Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely thought provoking
Toby Jenkins hates his boarding school and dreads going back, but this term there is a new boy who makes all the difference. Christopher is self-possessed, in control and sure that he is the second coming of Jesus Christ. Toby is taken on as his first disciple, his "Peter" after Christopher performs a miracle. Toby thinks he has found salvation, but then the...
Published on 5 April 2001 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong themes, but dated story
The War of Jenkins' Ear is a children's novel following children at a boarding school, specifically homesick Toby Jenkins and new boy Simon Christopher. Although slow, the plot is original and moving. The back cover description gives far too much away, but I will not.
His book could be categorized as a drama; it involves many themes, the strongest being friendship...
Published on 21 July 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely thought provoking, 5 April 2001
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Toby Jenkins hates his boarding school and dreads going back, but this term there is a new boy who makes all the difference. Christopher is self-possessed, in control and sure that he is the second coming of Jesus Christ. Toby is taken on as his first disciple, his "Peter" after Christopher performs a miracle. Toby thinks he has found salvation, but then the trouble begins. It is impossible to describe how clever and intricate this book is. The story itself is simple enough and gripping enough for any child to enjoy. It is not overtly religious, but it throws up many complex questions. It shakes our beliefs and makes us question things we hold to be true. It examines the nature of faith and doubt. It draws interesting parallels with the Bible throughout the story, yet not in an overt or showy way. It shows Christopher as Christ the healer, performing miracles, bringing peace, being scorned and turned away by the authorities. It is a book that works on many levels. It is brilliantly written and I keep thinking about it despite having finished reading it days ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written life like story., 16 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War of Jenkins' Ear (Paperback)
This is a very accurate portrayal of certain aspects of traditional prep school life that went on until as late as the 1980's. It was a survivable world but not without intense emotional issues to it - very many happy times but with many times of terror. The author may be writing from his own experience to some extent; it seems very much like an insiders view. Since then boarding schools seem to have got much nicer and far more are co-ed these days.

The story line about a boy who thinks he is Jesus Christ is unusual even for a prep school, though some pupils did have strange ideas, but it is the description of everyday prep school life that makes the most impression on me. The more intense moments in the story are very emotional to read.

(See also Caradoc King's book Problem Child for a very accurate account of prep school life in the late 1950s and that school was just the same in the 1970s. King's book is for grown ups only.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I can't rate this too highly, 3 April 2015
By 
hfffoman (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The War of Jenkins' Ear (Paperback)
I read most of the Michael Morpurgo novels aloud and this was my favourite (with Kensuke's Kingdom a close second).

It is a clever, complex book with some big themes about the troubles children face in their relations at school and in coming to terms with the who they are. It also gives a brilliantly realistic sense of the community ethos, with its strengths and weaknesses, at boarding school.

I think a great strength of Morpurgo's writing is that it moves with a simplicity and pace that enables relatively deep stories to be easily accessible to very young readers. Despite its complexity this was one of the very first serious books that kept my children's attention after graduating from picture stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible read, 1 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The War of Jenkins' Ear (Paperback)
So much is covered in this book - school, friendships, trust, love, religion. My 12 year old son was absolutely gripped by it. The descriptions of boarding school life can be related to even now, my son boards one night a week. It is set in another era but the emotions triggered by boarding school exist still. The character of Christopher was so intensely thought provoking. I can't begin to put it all into words. We were so keen to know the outcome of the story but so sorry to put the book down at the end. Morpurgo is as original as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong themes, but dated story, 21 July 2003
By A Customer
The War of Jenkins' Ear is a children's novel following children at a boarding school, specifically homesick Toby Jenkins and new boy Simon Christopher. Although slow, the plot is original and moving. The back cover description gives far too much away, but I will not.
His book could be categorized as a drama; it involves many themes, the strongest being friendship. The characters are strong and personalised but the story itself is dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, interesting read!, 1 Nov. 2006
I reads this book a few years ago and I enjoyed it. When Simon first claims to be Jesus I wasn't sure if I'd like the book because, as a christian, I felt the idea of someone claiming to be Jesus is kinda wrong. However I'm glad I carried on reading because it really brought home to me what Jesus suffered. Simon's suffering as a schoolboy was something I could easily imagine and the injustice of it shocked me and I realised that what Jesus went through was so much worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War of Jenkins' Ear (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong themes, but dated story, 21 July 2003
By A Customer
The War of Jenkins' Ear is a children's novel following children at a boarding school, specifically homesick Toby Jenkins and new boy Simon Christopher. Although slow, the plot is original and moving. The back cover description gives far too much away, but I will not.
His book could be categorized as a drama; it involves many themes, the strongest being friendship. The characters are strong and personalised but the story itself is dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The War of Jenkins' Ear, 28 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The War of Jenkins' Ear (Paperback)
Surprised by the content, initially. A thoroughly good and different story for older children. (I bought it for my 11 year old granddaughter, at her request.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War of Jenkins' Ear (Paperback)
Very good price, arrived within a few days, brilliant service, good quality product too. Will definitely use you again. Thank you very much,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The War of Jenkins' Ear
The War of Jenkins' Ear by Michael Morpurgo (Paperback - 5 Mar. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews