Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
53
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2006
Story line: This story is about a boy called Charlie Bone who finds out he can hear voices in pictures. He is sent to a horrible school
called Bloors Academy where he meets Olivia Vertigo and Fidelio Gun.
Our thoughts: We thought this book was really interesting and it is full of dramatic events. The book is jam packed with mystery and Jenny Nimmo must have spent a lot of time writing it.
We would recommend it to: We would recommend it to children all around the world as it is such a great book.
Thoughts of the author: Jenny Nimmo is a great author and has wonderful ideas. We can’t wait to read the next few books. We would like her to write a lot more Charlie bone books as they are brill!
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2002
I read Midnight for Charlie Bone with my nine year old son and we both loved it! My son absolutely didn't want to put this book down, which hasn't happened since the Harry Potter series.
Charlie is a typical 10 year old boy who is happy attending school and spending time with his best friend Benjamin and his dog Runner Bean, until he suddenly begins to hear voices coming from photographs. The moment his evil and powerful Yewbeam relatives realize Charlie is one of the "endowed" they send him off to Bloors Academy, an unwelcoming, gloomy school for the specially gifted. Along the way Charlie stumbles onto a mystery involving a stolen baby and a very mysterious case entrusted to his care that everyone seems to be after. A wide variety of interesting people (both good and evil) enter Charlie's life as he sets out to help the lost baby. Charlie will need all his courage and the help of his friends, both old and new, to get to the bottom of the mystery. The characters in this book are memorable and wonderful. We loved our journey into Charlie's world and are eagerly anticipating the sequel. My son can't wait to share this book with all his friends.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2006
Story line: it is about a young boy who looks in to a picture that he got for his Friends Birthday, he looked into the picture and started hearing the voices from the people inside the picture and he got sent to an ancient boarding school for people who are endowed like Charlie
What I think about it: I like it because it is very mysterious and one thing always leads to another.
Would I recommend it to people: yes I would. I think most people would like this book!!!!!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2008
Midnight for Charlie Bone, is a mysterious story, and Charlie Bone has some great adventures. He lives with his wicked Grandma, Grandma Bone and the rest of his family. It seems that Charlie's father is dead, but Charlie doesn't think so.....is he or not?

When his Aunts discover that Charlie can hear peoples voices in photos his aunts send him to Bloor's Academy. At Bloor's Charlie meets three new friends that help him solve the mystery of a hypnotised girl and the Red King.
This story is full of magic, fun and adventure. Ash Class really enjoyed reading it.
We recommend this book to boys and girls aged 7-13.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2006
Story Line: This story is about a boy called Charlie Bone who discovers that he has a talent for hearing voices in photographs. He is sent to a boarding school called Bloors Academy for talented or endowed children. He makes friends with Fidelio Gun, Olivia Vertigo, Billy Raven and finally Emma Tolly, a girl who Charlie and his friends help to rescue, however Charlie’s yewbeam relatives lead him into further adventures including the attack of Charlie’s friend, Benjamin’s dog, Runnerbean…………….!

We recommend this book to: Readers with good imagination.

Jenny Nimmo: Jenny Nimmo is an author with a big imagination and a great mind for magic!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2006
This is a great book with similarities to the Harry Potter series:Boy finds he has magic powers so goes to special boarding school

Best friends are a boy and a girl(remind you of Ron and Hermione?).

But there are a lot of good differences.For example,only certain children,called the children of the Red King,have magical powers and each power is unique to that particular person.Another difference is that the children are allowed to go home from the boarding school at weekends.Since the boarding school is in a town, not hidden in the middle of the countryside, the characters can interact more freely with other people living around the town,as well as the students who go the boarding school.This opens the story up a bit,instead of being confined to one castle.Even though Harry Potter visits other places in the magical world,the main bulk of his stories is based in the castle/boarding school.However,Charlie's story is based just as much on the town where he lives as on the boarding schoolhe attends.

Even though this,and the sequels,have slight similarities with Harry Potter,I think this is a much better series overall.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2005
This teen fiction book is a thriller for all ages
Charlie Bone is an ordinary boy until the photo he was going to make a birthday card from gets mixed up and he starts hearing voices in photos and portraits. Then three fiery cats lead him to a box in a bookshopwhich could wake Emilia Moon(a girl in bloors acadamy which is a school for endowed children like charlie .But his terrible aunts are determined to stop him.
To help him on the quest is Felix the masician,Olivia,Billy,Benjamen and his dog Runner Bean,Billy is the only other endowed child and can comunicate with animals
The story deals witn realationships and what to do in a bad situation and really makes you think about how important it is to stick together
i enjoyed this book because it is really gripping and you just want to read the next page and maybe the next.The book made me think about how muchyou should go to to help someone else
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 January 2004
At first glance this book appears to be a Harry Potter clone, Charlie's picture on the cover even bears an uncanny resemblance to the spectacled sorceror himself.
Upon reading we realise that this is something very different indeed...
Charlie is a normal boy who lives with assorted members of his family and likes nothing better than running over the road to play with his friend Benjamin (not Ben) and his dog Runnerbean (or bean for short). One day charlie takes some photo's to be developed and-after a mix up- gets more than just a glossy finish on his prints.
After discovery of his "gift" he is sent to Bloor's Academy for the gifted child where he is only one of six pupils with mystical powers whom are treated with distain by the other pupils.
So, the scene is set, the plot twists more than Silverstone involving stolen children, unearthly toys and dark, dark family secrets.
This first book in presumably a series is a gentle introduction to the World of Charlie bone and his friends. More of a scene setter than blazing adventure it's still a highly enjoyable read, compelling with tense moments and well rounded characters who are instantly likeable.
This book is a great read for kids and plants its sticky jam-covered hand firmly in the "inner child" market as well. Buy this book and read it together with your kids, if you havent got any kids-buy it anyway, i won't tell if you dont!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
My daughter loved this book and we are now well on the way to having the whole set! She is 8 and this is just complex enough without being overly emotional, a good book for the in-between ages that used to be catered for so well by the likes of Enid Blyton, whom my daughter also adores and whom I encourage even though they are not politically correct.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2008
Having read the Harry Potter books and the Children of the Red King series I can wholeheartedly say that I prefer Jenny Nimmo's books to JK Rowling's. I found Midnight for Charlie Bone completely encapsulating and I have re-read it multiple times.

The story is about a 10 year old boy (called Charlie Bone) who learns that he possesses an "endowment", a type of supernatural gift. He is soon forced into attending Bloors academy (a private school for the Arts & endowed children). Whilst at the academy he uncovers a mystery of a missing girl and with the help of his friends Fidelio, Olivia, Benjamin & Gabriel and the hindrance of his horrible Grandmother and Great Aunts he uncovers the mystery lurking within Bloors academy.

A recommended read for anyone!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse