Customer Reviews


1,115 Reviews
5 star:
 (903)
4 star:
 (148)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


428 of 446 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some horse sense...
Set in three European countries where war hits hard in 1914, Morpurgo's book surprisingly puts its focus with a young horse, through whose eyes and mind the reader is familiarized with the atrocities of war as they unfold. While as a literary device this might appear cheap or far-fetched, here it functions in quite a unique way.
Whether witness, victim or...
Published on 4 Oct. 2004 by Christian Spriet

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I had hoped
I had wanted to read this ever since they released the film. The students, at the school where I work, have raved about it and said that I really should read it, so I borrowed it over the half term holidays. I feel I should add it only took me two hours to read.

The story is told from the viewpoint of Joey, who is the war horse. He starts life on a farm but is...
Published on 15 Feb. 2012 by C. Rucroft


‹ Previous | 177 78 79112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars loved this book, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse (Paperback)
saw the flim and read the book and was so pleased l did. its a book you cant put down and will read again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars War Horse, 21 Feb. 2012
This review is from: War Horse (Paperback)
A good read, but basically a re-write of Black Beauty. No doubt the film has made it much more exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was great to see and compare the two, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse (Kindle Edition)
I have seen the play and now I have read the book. It was great to see and compare the two. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars War Horse, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse (Kindle Edition)
A book written by a horse that goes to war. Might be distressing if you are another horse so be warned !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Throughly good read, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse (Kindle Edition)
I loved the way the book humanised Joey, how through him you caught a glimpse of how war was for a horse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars war horse, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book its a while ago that I read it so cant remember the characters but I know I enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
E. Lawson "lawson" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War Horse (Paperback)
Short but sweet!
A very enjoyable book with lots of ups and downs, it's only small so a quick read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Very good book., 5 Feb. 2012
This review is from: War Horse (Kindle Edition)
This book was a very enjoyable to read. A bit sad at times. I would say go and buy it you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 26 Jan. 2012
This review is from: War Horse (Paperback)
Really enjoyed reading this book. I like the fact it's from a horses point of view and its about war.
i think it would be a good book for 9 / 10 year olds and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars War Horace summary, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse (Kindle Edition)
I thought it was very good but it had a bit of repeating its self but other than that it was brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 177 78 79112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Horse
War Horse by Michael Morpurgo (Paperback - 6 Aug. 2007)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews