difficult, I was very pleased with the way in which Why the Whales Came provided a level of interest, excitement and engagement with the story and the text to bring home to my boy the sheer pleasure of reading.

The book has aroused his interest in other ways too: he's now very keen on knowing more about whales in general and narwhals in particular, and wants desperately to visit the Scilly Islands to see Byher and Samson. He's been using the atlas and the encyclopaedia to find out more, without any prompting from his parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you want to book a holiday to the Isles of Scilly !!!!, 31 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Why the Whales Came (Paperback)
This book is set on the Isles of Scilly in the first world war. Its all about two children (Daniel and Gracie),and the birdman, who is meant to be mad and can set curses on you. The children make friends with him and in the end he is forced to tell the secret behind cursed Samson, a nearby empty island... This book is a bit slow moving at first but speeds up quickly. It was made into a successful film in 1989, now it is very successful with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take my advice!, 2 Nov 2006
By 
Birdman (Astbury, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Why the Whales Came (Paperback)
If you like reading adventure and suspense, with added folklore and curses, then this is the ideal read for you. Set in the Isles of Scilly, this book charts the friendship of Gracie and Daniel as they build up a relationship with the mysterious Birdman. Despite warnings to stay far away from him, they start to meet him and commence a friendship. The consequences of this are far reaching and affect all the islanders.

This is a gripping and exciting story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. If you like this book, then you might like to consider The Horse and his Boy by CS Lewis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This review is one of the best in the world!!!!, 3 May 2001
By A Customer
Gracie and Daniel find them self very curious about the birdman and Sampson island, which is supposodly cursed, which Gracies father's best friend found out when he was forced to move after he visited the island and found terrible things were happening to him and his family. Gracie and Daniel visited Rushy Bay to sail there boats because Daniels brother kicked the two children away from the pool they usually sail there boats at, but when they get there, they find that there were the enitials Z.W. writen in seashells within the sand. Then they finally meet the birdman and his parrots and find that his real name was Zackaria Woodcock, and that he wasnt a bad or dangerous man. But he did warn them about Sampson island and that it was cursed. Curiousoty got the best of Gracie and Daniel who left to visit Sampson island. When they got there it was to foggy to see, so they went back home, were Gracie found that her Dad had been killed by the war that happened in 1914, WAS IT THE CURSE!!!???
Mark Wilson Age: 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book ROCKS!, 1 May 2007
This review is from: Why the Whales Came (Paperback)
I think it was a lovely, mysterious, exciting book! The characters were really cool and the book was written so well. The story is very interesting because it has ghosts and curses but it isn't very scary, only if you read it at night!!!

I read this book in class with my classmates and I really recommend it to anyone who likes reading! When I was reading it I couldn't ever stop because there were exciting and fun things happening all the time!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful!, 2 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. M. J. Shaw (Knutsford, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why the Whales Came (Paperback)
This is a delightful story and is indicative of the excellent children's books that Michael Morpurgo writes. Set in the Isles of Scilly, children Daniel and Gracie are warned to keep away from the strange old man dubbed 'The Birdman'. Fate plays her hand however, as the children build up a friendship with the Birdman, whose odd ways are explained by deafness. Their friendship is not welcomed by all and the story builds to a climax with superstition, World War I and island desperation all coming in to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book that everybody will enjoy., 12 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Why the Whales Came (Paperback)
This is the story of two friends called Gracie and Daniel who live on the Isles of Scilly and their meeting with the Birdman. I was completely taken away to the Isles of Scilly while listening to this book on tape. I think most children would love this book as much as I did, and adults too. I have since read another of his stories and thought that was very good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daniel and Gracie discover the reason for an island's curse., 13 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Why the Whales Came (Paperback)
This book starts of slow moving at first but soon the the tension mounts as Daniel and Gracie discover the curse of Samson.They defy their parents by meeting and making friends with the Birdman.Every one thinks the Birdman is mad but he understands nature and helps Gracie and her Mother when Gracie's Father goes to war. After reading this book I felt that this was another great book written by Michael Morpurgo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Magical Michael Morpurgo Mystery", 13 July 2012
This review is from: Why the Whales Came (Paperback)
"A Magical Michael Morpurgo Mystery"

Fantastic! Before reading this book, I thought it would be the best book in the world, and I was right! I have thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I highly recommend "Why the Whales Came" to anyone who enjoys stories that have suspense, even if you're not a Michael Morpurgo fan.

"Why the Whales Came" is about a little girl who has a next-door neighbour who is her best friend (a boy). They are severely told not to go near the birdman; but being children, they take no notice. I'll leave the rest for you to find out.

In contrast to other Michael Morpurgo books, this book has a lot more suspense. In this story they seem to find themselves nearly dying, but you'll have to find out how and why yourself.

I think "Why the Whales Came" is an older children's book (around 10-13) but I believe that if you like books that have mystery, then this book will be the book for you.

Reviewed by Sophie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why the Whales Came
Why the Whales Came by Michael Morpurgo (Paperback - 3 Oct 2011)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews